We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”
Review of Hotel Port Mahon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Port Mahon
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mahon
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

worst holiday we have ever had,booked and paid in full with lowcostholidays.com,had a nice stay in the hotel,but the sting in the tail is the hotel charged us £669 on checking out.
The reason they gave that assorted agents and lowcost only reserved the hotel for one night.
But you have our hotel voucher for one week in which it clearly states a 7night stay has been bought and paid for.
This made no diifferance,the voucher is not worth the paper it is written on.
Lowcost so far have been no help,Mahon hotel only care about money,it is easy for them to take my money than sort this out with the agents.
This totally ruined our holiday and my wife`s 60th birthday.
Who is at fault,not the holiday maker,Mahon hotel lowcostholidays you make up your own mind on that one,we are quite fed up with all the parties in this very sad saga.
So my advise if you book this hotel please get confirmation that the hotel voucher you have will be accepted or they will make you pay.

Room Tip: harbour suites have a loverly view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trevor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSeth, Gerente at Hotel Port Mahon, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Hallan,
First of all we would like to thank you for staying at the Port Mahon Hotel for such a special occasion and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regarding your comment we are really sorry for the mistake your supplier Lowcostholydays has made with your holiday, although they gave you a voucher where stated 7 nights they only booked the hotel for one night, you knew this problem from the same moment you checked in as the receptionist on duty told you.
After contacting your agency several times they told us that it seems the amount you paid covered the first night at the Port Mahon not a week.
There has been a problem between your booking and the one they send to the hotel and as you will understand we have to cover the services provided for the other 6 nights because at the moment no agency is paying for them.

We are very disappointed as well as you are and we please ask you to also keep in touch with you supplier Lowcostholidays so you can have a full answer from them of what has happened.

Jero Allés - Manageress Port Mahon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    228
    72
    18
    5
See reviews for
83
446
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Hotel Port Mahon sits in a lovely location overlooking the harbour. There is a flight of steps down to the marina/harbour where there is a large selection of reasonably priced restaurants, It is a short walk into the centre of town. The rooms are well proportioned and clean with plenty of storage and a minibar. There is a strange louvred vent in the bathroom which means that sound travels easily between rooms and floors. The public areas are comfortable and attractive. Service at the bars and in the restaurant is very good. The food is plentiful and varied. The pool area is very pleasant and clean. Reception staff are friendly, helpful and can advise on local information such as bus timetables.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was a well appointed 4 star Hotel for the purpose of my walking holiday. The Hotel was clean the statff friendly and the bedrooms and their bathrooms had recently been refurbished. For this time of year I was glad that the air conditioning in my bedroom could be turned up to warm the room. The shower was a bonus and the temperature of the water was always hot. If you wanted to have tea and coffee making facilities in your bedroom then this was an added 17 Euros for the week. The staff were friendly and most helpful. The food was delicious and there was a good choice from the Buffet. I enjoyed my stay immensley and the Hotel was an added bonus to a great holiday with a fabulous variety of walking and sightseeing with a first time leader and a group of people who made it most enjoyable. The weather could not have been better with gloroious sunshine every day.

Room Tip: The south facing rooms to the sea are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JCB1132b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel a few times - both in season and out of season. Last trip was 2nd - 4th November for business. The Hotel is very handy for access to the restaurants on the harbour (down the 'Pigtail' steps) and for the town centre itself.

A sea view room over looks the harbour with a stunning elevated position - so the early morning view is just spectacular.

The rooms themselves are a little dated, but comfortable enough, twin room have beds together, good TV, mini bar and an 'ok' bathroom. The sink in our room was awkward as a corner sink with little room around it, but as I say adequate enough.

The hotel has recently (in last 12 months ) redone their 'piano room' by opening it out and it is much more user friendly - same in the Restaurant. In season you can eat on the lovely terrace with great views over the harbour. Out of season the hotel is a little quiet but almost more friendly - with evening dining in the piano bar. Buffet breakfast is good with a great selection.

We use this hotel as we are currently visiting Menorca regularly whilst we are rebuilding our house there. It provides a great base for everything we need.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Babs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Conscientious staff who really seem to appreciate their guests. A well maintained very comfortable air conditioned hotel whose sparkling bathrooms fully compliment the basic yet pleasant rooms. Free Wi Fi is a bonus as is the great selection of no less than 6 UK television channels . Breakfasts wont fail to satisfy the broadest imaginations nor the fantastic selection of items on the dinner menu.
The location is great overlooking the bay. The 140 steps down to the harbor give access to some bijou restaurants below . The tapas and freshly grilled tuna at "Es Fosquet" are a treat not to be missed. The public bus service is amazing with punctuality you can set your watch by.

Room Tip: Although not vital, a balcony would add the final touch to the view over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skirret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Kent
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our first visit to Menorca and in fine October weather. Splendid location and as the week passed it became clear that the hotel is respected by local people. Certainly a 'country club' feel, with mainly British guests of 55+ and no children at all in October. A balcony room is essential and a few have no view at all - be careful. Room was compact but perfectly adequate - always spotless - with a good shower and firm beds (the best weeks' sleep for years). Bar prices were too high and we often walked into town instead. Food - plenty of it but some strange labelling (e.g. chicken croquettes for breakfast?) but Cava at breakfast can be a habit you bring home - most refreshing. Simple advice needed in the kitchen for presenting an English breakfast without soaking in oil. Continental breakfast very good - when in Rome etc.? Dinner was generally varied but fish was a disappointment for a Meditteranean island. However, in late season it is much easier to dine at the hotel. The staff were all friendly and Sylvia on reception was calm and efficient - most helpful. The informal guided walk from the hotel on Sunday morning is highly recommended for first-timers. Would we visit again? Most certainly (but not in the High Season after talking to others because everywhere is too crowded).

Room Tip: Pay as much as you can afford - balcony essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaullesNWKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was our first time in Menorca. As we live in a holiday resort in UK we decided that Mahon would suit us better than any of the resort areas - even if they were 'low-key'. Seeing the reviews of the Port Mahon encouraged us greatly. We weren't disappointed, it is in a lovely position, handy for strolling to town and around the harbour area. We hired a car to explore the island, but there are good buses across the island too.

The hotel was clean, the staff friendly & helpful and in a lovely situation, a great vantage point for watching cruise liners and small boats alike.

My only caveat is a regular one, buffet breakfast was very good and lots of choice, but as a vegetarian I found there was nothing at lunch or dinner for me - which was why we booked b & b. only.Though I am sure the chef would have attempted a dish for me I do think that a good quality hotel should provide some choice in this area as it is embarrassing to have to ask. I have commented to the hotel as I'd love to go again.But this is the norm for veggie life.
I would recommend for singles, couples and those with small children. Wish I was there now!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veggiebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahon
1.0 mi away
Hotel Artiem Capri Menorca
0.9 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
0.8 mi away
Catalonia Mirador d'es Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,097 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Agamenon
Hotel Agamenon
#2 of 6 in Es Castell
480 reviews
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
#3 of 6 in Es Castell
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Port Mahon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Port Mahon

Property: Hotel Port Mahon
Address: Avenida Port de Mao s/n, 07701 Mahon, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Mahon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mahon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Port Mahon 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Port Mahon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Mahon Mahón

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing