We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
104
44
13
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
44
13
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful staybooked a double roombooked this hotelolive presshuge bedthree nightsper nightpalma airportpool areaair conalaroweddingmallorcanreceptionisthairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 167 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2008

Stayed at the Hotel for a week in early August 08. Was a very beautiful setting; rural and tranquil. Nearby town of Alaro is about a 5 minute car drive away, Palma about half an hour to the south and Alcudia about half an hour to the north - a car is essential as the hotel is literally on its own between two mountains! The hotel rooms are very spacious and ours had a patio area with sun lounger, umbrella and table and chairs. There is individual temperature control in each room, which was a bonus as it was very hot! The breakfast was very nice and served between 8am and 10:30am; we tended to eat late and by that time there was much less choice available so advisable to head there earlier. The restaurant serves a different fixed 4 course menu each day for 35 euros or there is an a la carte menu. The food was delicious but quite pricey - a meal for two (either fixed four courses or two mains and one pudding from the a la carte) came out at about 90 euros including table water and a couple of glasses of wine. It was a gorgeous setting though and well worth eating there a few times but also good to venture out and try some local restaurants. The pool was a great size with enough sunbeds and umbrellas - although the hotel seemed busy there was no struggle for sunbeds during the holiday! The hotel staff on the whole were very helpful and courteous. Overall a very relaxing week, which is what we were after and we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonUser2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

This hotel is away from it all. It is small and intimate. The staff were really good. They were not sat on your shoulder awaiting your every requirement but service was good. Sometimes you did have to find staff if you wanted a drink but this is a small hotel and I found this no hardship. The staff were human and caring not like so many places you find. Food at the hotel was extremely good. We ate at the hotel in the evenings, excellent service, the tuna is to die for! They have a very good chef. It is a 'Locando' sort of place. Views from the terrace are stunning. We will go again, it is so easy to get there from the UK. It's about 30 minutes from the airport tucked into the mountains in the north.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raikesend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2007

This hotel is as rural as it comes and is half way up a mountain. If you want to leave the hotel you will need to hire a car but there really is no need as it has all you need if you are after a relaxing get away for a couple of days. The hotel is clean and has loads of character and the views are just amazing. The staff are friendly and the food is great. There was not much for a fussy vegetarian on the menu but they were more than happy to cook me whatever I wanted. Nice wine too. Cant complain at all!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ernie_sheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2006

We stayed for 5 nights and the tranquillity was a joy, the location breathtakingly beautiful. The hotel is full of art, none of which would be out of place in a gallery and most of which I coveted. Breakfast was a delight, especially the fresh fruits, although if you sat in the beautiful outside area you were at risk of a smoker sitting near you and exercising their inalienable right to deal with the menace of fresh air.
The main negative for us was the staff, somewhat contrary to the views expressed elsewhere. Not that they were unpleasant, just disinterested and lacking in numbers. For example if you wanted a drink in the bar in the evening you might have to wait ten minutes since it was never manned and you would have to go to reception or the restaurant to make your request. We were staying during a cool weather period yet the indoor pool/jacuzzi/sauna were virtually abandoned - neither cleaned nor heated. The public rooms eg the Library smelt very damp and were cold - the log fire cried out to be lit. The overall feeling is that if this place were run by the management of some other great 'Tripadvisor gems' - eg Locanda Orseola in Venice - then it might be truly great.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PeterBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2006

For those who want to get away from it all, and I mean all, this is the place. Only reachable by car but on good, albeit windy and narrow, roads the hotel is genuinely as secluded in its mountain location as the other reviewers report. The only very minor noise, not disturbing, coming from a function area on a lower terrace near the pool where locals hold their celebrations on some evenings.

Our room was cool, large but sparsely furnished and lit. The stone floor and, for the most part, plain whitewashed walls gave it the feel of a local cottage. The bathroom was spacious with bath and shower. We also had a small private terrace with sun loungers and chairs.

The public rooms in the hotel maintain the ambience of the old estate house with comfortable furnishings. The infinity pool has been sympathetically designed into a terrace, is on the small side but adequate. Parking is plentiful, free but on a fairly steep slope from the hotel building itself.

Peace comes at a price at around €180 per night including a varied buffet breakfast but this did represent value for money. We took our other meals on the terrace. Both a la carte and the daily changing set menu (still €30 for 3 courses) were delicious and well presented. Good bottles of wine, local, Spanish and from further afield were priced at around €20.

Service was uniformly friendly and efficient. For example the staff went to great lengths in their ultimately vain attempt to find a TV channel showing one of the World Cup football matches. They apologised as though they themselves had made a mistake in allocating the broadcasting rights. When one of my credit cards failed to work when checking out the receptionist was patient and empathetic.

Visit and relax.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank afcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews