We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty shabby . Definitely not 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropic Garden Aparthotel
Certificate of Excellence
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretty shabby . Definitely not 4 star”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked in for two nights in mid October and hoped to be able to relax and use the sports/indoor pool , sauna etc. After having stayed at the Serenis this place was a complete let down. The rooms are very basic but they are clean. The food is canteen style and tasteless, we paid all inclusive, but had one mouthful of evening meal and then ate out the remainder of the stay.. The pool and gym area is really shabby and sewage water had leaked in after some heavy rain so you can imagine the smell. The gym consists of a tatty old bike and a couple of machines. The sauna was well past it's date and smelt awful. Safe to say we will never return to this place.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GymBunniesBarnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    841
    280
    77
    31
See reviews for
1,098
535
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

As a couple, we spent 10 days at the Tropic Garden and it was our 3rd Ibiza holiday and by far the best. We chose the a
A.I. option and was not disappointed. The food was excellent, varied and well presented. We would normally eat out at least once just to get away from the same food usually served on A.I. holidays but this time it was so varied and enjoyable (even the desserts) that there was no need to go elsewhere. The accommodation was adequate, clean and comfortable although nothing special but how long do you want to spend in your room when on holiday? The only down-side was the entertainment which up to 9pm was great if you were a child (mini disco)! The adult entertainment was dire. Although there was something different each evening it mainly consisted of Abba/Grease type mime acts. Though the animation team work extremely hard almost every one we met were unhappy about this. We spent our evenings at other venues and had to pay for drinks etc which rather spoils the A.I. option. It was mentioned that the entertainment isnt quite as good at the end of the season but this was only mid September!
All in all though, we had an excellent holiday and would return to this hotel and to Ibiza with out doubt.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rubwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Country
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just returned from a week during October 1/2 term. This is one of the cheapest holidays we have had in a while and although the reviews were good, after seeing the article on Watchdog the week following regarding On The Beach (who we booked with), quite honestly we were expecting the worst.

We booked self catering, a one bedroom apartment. It was really good. The communal areas could do with a bit of sprucing up and like others have said it is not a luxury hotel but it is comfortable, very clean and our rooms were spacious. The balcony to our room was one of the biggest we have ever had though I can see that some were smaller. In addition, there were some very large ones which I guess are to the superior rooms.

The kitchen was well equipped with hob, toaster, kettle and micro. There was a table and chairs in the living area and a bed settee. We also had a slimline TV on the wall and was able to get BB1 and BB2 which was a bit of a bonus.

Maids came everyday apart from Sunday and Wednesday. There were extra sheets and pillows if needed.

Can't speak for the food as we were self catering. As far as we know there was entertainment on in the bar but we were not there so see it.

The reception staff were mostly helpful with the exception of one who was not exactly unhelpful but didn't go out of her way to help us one day when asking about buses.

It is approx. 10 minutes to the Marina where there are a few bars and restaurants and another 5 minute walk to the start of the promenade on which there is an array of eating and drinking places and to be honest, if you can't find what you want here, I have no ideas what you may be looking for. We sussed out the short cuts and walkways to get us there quicker.

We loved it even though it was the end of the season and some places had closed.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had a top floor apartment overlooking the street and so it was quiet as we did not overlook the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BlackC0untryC0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Visited here at the end of May, 1st week of June.
The hotel is gorgeous, the staff - very friendly and helpful.
The food was delicious, I put on so much weight after that holiday.
The dining area was spacious and the amount of food was varied.
Swimming pool was really good for the kids, had a shore effect - really good.
Close to shops and the beach. A walk into the town was lovely, seeing the different boats in the harbor was lovely.
The only bad thing about this hotel was the entertainment; don't get me wrong some of it was fine but on other occasions it was awful - I remember seeing the animation team practicing in the day, me thinking "gosh this is going to be a good show" then come the evening - the animation team were miming all of these songs and performances I just thought it was shockingly terrible and there really was no need to practice. Another night the girls of the animation team did a Moulin rouge dance, good for the blokes but I really did not enjoy watching the girls flaunt their stuff on stage while I'm sat there with my husband, dad, mum, sister & son... not very professional me thinks!!
there was an indoor pool and gym that guest could make use of, and also a spa room where you could get treatments done (we didn't) that was quite reasonably priced.
The rooms were really nice and spacious, and kept very clean.
We didn't ask for a cot in our room for our little boy as we thought he would have slept on the sofa but the hotel supplied one anyway which I thought was very nice and efficient.
There is a shop across the road from the hotel which was useful.
They is a children's park at the front of the hotel which was nice, nice to spend some time in there as well as the pool

All in all it was a brilliant holiday and the weather was very nice.

Hope to go back again.

Room Tip: Side view was nice and quiet with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AClarkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I travelled to Tropic Garden Hotel in Santa Eulalia in September. We were 2 couples. When we booked this hotel we requested rooms close to each other, high floor, with a sea view and we got all of these. We chose not to go all inclusive so we don’t know what the food was like here. We arrived at the hotel at about 9:30pm and we ventured out to find a restaurant it was a ten min walk to the marina where we found lots of restaurants and we ate here most nights. There was a supermarket just opposite the hotel so we stocked up on snacks, drinks, breast and dinner food and the rooms had everything you needed for self-catering, including a kettle and toaster. The pool was nice was always 4 beds somewhere for us to use at any time of the day. There was darts and table tennis tournaments going on each day too. Most days we walked down to the beach which is just around the marina, very nice beach calm water. If you walked a few streets up from the beach there were some really nice restaurants up there on a long strip. There were boat taxis from the marina to other parts of the island they were about 15e per person, getting a taxi most places was cheaper only 7e in a taxi from the hotel to the hippy market in es cana which was another nice resort worth a trip.
All in all the resort is very quiet and didn’t have any disco bars most bars shut for 12pm very much a place to sit back and relax, and thast exactly what we did for 10days really enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank katiee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Just one point the entertainment. There was not much for adult in the evening like disco but to be fair entertainment for kids was excellent. my son have learned and have enjoyed playing table tennis. He was just disapponted with the shooting which we didn't realize it was only for adult as what the animation team member has said. well done to antonio and david and the two ladies..

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mervingasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A great stay for what we paid, £200 for 1 week stay s/c. We were put on the second floor, but Ideally we would have preferred the top floor as the noise from furniture being moved is very loud. A very clean apartment with all you would expect from a four star. The only bad point was the bed itself - very uncomfortable. Good amenities, average service but poor children's entertainers. The female staff mostly concentrate on 5-10 year old girls as that's the easier age group to entertain. Our children 2 and 4 along with most others in that category were totally ignored. A girl named ella (total attention seeker) was one of the favourites and managed to get on stage most nights with some form of reward! Shouldn't be happening and I hope management might look at this in future.

All in all a good place to go for what you pay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarahgillhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Eulalia del Rio
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#13 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#2 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
863 reviews
1.4 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#6 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
#3 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
1,926 reviews
1.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
#1 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Orquidea
Aparthotel Orquidea
#11 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Garden Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Garden Aparthotel

Property: Tropic Garden Aparthotel
Address: C/ Pare Vicent Costa 10 | Urbanització Ca's Capità, 07840, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#30 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropic Garden Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tropic Garden Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Garden Aparthotel Hotel
Tropic Garden Aparthotel Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing