We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to return to.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Catalonia Ses Estaques
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to return to.”
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We have just returned from our 6th holiday at Ses Estaques , and would never go anywhere else. The hotel is in a lovely part of Ibiza, and with the exception of younsters roaring around on motorbikes ,it is a nice, quiet area. All of the staff are very helpful and friendly, and will go to any lengths to please the guests.
There is a wide selection of food, enough to please everyone , the only problem being that it is very tempting to eat too much !!
The entertainment is very good, and when staying for two weeks, although some of the entertainers will be the same, their acts are different. One year, we stayed for three weeks, and expected to a repetition of the first week, but although some was the same, other days were different.
The manager, Senor Edes, is often seen walking around the hotel, making sure that everythng is just so, and will do everything to please. Isabella, the head receptionist, is such a lovely lady, who is never without a smile, and always waves the guests off when they are leaving, which is something that I have never seen before.
We always stay in the same room, and therefore have the same chambermaid, who, although she understands very little English, is so nice, and always singing.and always remembers us.
The staff seem to be the same, year after year, which must indicate that it is a nice place to work, which certainly shows.
I can't wait to return again next year, and would certainly reccomend it to anyone

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrissyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    424
    116
    36
    7
See reviews for
134
1,260
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

We booked last minute without checking trip advisor and we're glad we did or we'd have missed out on one of the best holidays we've had ! The reviews we've read since our return would have put us off booking at all , but our experience was that this is a friendly hotel in a lovely location.The rooms are clean and everything works .O.K. so maybe it's not the most modern hotel in the world,but if you want to sit in your room for a week, then go somewhere else. It caters for British tastes so the food is not for gourmets who like to experiment with local cuisine, but there are more local flavours in the a la carte restaurant. Buffet service at breakfast and dinner in the main restaurant with a good range of food , well cooked and presented.You would have to be a really fussy eater if you couldn't eat well here.The wine list is affordable , presented by the charming and handsome Oriol.We found the drinks prices were not too bad and enjoyed to the full the nightly entertainment in the main lounge.The pool and gardens are pleasant and the location is wonderful, right on the edge of the sea. A short walk takes you to the marina and town , well laid out and with plenty of cafes and bars.A fine promenade with a Blue Flag beach completes the picture.Recommended is the El Corsario cafe for wonderful lunches and possibly the best coffee anywhere.( right on the marina) What made the holiday so special was the effort put in by all the staff to ensure we had a good time.Where else would the head receptionist ( ever- smiling Isobel ) stand in the rain to wave you good-bye at the end of your stay ? The icing on the cake were the tour operators hosts Charlie ( Charlotte ) and Mark who really cared about the guests and made everyone feel welcome.This is a hotel we would heartily recommend and not just for oldies like us ( although it is a child free hotel if they are under 16 ) If you want laid-back and being well looked after then give this place a try. I don't think you will be disappointed- we weren't and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwanseaDaytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedge End, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

The hotel is always spotless and the food very good and the staff are very attentive to your every need. There are always spare sunbeds regardless of time of day and regardless of other comments it is only a 10 min walk to the nearest supermarket.
You cannot compare the price of the drinks unless you go to the same rating hotel, bars are always cheaper. We have been to this hotel 8 times and cannot fault it.
The entertainment is not to everyones taste, but is typical of a Gold hotel so if you dont want entertainment dont go there
Satilfied from Southampton

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank albir001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

my husband & I have just come back from our latest trip to ses estaques and it was even better than we remembered. We had a wonderful holiday, the staff are so helpful and will do anything to make your holiday a pleasant experience. Ok maybe the hotel is a little 'tired' but we think this adds to it's old world charm, it puts us in mind of a Miss Marple film!! I do wonder what some people find to complain about all the time, perhaps there ought to be an ability graph in the holiday brochure so they don't have the misfortune of mixing with people who, God forbid, may be over 50 and are therefore incapable of manoeuvering themselves around unaided and are unable to hold an intelligent conversation!! Personally I'm glad they don't want to return, from what I've seen of their ilk they hardly put themselves out to be friendly to other guests!! Your loss!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandraStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk England
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

If I'd wanted organised daily entertainment I would have gone to somewhere like Butlins. However in the Hotel Catalonia it was unavoidable. From 11 in the morning the rep was urging us through a very loud microphone to join in with French boules,shuttleboard, aquasize classes and always the bloody awful quiz. It was bad enough when you were outside but when the weather was bad and everyone was in the tiny lounge there was no escape. There are no quiet areas inside this hotel other than your room. You can only change your pool towels twice a week which is unacceptable for a gold hotel. When I did ask for a replacement one day as mine had got wet in the rain I thought the receptionist was going to put me up against a wall and shoot me!! The hotel badly need a refit and the food was not up to a gold standard. However many people go back year after year . They look after the elderly and less mobile very well, but I'm afraid I will not be making a return journey.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manathu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Firstly I should say that we were almost positive we would not like this hotel. After much research we had booked the La Cala (3rd most popular on tripadvisor) but were later advised by Thomsons that they had dropped that hotel and we had been moved to the Ses Estaques (29th most popular). How wrong we were!
We loved every minute of our holiday and were very impressed by the hotel and with the Thomson Gold brand.
The rooms were spacious and were kept spotlessly clean with daily towel change and the sheets changed every few days. The minibar prices were very reasonable.
The food was very good, in particular the salad bar, dessert bar and cheese counter had an excellent selection. We are vegetarian and were well catered for - those who are not had a vast choice of main course dishes. One night each week you can eat at the al la carte restaurant Ses Savines which is on the hotels little beach area - this was lovely. We found the hotels drinks to be reasonably priced and the choice of wines was very good.
The hotel staff, Thomson reps and the entertainment staff were very friendly and helpful. Most people at the hotel were aged 65+ and a lot of them seemed to spend most of their holiday at the hotel which had plenty of activities to keep them entertained. I would have thought that having 2 reps there all day every day would be very reassuring if you were quite old or infirm. We watched the evening entertainment for 2 nights of our holiday (the first time we have ever done this) and were amazed at the high standard. We also went on an enjoyable walk to Cala LLonga with Margaret the local expert.
We hired a car for the full 2 weeks of our holiday and tended to leave the hotel at 10 each day and not return until 4 at the earliest so didnt spend any time at all round the pool, but the area in front of the hotel where the sunbeds are looked nice and there were still plenty of free beds each day at 10. A few days when we got back to the hotel we used the sunbeds next to Ses Savines - very few people seemed to use this area and it was very nice and relaxing lying there.
This hotel was in an ideal spot for car hire - plenty of car parking and easy access to the roads leading to every corner of the island. I couldn't imagine not hiring a car on Ibiza there are such lovely little bays, coves and villages to visit and it was nice to nip across to the other side of the island to watch the sunsets in San Antonio. Having said that this is one of the few hotels I have stayed in where I would consider a more 'hotel based' holiday - maybe when we are a bit nearer to the age of most of the other guests!
All in all a lovely hotel with lots of special touches - I can't understand why it is rated so low on tripadvisor - maybe because most of the very satisfied guests are of a generation which don't use the internet?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SymiSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Have just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel. We had 2 glorious weeks of sunshine although the 2nd week was thankfully a little cooler. We had asked for 2 rooms close together when booking holiday, and this request was met. Unfortunately one of the rooms was next to a lift which was noisy when in use (quite regularly). We asked to move from this room and this was dealt with efficiently and quickly - excellent service. The food was very good with a wide range of choice and the restaurant staff where friendly. At 41 I did feel quite young in comparison to the majority of people staying at hotel but I preferred this to having children hogging the pool and screaming ! Used the pool and hot tubs on a number of occasions - neither were ever that busy. There were numerous activities arranged throughout the day and shows in the evening. Margaret does a walk from hotel on a Thursday morning and we went to Cala Llonga with her - it was really worth the walk even in the scorching heat !
We made quite a few trips by ourselves - the cost of the organsied trips is a rip off - we walked to Es Cana and the Hippy Market, which took just over an hour. Caught the bus back first time and then the following week had a taxi . We took buses to Ibiza town both in the day and night with minimal problems ( in the daytime you might need to sharpen your elbows as locals don't know how to queue) but evening was no problem. Well worth walking up to the top of the old town - the view is fabulous.
The town of Santa Eulalia is very close to hotel, with a lovely harbour walk. Found drinks and eating out expensive. Hippy Market is well worth a visit, but again the prices are not cheap.
Some people were putting towels on loungers at 7.30am and then diappearing for hours but the majority of the time we went just the other side of hotel ( a few minutes walk) and there was ample loungers which you could place under the shade of the trees.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhonddaRebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Eulalia del Rio
0.1 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#2 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
889 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#13 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,665 reviews
1.5 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#4 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites ...
#6 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
747 reviews
1.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
#1 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
234 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#3 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Ses Estaques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Ses Estaques

Property: Catalonia Ses Estaques
Address: Cala Ses Estaques, 07840, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Ses Estaques 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel located on the seafront near Santa Eularia des Riu , one of the largest, most beautiful towns of Ibiza, just 16 kilometres from the capital. In Santa Eularia des Riu you will find excellent restaurants and beaches, renowned for their beauty and tranquility. Catalonia Ses Estaques is situated in a luxuriant pine forest and enjoys fantastic views over the marina and the town centre. Guests can enjoy a wealth of facilities including a superb terrace with garden, swimming-pool, bar, solarium and two Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Catalonia Ses Estaques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Ses Estaques Hotel
Hotel Ses Estaques
Catalonia Ses Estaques Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing