We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
challenger08
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good but not 5 star”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Lovely modern hotel with great facilities and in a good location. Beach is only a 5 minute walk through the hotel grounds and over a small pedestrian bridge. We stayed in May 2012 so were in the hotel before the season started in full. The hotel was 80% full. Our room, a junior suite, was very clean, well appointed with a very large balcony. Room was very comfortable - bathroom spacious and well designed. Selection of stations on TV limited as is often the case but otherwise no complaints in the room.
Food in the main restaurant was disappointing; there was a good selection but no food labels were provided until several days into the holiday, and then rather sporadically. As a result, some of the food presented was a bit of mystery and led to amusing scenes as staff tried to explain some of the dishes - a very helpful staff member tried to portray a 'large animal with big horns' (venison). The staff were excellent, but the food was often cool, and on some occasions, undercooked (chicken on one day, sausages on another). Breakfast was better - plenty of fresh fruit and hot dishes to choose from. The poolside bar and brasserie 'Tanit" was good, with good quality freshly made food available and a wide selection of drinks.
The holiday was spoiled somewhat by the arrival of two corporate groups from the UK - groups of around 20 or so and they dominated the pool, buffet and poolside area. Tourist hotels should know by now that large corporate groups don't tend to work well with a hotel accommodating primarily couples or small families. The hotel didn't manage this well - there were insufficient numbers of loungers around the pool and it was several days before additional seating was brought out.
We liked Santa Eulalia and walked into the town and ate there in the evenings instead of the hotel. we liked Ibiza a great deal but when we return would probably seek an alternative hotel.
The hotel is well designed and comfortable and staff were consistently excellent. It was let down by a sub standard buffet and a failure to manage more effectively the sometimes contrasting needs of corporate and personal guests.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank challenger08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    182
    63
    23
    15
See reviews for
182
411
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We spent five nights here. Our Junior Suite was on the First Floor and had a view of the pool plus small triangle of sea - obviously that constitutes the promised/advertised 'sea-view'. Once the leaking fridge, a/c and slow draining shower issues were resolved our room was lovely with a big balcony. Beds are comfortable (pillows are long and/or thin or small and square), nice linens/towels. Bathroom has two sinks, big tub, shower with multiple jets and rainhead.

Breakfast buffet is excellent; perfect poached eggs every time. However, teapots of hot water with saucers for lids are useless. Perhaps proper teapots next to a boiling water facility in the buffet area would be more efficient.

We only ate in the hotel one evening, again at the buffet, which was fine. Other restaurants in the hotel were practically empty so lacking atmosphere.

The pool and its surrounding areas are beautifully maintained and manicured. The pool itself is good for swimmers, slightly salty and clean. Hotel staff were polite, efficient and cheerful apart from the life-guard and a couple of receptionists who could do with a visit to Charm School. Michael and Jane on reception should be commended for their unfailing go-the-extra-mile to help.

Disappointments were the lack of tea/coffee making facilities, no hair conditioner, no turn-down service: all to be expected from a 5* hotel. We asked to look at the Spa but were told it was only possible by computerised images unless we paid the 30 euro entry fee. Hardly the way to encourage custom I'd have thought. Our room suffered from noise from above. Why do people start moving furniture around at 7am...or perhaps it was the maids...but every morning?

The hotel was full mostly due to a large contingent of Italian ladies (and a handful of men), from a well-known plastic food container company, there throughout our stay. They comandeered the breakfast buffet to such an extent I imagine the chefs had to go and lie down in a darkened room when service was finally finished. Their overwhelming presence was certainly instrumental in our decision to hire a car for longer than intended and 'get away'.

I would stay at this hotel again but would ensure no large group had reservations at the same time; they certainly lowered the feel of what this hotel is aiming to achieve, namely a 5* luxury hotel.

p.s. I'm not surprised one reviewer called this hotel "Outstanding...amazing" if they were upgraded to a Prestige Suite.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views and are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We had our honeymoon here and the hotel on the whole was lovely. We had a Junior suite and the room was very big and comfortable, bed was great and the room quiet.
Reception, pool and dining room all look very elegant and are very clean.
We stayed on a half bard basis and have to say that the food is nowhere near 5 star. We have travelled to many 5 star hotels and the food here really lets the place down. It took 3 days for any of the buffet to be labelled, the chef's grill was chaos with wrong orders going out, VERY samey food through out the week, boring non adventurous and basic buffet (think a pasta, a potato dish, meat, salad and rice EVERYDAY).
Be aware that the 5 star prices at the hotel are laughable! (£11 for a cheese and ham toastie at the pool bar) The bar is empty at night as a cocktail is £13, spirits start at a tenner BEFORE the mixer, £3 for a small bottle of water.
Thankfully the resort and the positon of the hotel meant that a lovely 2min stroll and you had the choice of cafes, bars and supermarkets...no need at all to be stung at the hotel.

I would return to this hotel and would recommend it as I really enjoyed the week here, but I would stay on a B+B board only and wouldn't be fooled but the 5star rating.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuziGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

On arrival junior suite was upgraded to prestige suite with a roof terrace and hot tub. This was so perfect for our two baby twin girls as they could nap in peace whilst we relaxed upstairs. The hotel provided beautiful cot beds and high chairs on arrival. The hotel staff are so friendly and I have to mention Marisa in the restaurant who is amazing with babies and so welcoming. The facilities at the hotel are 5 star. The pool area is perfect. I cannot say in words how amazing our stay has been. The only issue I would say is that the corridors and lifts are not air conditioned, but this may be as the hotel is brand new it has to be environmentally friendly? Anyway a 5 star hotel indeed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northerncoupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We booked a sea view and our confirmation said 'fabulous sea views' .......... we gave up changing rooms on arrival and took the second room they offered which was marginally better than the first; if you stood on the balcony and craned your neck you could just see the sea. This is not what we booked. The hotel was totally disinterested in even discussing the subject and said none of the rooms had sea views. This is not what our confirmation said. Otherwise the hotel was beautifully laid out and the beds extremely comfortable. The breakfast buffet was superb. The flooring around the swimming pool was very slippery and one person broke their arm falling whilst we were there, resulting in surgery !!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fylde coast
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

From the moment you arrive at the Fenicia, the entrance is an impressive sight. This hotel is stylish, modern. with tasteful and interesting decor, the colours of which continue throughout. There's a feeling of spaciousness everywhere, so many comfortable places to sit and relax, whilst viewing the surroundings - and what a beautiful elegant dining room ! The facilities are superb both inside and out, attractive layout, large pool area, lush gardens and ample room to spread out. We were upgraded to a suite, and our bedroom was well appointed, with a really enormous comfy bed - gorgeous bathroom with the special touches of robes and slippers and toiletries. Our special deal for half board was really good value for money - food was excellent 5* gourmet dining albeit in buffet style. Breakfast was a feast in itself, both hot and cold and all you could wish for including Cava ! Evenings provided a wonderful selection of beautifully presented cooked dishes, plus fresh fish and meats which were cooked for you to your liking - delicious salads - moorish desserts - everything you could possible imagine. I was spoilt for choice - wonderful ! The attentive and pleasant staff were always on hand for all your needs and the dining room ambience was relaxed and most enjoyable.
All of the staff provided an excellent service - reception were helpful, friendly, always a smile, welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. It was also good to see senior management evident, always ensuring you were well looked after.
A superb location, quiet and picturesque, set by a narrow river which offers a pleasant walk along the bank, the birds and ducks, the old roman bridge - well worth it - very interesting. The hotel is also easily accessible (via the new bridge ) to the beach, the town and lovely promenade. Santa Eulalia is lovely, not too big and not too small, plenty bars, cafes and restaurants which looked really inviting( although we didn't sample any with eating in the hotel ). A good bar for 'people watching' is the Royalty situated on the square in the main tree lined street. There's a little street market most mornings, chic shops, plenty to do and see. Convenient for access to nearby Ibiza town ( by bus or ferry ), or to other bays, especially recommended is the Hippy market at Es Cana - take the 25min pleasant ferry ride for a full day there, as it's so big, bands, food, lovely atmosphere !
You will not be disappointed here at all - I would certainly have no hesitation on returning, and recommend this 5* hotel for its excellence in every category which provided everything we required for a wonderful holiday. Thank you Fenicia and all your attentive staff !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westcoastboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This was my third visit to the hotel and although a little busier this time the standards did not drop at all. The rooms are wonderful and spacious, the pool area is beautifully maintained and really relaxing and the breakfasts are without doubt the best I have had in any hotel. The staff are charming and extremely helpful.
This visit we were on a half board basis which only allowed us to eat in the buffet ( although one could eat in both the Monsoon and the Vinoteca for a supplement of 20-30 euros per person ) where the food is very good and much on offer is freshly prepared while you wait. However it is a shame that a supplement is required for the other two restaurants at the hotel and the wine seemed a little pricey but really it's very difficult to find anything negative to say!
The staff are wonderful and contribute hugely to making the whole experience a very positive one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anncoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Eulalia del Rio
0.9 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#2 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
916 reviews
2.4 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#5 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
928 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#14 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#1 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,205 reviews
2.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
#1 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
289 reviews
0.9 mi away
Catalonia Ses Estaques
Catalonia Ses Estaques
#6 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa

Property: Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa
Address: C/ Narcisos s/n | Urbanización Siesta, 07840, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa enjoys a privileged setting in Ibiza’s most prestigious touristic area. Ideal getaway for those who are looking for peace and quiet. Luxury cuisine at the Fenicia Buffet Restaurant and 3 à la carte restaurants: Gourmet Restaurant La Vinoteca, Monsoon Oriental Restaurant, Tanit Bistro & Bar. Exclusive bars and lounges: Tanit Pool Bar and Ibosim Bistro & Bar. Magnificient outdoor pool with a dynamic area. Fabulous 1200m² Prestige Spa. Fitness centre +16.Conference rooms. Spacious terraces and lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Thalasso Hotel
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing