We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couldn't fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“couldn't fault it”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We chose this hotel as a base as we were attending our son's wedding at Amanti Beach, making it a holiday too.The friendly and co-operative staff made it even more special, it was a wonderful occasion. Couldn't fault a thing, loved it. Food excellent and varied, hotel and rooms clean, spacious, nice decor, pool and gardens...... brilliant holiday,. The area suited us too, chic, clean, and quiet.

Room Tip: only two floors, pleasant views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    287
    86
    11
    5
See reviews for
119
527
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth-UK
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We’ve just returned from a 1 week stay and, despite the title, we had a lovely time and enjoyed our break. The hotel so very nearly lives up to its 4T, Platinum Rating in that the staff were excellent; rooms were very comfortable; everywhere was spotlessly clean; really nice pool area; great sunbeds with no early morning rush to reserve a space; reasonable priced snacks and drinks and a really peaceful setting. There are nice cliff top walks in either direction and the port of Santa Eulalia is only a 10 minute walk away where you’ll find a wide variety of bars and restaurants built around a very stylish and attractive marina. So far so good I hear you say…….What we feel let this hotel down, however, was a) the quality and variety of the food which, especially when compared to one of their sister hotels in Majorca where we stayed last year (the Gran Vista in Ca’n Picafort) is nowhere near the same standard b) the evening entertainment was poor to say the least and c) it really is far quieter than we expected in the evening which came as a bit of a shock and may be something to consider – especially if you were to be staying for 2 weeks. We enjoyed our holiday but given the choice between this hotel and other similar hotels we’ve stayed at we’d have to say it is probably not one we’ll rush back to. P.S. If you can stretch to a taxi transfer then it is well worth the money as our journey to the hotel took longer than the flight (literally 2 hrs 20 mins..) due to Thomson’s decision to wait for passengers off flights from 3 different UK airports before setting off – disgraceful service which made sure we booked a taxi back.

Room Tip: The rooms on the left hand side as you are looking at the hotel ( East facing I think...) had really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob-Lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, England
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

As ever our group of 11 has just returned from our annual jaunt abroad. This year we decided on the Grupotel. Fantastic choice of hotel and we all had a fabulous time... however the only real drawback was the location. If this hotel was near the Tres Torres or ses estaques you would be hard pressed to find better. Its just that little bit too far to walk back after a night out. Especially for the nana part of the group who average 72yrs....... Only two floors high. We normally like high floor ,sea view and were disappointed to be given ground floor and poor view in the beginning, however it turned out to be best terrace in the hotel. We were allocated 1077 1078 1080 and 1082. Every room was spotless with plenty of space as some of the rooms housed 3 persons. No z beds here , third bed was proper bed. Loads of drawer space which most hotels lack, loads of wardrobe space. Safe for 14 euros with 5 euros back. Lots of hot water from fab over bath shower. Up to date large bathroom with good lighting , full length mirror, always a girly need and good air con. The terrace was large and spacious with fantastic reclining padded chairs and on the side we were on had the sun til the bitter end of the day. Fantastic. Not much privacy if you had a pool view owing to the rooms being ground floor and only get to see the sunrise if you have a sea view room. Tend to still be in bed for that.
The strange thing about this hotel is that they dont appear to want to take advantage of a possible money maker... You have a fab fridge in your room which is the mini bar. We took everything out of the fridge ( as it was all non perishable ) and put our own water and wine in from the supermarket. After a few days we received a "green card" stating that we had to put the hotels bottles back in the fridge or we would be charged for the products. We went straight to reception and stated that we were more than happy to pay for the rental of the fridge but did not want to buy their drinks.... this was refused so rather than receive money for rental they recieved no money at all as we did not buy their drinks. ( we still manged to squeeze our water and wine in for cooling ). Very strange.
The supermarket is five minute walk away and was brill. Water very cheap and bottles of dubois speakling wine for under 2 euros... Heaven.. Even bottles of Freixenet wine for under 6 euros for when you push the boat out.
The food here is very varied but just lacks that certain something... it was all very lukewarm which spoiled something that could have been fantastic. The sauces on the meats were delicious tasting but spoiled when not hot enough. Salads, deserts, hot bread out of the oven all fantastic though.
The staff are brilliant and very helpful... The entertainment is only on every other night and was mediocre at best but we were out most nights anyway as the promenade in Santa Eulalia is stunning. All the bars are immaculate and staff very friendly especially at el cafe and el rincon de marino... Garlic chips to die for at el rincon. Nanas got the bus to Ibiza town and San Antonio bay , great value and not too far away. Great bus station in Santa Eulalia.
Price of drinks are what you expect for a hotel , not cheap but not too expensive either.
Good pool area with very comfy sun loungers and loungers on the beach /tree area if you prefer. The pool was too cold for us and we dont mind cold but the weather was too cold to sit around the pool for 3 of our 7 days. Gutted. however it was roasting at the end of the holiday so at least it ended on a good note. We couldnt have been in a better hotel if cold weather is your enemy. This hotel has a fabulous indoor pool wlth spa area , steam room , sauna , jacuzzi , ice plunge pool, warm heat longers... all free , fantastic.
All in all fantastic hotel , with just a couple of little niggles. We wouldn't be put off going again however there is a big wide world out there to explore.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms 1077 more private and get the sun from around 2pm onwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gatesheadgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed for one week with older members of my family. We were expecting a sea view room but due to a travel agent mistake were allocated a room on the upper floor (1092) at the back which was quiet and had a sunny terrace so very happy. We were offered a sea view room for an additional 10 euros/day but declined. Our room was spacious, clean and the TV had UK channels BBC1 through to Channel 5. Mainly Spanish and German channels. Good size balcony, very nicely furnished and everything worked!

The hotel is located about 15 minutes walk from the harbour area in central Santa Eularia. It is therefore not centrally located for visitors expecting restaurants/shops on their doorstep but the walk via the coast during the day or residential streets in the evening is pleasant enough. There is a large supermarket located within 5 minutes walking distance to stock up on water, etc. The hotel prices for water/wine are high. The hotel provides evening entertainment about every other night - magician/acrobats/singers - quite varied! We tended to head out after dinner though.

The restaurant fare is pretty good - lots of choice of hot mains and plenty of fresh seasonal salads/fruits in the buffet and some delicous desserts. Restaurant was fairly busy during our stay but the staff clear the tables efficiently. Didn't feel the need for lunch as breakfasts/dinners were very filling.

I used the spa (located in the lower basement) a few times - it's free and has a large jacuzzi style pool, various showers and a sauna (the steam room was out of operation the whole week). There are only about 8 loungers so it can get busy with only a few people but whilst I visited I mainly had the place to myself. There are treatments on offer but they were fairly pricey for basic massage/therapies. The pool outside is much larger (and colder!) and there are plenty of loungers in/out of the shade but not much in the way of private grounds.

Hotel reception were helpful - tips for local markets, etc and no charge for storing luggage securely after check-out.

We did have a look at a few other hotels in the area out of interest - think we made the right choice with Grupotel and would return again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ChocQueen6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool england
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

just arrived back from from grupotel and it certainly lived up to its reputation. first impressions as we arrived, you drive through a residential area with just a supermarket and nothing much else. the famous mango bar has closed down. however upon entering we were greeted by the charming emilia on reception who is an asset to this hotel. throughout the holiday she was very helpful and always smiling.we were allocated a room overlooking the pool which got the afternoon sun. spacious with a flatscreen tv with english channels and a fridge. a tip if you like a morning cuppa bring a travel kettle there is a mini bar but we stocked up on drinks and snacks from eroski supermarket ,turn right outside hotel. bathroom has an adequate hairdryer where its let down for a 4* hotel is the toiletries.luckily i brought my own. it consists of a wall dispenser thats supposed to be a shower/shampoo/conditioner all in one cheap stuff. also a little basket with the usual tissues/comb showercap but once used never replaced.the maid cleaned room every day and changed sheets 3 times. at breakfast and dinner food was plentiful. chefs to cook eggs /omlettes at breakfast and fish and meat at dinner. on our first morning met by a lovely waitress who brought coffee and set up a table. tables are mainly in two,s.a slight problem was a table set up as they were cleared they were left empty.we quickly realised you find any empty table go get your own jug of coffee and when the staff see this bring over cutlery.staff are rushed off their feet except for one guy . look out for him he,s situated in right hand corner near juice/puddings i put my salad down at empty table and asked him to set it up he actually sighed and went off. my husband sat down and waited but still no cuttlery we asked again but in the end moved to an efficient waitress who rolled her eyes when we mentioned him. i think he must be the boss,s son because there is no other reason to employ him. he actually became a great source of amusement to us as we watched his antics. he would leave tables full of dirty dishes to discourage people sitting in his area . it was only passing staff from other areas would quickly clear up for him. not once did he bring a jug of coffee to anyone . and when forced to set a table would do so so slowly before wiping his face with the exertion of it. he would then disappear back to kitchen with dirty trolley timewasting . you will recognise him he has a slicked back quiff and a surly face. entertainment is on three mights a week. we seen brilliant flamenco dancers and a magician. be prepared for a long wait because service at bar is sooo slow. pass through pool area out to a cliff path and a ten minute walk takes you to a delightful town and marina with lots of shops take the time to walk up to the church. we hired a car and visited the hippy market on wednesday go early as it gets busy, ibiza town particularly dalt villa the old town,las dalias market on sat night has a more relaxed feel to it. we particularly liked portinax . a lovely little seaside town. with a pine clad beach on a bay we used this a couple of days taking a picnic with us. this is not a hotel for children there are no kids clubs. the majority of residents are over 50,s there was a large family of brits there with small children and while dave and barry et al drank beer left the kids constantly screeming at full voice. this was not the sound of happy children playing. note to barry n dave if your not prepared to entertain your kids pay for a kids club to do it . there is a free spa in the basement which we used on a cloudy day. all the staff were very friendly. it was my birthday while i was there and a lovley touch came when a knock on the door that evening and a waiter brought an ice bucket with a bottle of bubbly in it .from the staff. i guess emilia noticed this from my passport. i didnt get this treatment last year in a 5* in vegas. this is a lovley place to stay and we would definitley return..

Room Tip: rooms over pool has a sunny side and dull side. some seaviews are obscured by trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 5913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I agree with other reviewers that this hotel is spotlessly clean with fairly large bedrooms with good facilities and efficient air-con., and spacious terraces, many with a beautiful sea view. The service at reception and in the dining room is both efficient and friendly but this does not extend to the drinks service from the bar to the terrace and lounge where often there were long delays in being served. The evening buffet was very good with plenty of choice but I felt breakfast fell a bit short on the quality and choice of the hot foods. The pool area is most attractive with plenty of sunbeds and a secluded beach can be found about 500 metres away. The hotel is located in a quiet residential area of Santa Eulalia with approximately a 15 minutes walk to the centre. This can lead to a slight sense of isolation particularly since the adjacent Mango's Bar (that has recieved previously very good ratings) is currently closed down and is to re-open "soon" as Babylon Beach. Being kind, entertainment can only be described as poor ( the good news is that it only takes place on 3 nightys of the week). Despite the reservations mentioned, the overall standard of the hotel is very good.

Room Tip: Request a sea view on the second (i.e. top) floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bill I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

we have just arrived back from Grupotel Santa Eularia...had a fantastic time! we were looking for chill out, luxury, nice views and short walks into town and this hotel ticked all the boxes!
the staff where great, nothing was a problem and always happy to help.
food was great,loads of choice..so picky eaters will def find something to enjoy!
the room was spotless..modern and well air conditioned..well sized balcony over looking the pool was lovely.
after baking in the sun the hotels spa is a must..its pure luxury!

the walk into santa eularia took approx 10-15 mins at a slow pace,,gorgeous views..loads of bars, resturants..and shops-some containing the ovious tourist tat but some nice local shops too....buses are easy to get-they were in the centre of town behind the town hall. (really cheap too)
old ibiza town is a must..and the hippy market on a wednesday.
so thank-you gruphotel for making my first holiday a one to remember!!

Room Tip: your room was on the ground floor over looking the pool..it was fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Eulalia del Rio hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#14 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,727 reviews
1.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
#1 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catalonia Ses Estaques
Catalonia Ses Estaques
#6 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#2 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
913 reviews
0.6 mi away
Invisa Hotel La Cala
Invisa Hotel La Cala
#15 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
941 reviews
1.3 mi away
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites ...
#3 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel

Property: Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel
Address: Calle Pare Vicent Costa 16 | Illes Balears, 07840, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the sea and 800 m away from the beach. Rooms and Suites: Heating/ air-conditioning. Satellite TV. Minibar. Terrace. Suites have in addition living room. Spa & wellness center. Sport & Leisure: Swimming pool, children's pool. Table tennis. Billiard. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar with terrace and snack service. Services: Luggage storage. Swimming pool towels. Rental of bathrobes. Shop with handicrafts products. Medical service. Foreign exchange. Car rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grupotel Santa Eularia
Grupotel Santa Eulalia
Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing