We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appalling & Stressful!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropic Garden Aparthotel
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Appalling & Stressful!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I am astonished by the positive reviews regarding this hotel. Having stayed there in April I can honestly say we were disgusted by the way we were treated by the staff from management to the receptionist's. Basically all staff in the hotel are confrontational and downright rude. We specifically requested a room with a sea view and large balcony to be shunted off into a room overlooking a dirty road, above the noisy bar with a tiny balcony. When we queried this we were told that an additional 150.00 cash was required and as we booked through expedia our requests were not feasible or relevant! Apparently 'specific' requests can ONLY be made through Hotel Website...which I might add doesn't have the option to book what we required. This was the just beginning of a very stressful time with the hotel and its staff. Numerous complaints were made to reception as our toddler could not sleep with the evening disco going on directly below us - the glass lamps on the wall fell off twice and injured our child - eventually after 3 days of going up and down to reception to complain as they will not discuss anything over the phone we were moved to a much better room. We have never encountered such rude unhelpful and confrontational behaviour from hotel staff and the management were far worse.The hotel itself is fine although it is not 4* more 3 at a push but if you factor in the initial rooms we were staying in I would reduce it to 2 -If customer service was part of the grading of this hotel it would not even achieve 1 star - This is only a brief synopsis of what we encountered whilst staying at The Tropic Garden I actually could write a small book on it Please STAY AWAY from this hotel if you want a stress free holiday - Ibiza on the other hand is absolutely beautiful it just a shame we chose the wrong hotel and we based it on reviews from this site..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 591David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    748
    255
    74
    28
See reviews for
954
466
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
islamorada Fl
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Hotel is well located just on the outskirts of Santa Eulalia. I booked an efficiency. Some efficiency! I was traveling solo & that's all that's needed for ONE. When I think efficiency I think 1 room. WRONG! Very large & nicely appointed bath, giant bedroom w/ classic Spanish style 2 twins forming a king-balcony access, then a large room w/ kitchen, living & dining area! Kitchenette was extremely well appointed including large pitcher for you sangria lovers, toaster, coffee maker, dishes & flatware. Nice flat screen tv.Nice patio/balcony off living area. Beautiful pool overlooking Tagomago in the distance. Computer area, free wifi in the public areas, restaurants, bars, grocery across the street...pretty much everything. Front desk staff knowledgeable ,very friendly & welcoming. Room was spotlessly clean. My only complaints would be living room furnishings a bit utilitarian & lots of poorly behaved unsupervised children. On vacation doesn't mean trashing the lobby & climbing all over the furniture while the parents are lost in their wifi. Incredibly priced & I would most definitely stay again!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bronz1inthekeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Booked a cheap 3 night break hoping for sunshine. Sadly it was raining when we arrived and didn't stop until the day we came back. It didn't stop us having a fantastic break though. The hotel was great! The food was feshly cooked with plenty of choice. The sauna was wonderful and the gym had all the mod cons (a bit too energetic for us though). Local wine & beer was free with meals but the bar prices were ok outside those times were reasonable anyway. The staff were polite and friendly, they worked like a well oiled machine during meal times, clearing tables, re-filling the buffet and never once dropped anything!
We had a one bedroomed apartment with a small kitchenette area on the third floor, with a wonderful sea view. It overlooked the path to the sea's edge overlooking a small gated apartment community. The beds were clean and comfy with extra blankets and pillows if we needed them, we slept like babies and not once were we disturbed. The maid service was excellent. Clean towels and linen every day. We certainly had no complaints. The town is a short walk away and has everything you could ever want. The hotel is obviously aimed at families with children and there is always entertainment available for the little ones. Didn't see any adult entertainment, but as I said town with all its' bars and restaraunts, is only a leisurely stroll away.
All in all a perfect destination for a short break and hope to be back again in September (although I could be tempted to return even sooner, if another offer comes up)!

Room Tip: Most rooms seemed to have a reasonable view. All pool rooms do for sure, but I expect they'd be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skibunny2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here over Easter break.
Having read many positive and negative reviews online I went with an open mind. As I write this review all I can think is of the positive. The negatives I read about we're the location, the food, the staff and the cleanliness. The hotel is located on a small coastal cliff which you can walk down(6 feet) to access the rocky shore. The nearest beach is about 20 minutes pleasant walk away if you can learn the short cut which the staff will gladly tell you. The marina and restaurants at Santa Eulalia are about a 10 minute walk.
As for the food and cleanliness. If people had issues with these, based on what I saw, I'd love to see what they eat on a daily basis in their own homes and the level of cleanliness. The buffet was very good with many of the dishes changed each day. Wine and soft drinks were on tap with the meals.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. There were excellent entertainment staff who put on daily activities for children and the hotel has its own volleyball court, football pitch and tennis court.
If your looking for a hotel on a beach that serves the finest cuisine, this won't be for you. Try another hotel a few streets away for about three times the price! If your looking for a practical hotel where the children will have a ball and you can have a nice meal in clean surroundings at a good price, then enjoy your holiday!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank darkpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We are another couple who has returned from a 3 night AI trip (25-28 April) but we booked independently and got a great deal. The transfer from the airport in the heavy rain was around 40 minutes with one stop in Ibiza Town then next and final stop was Tropic Garden. The return journey was around 30 minutes early on Sunday morning and that was 30 minutes without stopping elsewhere. The staff at reception is excellent without exception they are very helpful always had time to speak to you and were very pleasant. The restaurant was quite large and airy, no air con required on our trip. There wasn’t many children in the hotel so meal times appeared to be a little less chaotic; I guess it would be different in the summer. The choice of meals was excellent. If you’re familiar to AI in Spain and I have stayed in 3 and 4* hotels it was the same format but the food was more definitely more 4* than 3 with the chef cooking fresh meats and fish at lunch and dinner. Dinner finishes at 21.45 and by that time all the food will have been removed and you will be expected to leave the restaurant shortly after; so if you’re on the last minute don’t be later than 20 minutes before closing, this applies at breakfast and lunch. They will even let you have a cold (continental) breakfast if your departure from the hotel is after 8am. Drinks are the usual for AI but if you’re not then they can be expensive 9.40 for a pint and a G&T.
The apartments are very clean and modern and have decent size and modern balcony. They are big enough for 2 adults and 2 children with all the usual s/c facilities which we did not use. There is a 32” TV with BBC 1 and 2. If you need to watch anything else then you can by using the large TV in the dedicated room on the ground floor. If you have an odd numbered room there is a good chance you will get a pool view, even numbers most will a side facing sea view or the suburbs. We had an even number and looked on to our Spanish neighbours! Towels are changed every day except Wednesdays and Sundays I think.
The entertainment wasn’t the best but I think they’re like everywhere else and trying to cut down on costs.
The main beach is in Santa Eulalia town which is turn left walk for 200 metres and turn right towards the 5* Agua De Ibiza turn left at that hotel and walk across the front until you come to the marina turn right and off you go follow the tiled promenade. It takes 15 minutes at a leisurely pace. If you’ve never been then Santa Eulalia is a lovely town it just about has everything; the only people who may be disappointed are older teenagers if they are into everything being very noisy.
I have been to Santa Eulalia on many occasions and have hired cars and used the buses, you can get around very easily. I only had one gripe and that was the free Wi-Fi was not up to the mark

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms will have pool views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 6112pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just got back from 4 nights at the Tropic Garden.Was pleasantly surprised with the hotel on a whole.All the staff were friendly,efficient at reception when booking in and helpful if you have any queries.Rooms spacious and warm and comfy.The food was of good quality,plenty of lovely meat and fish. The breakfast could have done with a little more choice of extras like fresh fruit salad,nuts and seeds.The only negative was in the evening, the entertainment area was full of noisy children even when their entertainment was finished,there was nowhere for adults to sit in pace so if this is not your cup of tea do not stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LYNDA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

a 3 night four day break, great flight times, 4 star hotel, sea view room, fabulous all inclusive breakfast and evening meal (best buffet style choice i've seen in a european hotel) free flowing wine and beer with meals, brilliant weather = £129 inclusive...need I say more

Room Tip: sea view rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Eulalia del Rio
1.4 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#4 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#12 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#2 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
#9 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
13.0 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
#2 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Orquidea
Aparthotel Orquidea
#24 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Garden Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Garden Aparthotel

Property: Tropic Garden Aparthotel
Address: C/ Pare Vicent Costa 10 | Urbanització Ca's Capità, 07840, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#30 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropic Garden Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropic Garden Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Garden Aparthotel Hotel
Tropic Garden Aparthotel Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing