We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed at this wonderful hotel last two weeks of October....late season so you'd think it might be not good or lively enough....here's the truth:
Quiet and classy resort not in the center but not far away from it, which suited us as we like walking ( there's public bus sevice thou ). Food superb ( even being late season), rooms big and comfy, so the beds, so everything. One word to describe it : Flawless.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Lily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    287
    86
    11
    5
See reviews for
119
527
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed her mid September to early October courtesy of Thomsons. W've been to Santa Eulalia on and off since 1979 and have stayed at all of the hotels in the resort. W found this hotel very peaceful. The room itself was reasonably large with loads of storage but it had no outlook as it looked out over the roof of the restaurant. However the room was clean, was kept clean and was very comfortable. The restaurant was very good. Loads of choices both for breakfast and dinner. very nice food. The waiting staff are superb. No question. I've never stayed in a hotel where the waiting staff were so attentive and pleasant. Lunchtime at the pool bar has a limited choice of snacks but all reasonably priced. There's no kettle in the room which is a bit disappointing. The worst bit of this hotel is the pool and made worse by the guests. Going to the pool after breakfast you find the usual beds booked with towels, Many of them lie empty till after lunch, some lie empty all day!! The beds are very cramped and close to each other, however you can go out of the pool area and use a bed under the trees which is quite nice. Or you can go to the beach which is actually better. It's a good walk to the centre of town so if you don't want to walk don't stay here. 2 supermarkets very close to the hotel. Can't remark on the entertainment at night as we are not interested. So would I stay here again? yes I would. Overall I think it's one of the best hotels in Santa Eulalia and we've already booked for next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Albans
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at the Grupotel in September 2013 for one week, with the decision actually based on Tripadvisor reviews.

The hotel is situated at the far end of Santa Eularia and is about 35 Euros by taxi from the airport. We arrived at just after 01.00 am and thankfully check in was quick and efficient.

We had asked for a sea facing room on the second floor and were given room 2004. Technically this was probably more tree facing, but beyond this was the sea and a lovely view of the rising sun.

The room itself was of a good size, with the usual commodities and a well equipped bathroom. However there were a few things missing (for a 4 star hotel) which were:

a kettle
an iron
a lock for the safe

The kettle situation was tragic as given the number of Brits in the hotel, I'm sure we could all have done with our early morning cuppa when waking up! Or maybe it was a smart idea to get visitors to buy their tea and coffee from the restaurant instead..?!

An iron can be borrowed from reception, however there are only 2 that can be lent out! So you will get reception asking for this back if you hang on to it for too long!

The safe situation is strange - there is one in the room, but you have to pay a deposit and 10 Euros for the lock and key!

Another unfortunate gripe is the WiFi. Its 15 Euros for a weeks pass, however the signal gets progressively worse the further you go from reception. This unfortunately meant there was no signal at all in our room on the 2nd floor.

The hotel itself is aimed at retired Brits/ Germans, most of whom would appear to return every year. The general vibe is that of just chilling out and relaxing for the duration of the stay.
Most folk were happy to be lying in the sun all day. There is the usual battle for sunbeds and by
08.00 the prime spots have been nabbed! We sussed out that those staying in the ground floor pool facing rooms had bagged these, so anyone not in these rooms is well advised to get up early! (this is because they are able to place their towels down before the pool 'opens' at 08.00)
A tip here is to get a sunbed nearest the restaurant/ bar, as these get sun all day. The sunbeds at the far end (by the exits near the sea) have sun till about 11.00am, but are then in the shade for the rest of the day - a rookie mistake made on Day 1!

Breakfast is of the buffet variety with pretty much everything catered for from omelettes to cereal (no porridge though). So if you fancy frankfurters with scrambled eggs one day and yogurts with fruit the next its entirely possible!
Dinner is a similar affair with a buffet and a huge selection of food from different cuisines.

The hotel has a lovely spa and pool and a gym - although a better description of this would be 8 machines in a glass room (4 cardio machines and 4 multi gyms)

The hotel is a good 15-20 minute walk from the Marina. But 5 minutes round the corner is a large Eroski supermarket suitable for stocking up on water and cheap Estrella beers!
There are also 2 restaurants in the are Babylon Beach (excellent!) and Es Farallo (not so excellent!). However you are spoilt for choice in the marina, so its always worth a visit.

Given the majority of the population of Santa Eularia are retired, very few places are open past midnight. So we had trips to San Antonio (about 40 Euros by taxi) and Ibiza Town (25 Euros)
on some nights out too.

Despite some late nights, it was always nice to come back to the hotel for a quiet sleep.So if you do want a holiday where you can totally switch off for a week or 2, this is the ideal place for you - we would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms on the 2nd floor are the ones worth going for - nice views as the sun rises!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ganesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruffec, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at the Grupotel Santa Eularia for a 10 night Thomson package holiday upto the 19th October. The majority of people staying at this time of year were of retirement age, but as we keep ourselves to ourselves this was not an issue.

We arrived at the hotel before midday and were informed that the room wouldn't be ready until after 1pm so we settled in at the pleasant bar. We found the prices very acceptable, living in France, and only very slightly more than in town. A pint of beer 3.60 Euros, a draught coke (or Fanta) 2.40 Euros. Bottled water was expensive however at 1.90 Euros. The bar also serves snacks 1pm to 3pm, and we enjoyed a couple of ready-meal Pizzas for about 7 Euros each. The service at the bar was always friendly and efficient and we enjoyed a couple of lazy day snacks there.

We were finally given the key to the room at about 2.30pm. The room was comfortable (twin beds) and clean, if not the most spacious, and benefitted from air conditioning. Our room, 2111, was above the restaurant, in itself above the car park and delivery ramp. The view from the balcony was somewhat disappointing looking onto a residential apartment block and a small tiled walkway. We took the enormous 'Grupotel' key ring off the key (less to carry about) and left it permanently in the electric power controller and this was never penalised.

After a couple of days the condensation from the air conditioning started coming through the adjacent light fitting and dripping on the floor. I notified reception and nothing was done about it, until the penultimate day when I left a towel on the floor to mop up the dripping water. We came back to the hotel, the floor was dry and the air conditioning functioning correctly, and a bottle of local liquor had been left with a compliments slip. Maybe they gift all their clients but this seemed like a nice touch.

Breakfast was between 8.30 and 10.30 daily. We tried breakfast at all times according to what we were doing for the day, and it was definitely quieter earlier on. Breakfast was plentiful with something for everyone: cooked breakfast, fresh omelettes, croissants and pastries, bread & toast, ham & cheese, cereals, yogurts, fruit juices & cava...etc.

Evening meals were served between 6.30 and 9pm. It was amazing to see the people queuing to eat at opening time (perhaps it was going to be their last meal?!). We preferred to eat late (8.30ish, not too late because the food wouldn't be replaced) and found the choice adequate. There was fresh salad, two or three main meals & freshly cooked fish or chicken, bread, cakes & ice cream but after a number of days the routine and menu (very 'samey') became repetitive so we started eating out.

We stayed in Es Cana about 15 years ago, and we much preferred Santa Eularia. It is an easily achievable 10 minute walk to the town but the waterfront promenade, the harbour, the night fountain and choice of restaurants were great.

We'd probably not visit Ibiza again (the island was smaller and not as good as we remembered), but we'd certainly stay at another Grupotel hotel on the mainland or another Balearic island, and probably without the half board option if possible.

Room Tip: Very few rooms will have a perfect view (and some looking onto the bar patio = terrible), maybe wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SDF R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from Ibiza and spent seven nights at this hotel.We had a great room which overlooked the sea and was nice and quiet in the evenings.Food was good ,but not excellent ,as you have to cater to a near full hotel this is not an easy job.I did feel that the starters could have been better ,plenty of salads but no meats nor fish most nights and I think the hotel should address this.The weather was vey hot during the last week of September and we spent the time sunbathing or walking down to the town.A very pleasant walk,but the hotel is quite far out and is not really suitable to walk back and forth at night.
One point I must raise is at breakfast they offer you pots of coffee,but if you want tea you have to go and make it yourself and walk back to your table carrying hotwater in tea cups.This is not acceptable and somone is going to scald themselves.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent 11 days at this hotel returning on 25 September. First impressions were very clean, nice spacious room, plenty of wardrobe space and decent coat hangers. There was constant hot water with the best shower we have ever had but only down side was there was no light where the shower is so very dark. Air conditioning in the room worked well and was used throughout our stay. We had paid for a sea view (12 Euros a day) in room 2003 and it was a beautiful view overlooking the bay and Babylon Beach bar which does not play loud music so once patio doors were closed you could not hear a thing. The sun rose opposite so got to see some beautiful sun rises. There was a fridge in the room but was full of the hotels own drinks but there was room on the top shelf for water. We have seen comments that peoples stuff was removed but that didn't happen to us. You do have to pay for a safe which you do get a deposit back. There is also beach towels available for a 10 Euro deposit.

Pool area was very clean but you have to put towels on beds at 8am to make sure you get one as there is not enough for the amount of people in the hotel so hope you like lying next to someone!!

There is a spa downstairs which we used every day at no charge which was very good, lovely warm water, nice Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna etc which was perfect after a hard days sunbathing!

Breakfast was very good with a huge selection of cereals, yoghurts, fruits, cold meats, cheeses but the fry ups were not the typical English ones. Omelettes were cooked to order which were very nice but after numerous days of this it got a bit boring. There was a nice touch of sparkling wine available every breakfast which isn’t usually seen only on Sundays. We did have lunch on the day of arrival at the poolside bar which was basic but very good. Evening meals were a disappointment apart from the odd Gala night which they had three of in a week. If you don’t like salad or soups, that was it for the starters, the mains had some odd combinations of things and some of the meat was inedible as it was that tough. My gripe in general about Spain is that they have loads of beautiful fish but they do not fillet it so it is pick the bones out which spoils it. There was a choice of puddings but it is not their strong point and the chocolate was not chocolate. Ice creams and homemade cakes were very good. Unfortunately, there was not enough staff in the restaurant and on more than one occasion had to remove our own plates so we could have the next course and also if you come in late you had to wait a while for someone to make a table up for you. We do not drink alcohol and do resent paying 2 Euros 40 for a small bottle of water as you can get 5 litres in the supermarket for under a Euro and having spoken to several people they all said that all drinks at the hotel were very expensive. After 7 days we needed a change so ate out in the French restaurant, No 27 in Restaurant Row which for two of us was 100 Euros but worth every euro as beautiful and well worth a visit as proper fine dining food.

We didn’t see any of the evening entertainment so cannot comment on it but did notice a lot of people were going to the Thomson Gold one down the road.

In respect of where the hotel was it was very quiet but a plus side was a proper supermarket, Eroski, 200 yards away. The marina is a nice 10 minute walk but I would use the roads rather than the rugged path along the front as there is no lighting and dangerous in places. The Town has plenty of shops and small supermarkets, a beach and countless restaurants but if you eat in the ones in the Marina expect to pay a premium because of the view. We got the local bus to Ibiza Town which cost 2 Euros 25 one way each, which I would recommend anyone to go as well worth the 300 steps to the top as the view was incredible and go to the Marina and see the super yachts of how the other half live.

Overall a nice clean relaxed hotel with friendly staff but wouldn’t consider it to be a Thomson Platinum hotel.......ps there is the usual hotel cats so all you cat lovers please feed them!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view well worth getting up to see the beautiful sun rises!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chefscorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at this hotel and really enjoyed our stay.
We arrived on my husbands birthday and much to our surprise and delight after we had settled in our room the management sent us a bottle of sparkling wine on ice to celebrate his birthday without any mention from us. A very sweet thought.
The rooms are large with lots of storage space and good powerful showers and comfy seats on the balcony
We asked for a sea view room and was thrilled by the lovely view that greeted us from our balcony.
There was a bit of a down side as we were to discover that unfortunately there is a kind of service road that runs in front of the sea view rooms which is also the car park for the Babylon beach bar and so its not very peaceful as the cars come and go all day and night.
The food is of a very good quality and there is always a really varied choice and a good selection of fresh fruit and veg along with all the usual choices and fresh meat and fish being cooked to order .
The staff work very hard in the restaurant but in my opinion there are not enough staff to cope when the Hotel is full as it was when we were there.
You shouldn't have to clear your own plates in a four star hotel which we had to do a few times as the staff were so pushed.
MANAGEMENT TAKE NOTE IT IS NOT THE STAFFS FAULT PLEASE INCREASE THE STAFF IN THE DINING ROOM.
The hotel is very clean and comfortable and everyone works very hard to keep it nice.
There is little organised entertainment which suited us but not you if you are a bit of a joiner.
This Hotel would make a really good adults only hotel as there is nothing for kids which would be great.
The pool area and gardens are very nice and kept very well.
We were reprimanded for putting our own drinks in the mini bar fridge and were told that it would be locked if we continued to do so. We are not mean and if the soft drinks were not so expensive from the bar fridge we wouldn't have done so. I think that 2 euro's 25 is a bit much for a small bottle of coke for serving yourself in your room. Have the management thought that they might sell a lot more if the drinks were more reasonable ?
This is a nice comfy hotel and we would be happy to return and very much enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Lovely sea views but not peaceful. we were in 2015
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nannyjanny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Eulalia del Rio hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#14 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,730 reviews
1.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
#1 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catalonia Ses Estaques
Catalonia Ses Estaques
#6 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#2 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
913 reviews
0.6 mi away
Invisa Hotel La Cala
Invisa Hotel La Cala
#15 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
940 reviews
1.3 mi away
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites ...
#3 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel

Property: Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel
Address: Calle Pare Vicent Costa 16 | Illes Balears, 07840, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the sea and 800 m away from the beach. Rooms and Suites: Heating/ air-conditioning. Satellite TV. Minibar. Terrace. Suites have in addition living room. Spa & wellness center. Sport & Leisure: Swimming pool, children's pool. Table tennis. Billiard. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar with terrace and snack service. Services: Luggage storage. Swimming pool towels. Rental of bathrobes. Shop with handicrafts products. Medical service. Foreign exchange. Car rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grupotel Santa Eularia
Grupotel Santa Eulalia
Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing