We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rural S'Olivaret

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rural S'Olivaret
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alaro
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A gem of a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights here at the beginning of May and realised just how lucky we were to have this hotel as part of our holiday.
The food was excellent the staff friendly and very attentive to our needs. In fact as I have said it was a gem. The location was very special and away from the crowds which was for us just what we wanted as we were taking part in a walking holiday anyway..
Towels provided for use when swimming in both indoor and outdoor pools, sauna available. Bathrobes provided for use in the rooms
Listening to the nightingales singing and the cuckoo as we swam in the infinity pool was truly magical. True you would need a car if you wanted to travel around but the hotel itself has some wonderful grounds and just at the bottom of the garden you can find several very pleasant walks. All in all a place that we would like to think we could go back to one day.

Room Tip: We had room 22 on the second floor overlooking the entrance. The rooms are large some have terraces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edev839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    28
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
69
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Fantastic,- lovely room with good bathroom, excellent restaurant, Beautiful location. You need a car as its about 4km from the village, out in the country. A good base for getting aound. Nice pool with enough loungers and pool towels provided.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimmi444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loopylune
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had three three nights and four days here, could have stayed a lifetime.
The food was beautifully prepared, presented and cooked,gourmet food at a reasonable price.
The breakfast was so extensive we were spoilt for choice.
Our room (13) not unlucky for us featured a bed that we almost needed a step ladder to climb up to the mattress.
An evening aperitif on the terrace prior to our meal was served by attentive staff, who could not do enough for us.
This quiet peaceful beautiful location midway twixt two mountains suited us perfectly for a chill out location magnificent!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loopylune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We've just come back from a wonderful week at the S'Olivaret. The location is beautiful, the hotel is comfortable, full of charm and the food is first class but what makes the S'Olivaret truly special is the service provided by all the staff. I have not rated the spa and fitness trail as the weather was hot and I did not use them. It is difficult to rate the location as everyone has different requirements. The setting is beautiful and easily reached from the airport but a car is essential.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJP31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel 2 days prior to arriving as the place we were staying previously wasn't particularly restful. We arrived early on in the morning and they had a room available immediately. The room was fine, albeit a bit dark. I had seen reviews saying ask for a room at the front with a view, we eventually heeded these comments and asked if they had a spare room at the front. They didn't but the rejigged things to accommodate our request. The room we ended up with was a huge improvement, massive room, double shower, gigantic bed, lovely antiques and a wonderful view.

The hotel is coated in art and antiques. It feels so homely, I wish my home felt the same. The outer areas are stunning, the mountains stare down dominantly. The views are incredible. The infinity pool looks out over the forest and mountain, you could be in Yosemite or British Columbia (not been to either!!!). Basically it is gorgeous. It would be bliss but for the annoying French and German children that have been let loose.

As for the service, the restaurant staff were amazing. Really knowledgeable and helpful. The food was excellent, albeit a bit left field at times. The set menu is unfathomably large, I am a big eater and I struggled. I am by no means attacking the kitchen, but the courses are too big, I had to cancel my main course as i was too full, not like me. The food was excellent value and I loved the wine. Te waiter picked the wine both times and it was excellent.

A few suggestions for the hotel, 1) on arrival it would have been nice to have a tour or at least a run down of the facilities and where things are. It only takes 5 mins to show someone around. 2) before dinner it is nice to have a drink. Problem is there is no one manning the bar. You have to ask the receptionist to make it or grab someone from the restaurant - not ideal. I saw a few people sit down for a drink and walk off due to no one serving.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djdando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Have just returned from a 5 day stay at the Olivaret and it so exceeded my expectations.

The staff are so friendly and immediatly make you feel welcome when you arrive.

The rooms are large and spacious and have everything that you could want. Being picky they could do with a full length mirror and tea/coffee making facilities but that is really being picky. All rooms are tastefully decorated with objects/ pictures which make you feel you are in someones home rather than a hotel.

The grounds/location were beautiful - such a peaceful spot. The hotel is set between 2 mountains and the nearest town would be quite a walk so car hire is essential here.

The pool area is very relaxing and you could easily spend your whole day in this perfect spot.

We only ate breakfast as we were always out and about but the terrace where you sit in the morning is shaded with huge parasols looking out over the valley. There was a good selection of food on offer - couldn't have asked for anything more.

Would definitely stay again, next time for longer though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sg123Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds Yorks England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed for just two nights and really enjoyed our stay.We had not been to Majorca for at least thirty years and then it was with our small children,so this was a complete surprise.It was a renovated farmhouse with character and a charm of its own.Well furnished with antiques the rooms were very comfortable.We ate at the hotel both nights and it was excellent,there was always a good choice on the menu.The only drawback is it is very isolated,but set in the most scenic area.The view from the terrace is stunning a super place for a drink before dinner.I certainly would return.

Room Tip: Ask for one with outside space or a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alaro
2.3 mi away
Finca Hotel Son Palou
1.6 mi away
L'Hermitage
L'Hermitage
#2 of 3 in Orient
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Rural & Spa Monnaber Nou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sa Cabana Hotel Rural & Spa
2.3 mi away
Dalt Muntanya
Dalt Muntanya
#3 of 3 in Orient
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural S'Olivaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural S'Olivaret

Property: Hotel Rural S'Olivaret
Address: Carretera Alaro-Orient | km 3, 07340 Alaro, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rural S'Olivaret 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rural S'Olivaret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rural Stil s Olivaret
Hotel Rural S'Olivaret Alaro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing