We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveler rating
105
44
13
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
44
13
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful stay booked a double room booked this hotel olive press huge bed three nights per night palma airport pool area air con alaro wedding mallorcan receptionist hairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 168 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had booked the stay via a booking website and we had 10% discount voucher. This turned up to be a mistake. Upon an arrival to the hotel we were given a key and directed to our room. As we walked in I was in a state of shock for few seconds, the room was small and didn't have a terrace which we had booked and paid for. We decided to go back downstairs and ask for the room that we had paid for- terraced room. We were given a key and told to see if we like this new room better. It was so much bigger than the first room and much nicer inside, with two armchairs and little table and we saw the door that clearly was leading outside so we took the room. It was only the next day that we discovered that the room that we got was a room with tiny balcony (without light so couldn't use it at evening/night) and that terraced rooms were downstairs. I had read before on trip advisor that hotel gives better rooms if you book directly with them and felt cheated and disappointed. We also felt we were taken advantage off as we arrived around 10.30pm after full day of travel and had no energy or alertness to notice this issue straight away. We spent our anniversary in two beds, that we were told we could've pushed together. Since It was our anniversary we had decided to ask for restaurant recommendation, boy was that a mistake. We wanted to take a taxi but were told it would be expensive and then another customer who spoke Spanish arrived and the guy at the reception started talking to him and ignored us. After some challenges with the Wifi which was patchy we found a restaurant on the internet and asked the guy at the reception if he can book it...another mistake. Insulted he said that he thought we'd eat in the hotel and made a face, so we just walked off. We did end up eating in the hotel restaurant 3 times. The meat/fish was good but mashed potatoes with apple (served with yummy pork) was what it sounds like and beef steak was served with a giant spring roll , also bit odd but ok. Waiting staff were by far the friendliest and nice. The hotel was clean. Breakfast was continental, but it was ok for this size of a hotel. On the other hand the hotel was in beautiful area, there was a magnificent sense of calmness and relaxation, lack of wifi in the rooms meant that we spoke and played cards (couldn't do that on the balcony thou) and had more quality time. The rooms were very clean and we would still recommend it for shorter stays especially bearing in mind you have to drive a lot.
Ps. We used sixT for car rental, very happy, worth every penny.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms give you view of the patio, which is always full of people sitting around so not great for privacy. Terraced rooms have bathrooms towards the patio and if somebody leaves their window open you can hear them in the loo :)
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magdalena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We organized our wedding at S'Olivaret and we only have compliments for them. The staff and owners were very friendly all the way, the food prepared by the hotel's cook was great, and the place is just the best scenery for such a special event. We would definitely recommend it for your wedding or just to spend a few days in a truly magic place...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 124Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hardly is the image first comes to your mind when hearing about a holiday in Mallorca. This hotel is remotely located, some 3 kms up a mountain road from the city of Alaro. It's located between two 800 metres high rock massifs, so it gives a nice setting to this quiet getaway.

We had a nice, spacious room. Bed was a bit rocky, but otherwise okey. Room showed signs a wear here and there, but we considered that as a part of the charm. It still functions, and gives good sleeping value.

Breakfast was nice, with fresh bread and fruit, cheese, etc. We are early birds, and one morning we had to wait for the breakfast as it was late. Also once, coffee was cold, which of course is a serious matter. But staff, whenever approached, always fixed everything.

We had half-board which we didn't regret once since dinner was from nice to great every evening. Not too fancy, down to earth, but very tasty. Basically it is a four course dinner. Also, considering that this hotel is in the middle of nowhere, unless you want to drive out, dinner at the hotel is the only option.

Saying that, I would strongly recommend to get a rental car for the full lenght of your stay. It's an easy drive from Palma airport, some 40 minutes. It's also easy to make daytrips from the hotel as many of the guests seemed to be doing. Hotel has a big enough parking lot with room for everyone, and some spots also in the shades of trees.

Pool area was nice and quiet. This is not a big hotel, and still during the midday sometimes even as little as 4-6 people were there. In the afternoon, when people arrived from their daytrips, it got more crowded, but still, only a handful of people. You could hear the loud sound of hoppers from the hillside, a few lost lambs and that's it. It's so quiet, that if some people got too deep into a conversation, it felt out of place.

This hotel had a free wi-fi which worked okey at times from the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Palmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent 5 nights at this hotel in July. It's easy to find being very close to the small village of Alaro. It took us around 35 minutes from the airport. A hire car is a must really unless you simply want to stay in the hotel grounds. The setting of the hotel is picturesque. Nestled in between two mountains overlooking the valley. We booked directly with the hotel and not via a booking site as we were told this would ensure the best available room being allocated to us. The room was perfect. Large, with good storage and a large bathroom with shower and separate bathtub. There is a safe and hair dryer but you will need to bring a travel iron with you. We didn't but the reception staff a very helpful at this hotel and soon found one for us from the laundry room. We stayed bed and breakfast. The breakfast is Ok. Buffet style with fruits meats cheeses breads and cereals. The lunch menu at the restaurant is very good and reasonably priced. Our favourite is the mozzarella and tomato salad. A must try. We only dined once in the evening at the hotel restaurant but again the food was very good and a fair price. The pool area is great. One of my favourite pool settings that I've seen. Always a spare lounger and plenty of shaded areas if you are like me and struggle to get any colour of tan other than red. All of the staff are friendly and helpful. They will call local restaurants for you and place reservations. Just ask. We ate out twice at Mandala restaurant in the small village of Orient 10 minutes away by car. You must try this. Meal for two with starters and bottle of wine is around €85 but well worth it. It's family run and they serve a good variety of foods. We also ate at Traffic in the village of Alaro. A 5 minute drive away. They have good pizzas and you can sit overlooking the town square simply people watching. We never thought we would find a place so peaceful on the sometimes over populated tourist island. If you just want to relax and be left to your own devices. This is the place. Lots of sightseeing within 30 minutes by car in every direction. We will be back.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Lifesabeach247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Superb hotel in the middle of the Mallorcan mountains. The surroundings are stunning and the view from the swimming pool and the terrace of the restaurant terrific. The hotel itself is beautiful, full of charm and cosy. The rooms, although a bit old-fashion are very comfortable. The restaurant offers excellent food (special mention for the breakfast!!!) for a very reasonable price. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews