We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Staff, Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Catalonia Ses Estaques
Certificate of Excellence
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stunning Staff, Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

An excellent Hotel as far as the staff and service are concerned. Slighty "tired" in some areas but all in all the attitiude, friendliness and caring approach of the Hotel staff make up for this. Entertainment during the day was slightly repetative and maybe not really the type of thing we would have expected at a Thomson Gold site. The day time team although both very pleasant appeared very in-experienced, they were working with equipment which often failed and their programme of events would have been more suited to a Butlins Holiday Camp in the 1980's. The Thomson Production team were commendable but the other acts were atrocious with the exception of the Drifters tribute and one very funny comedian / magician / ventriloquist. The location of the Hotel is difficult to beat in the resort. As per many of the previous reviews it is obvious tjhat the "returners" do seem to get a slight level of preferrential treatment although we are convinced that this is not in any way meant to reflect on the treatment of other "first time" guests. It must be said that the restaurent team, the bar staff and the housekeeping staff are a credit to the Hotel. The Thomson reps are present through the day and are always willing to assist with ant issues.The food whilst plentiful and varied caters for the British taste far too much, roast dinner in 30 degree plus temps ???. The salads were very good but lacked sometime a main ingredient like fish or decent custs of meat. All in all not too bad a place if you are over 50, can bear the constant reference to Thomson Gold Points and the incredibly unimaginative competition prizes. We will return, however not for a 14 days stay, and maybe not in the next 5-10 years.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior pool view room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Madam and Sir,
We would like to thank you for writing your opinion about your recent stay at Catalonia Ses Estaques, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

We really appreciate your positive review, it's a pleasure to know that you had a good time here with us and you will keep a good memory of Ibiza and our Hotel.
We are happy to know through your comments that you are already thinking of returning to visit us again in the future although we hope it won't take 5-10 years time. Anyway we will look forward to receive you again with pleasure.

Best regards,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    382
    100
    30
    3
See reviews for
120
1,147
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was our first time to this resort and have to say it was delightful. A fabulous marina and location. The hotel staff couldn't do enough and the Thomson team were so helpful.

The food quality was superb and if anyone complains about this, they obviously have a private chef at home!

Entertainment was extremely varied and if we didn't like something, we knew the next night would probably be something we did enjoy so well done Thomson for the variety here. Resident duo Obsession certainly had their work cut out as the audience are so far away and it was hard to get a party atmosphere because of this. However 10/10 for their variation of music which ranged from easy listening to Lady GaGa,,,,,loved Baker Street and played by a lady! Well done!! Could see them in a 5* hotel ,,very professional. Likewise the shows were of a high standard and varied content. Great comedian the week we were there.

We were not around in the day much so didn't get involved in this but know there was a full programme on if you wanted it

The only negative is that some of the rooms could be updated but this didn't spoil our holiday in any way. We will definitely return to this hotel.

There are some great bars and restaurants in the resort and its such a lovely stroll around the marina. Enjoyed some of the cocktails on offer!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your vacation at Ses Estaques and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed it. Lucky to have you as our Guests in the Hotel, we are encouraged by your kind words which will push us to improve even more day by day.

We are enchanted to know through your comments that you are already thinking of returning to visit us again in the future. We shall try the utmost to fulfill your expectations.

Always at your service,
Giancarlo Dell´Erba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was a really lovely hotel in an idyllic location, far enough from the town to give a slight sense of isolation but near enough to walk in 10 minutes. The staff were fabulous , very friendly and helpful and made you feel right at home without being overbearing . I will admit that the hotel at first seemed more suited to older couples however it is all down to your own attitude and the mix of ages from a few in their 20's through all the age groups. If we were to return to Ibiza I would not hesitate booking this hotel again. I did however think it a little petty charging for the sunbed mattresses of which there was a limited number so if you weren't quick enough the sunbeds became a little uncomfortable by the afternoon. Overall though we were impressed with most aspects of the hotel .

Room Tip: You can request a room overlooking the pool , if you don't mind the entertainment which goes on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Madam and Sir,
We would like to thank you for writing your opinion about your recent stay at Catalonia Ses Estaques, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
We really appreciate your positive review, it's a pleasure to know that you had a good time here with us and you will keep a good memory of Ibiza and our Hotel.
We are enchanted to know through your comments that you are already thinking of returning to visit us again in the future. We shall try the utmost to fulfill your expectations.

Best regards,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

BEST THINGS - the hotel itself, the staff, location
WORST THING - Towels on the sun beds at dawn!

As a 40 something couple with 20 and 17 year old 'children' in tow this was a very interesting holiday experience. We have only ever holidayed at 3 star family oriented hotels and this has been written with that in mind.

We had a night flight :/ and arrived about 2am local time. The night receptionist was very polite and explained everything to us carefully. It soon became apparent that we had been allocated 2 rooms on separate floors. We had requested adjoining rooms when booking at our local First Choice shop and this was purely a fault with them as they had not passed on the request. Next day the lovely, smiling Maria from the hotel staff pulled out all the stops to find us rooms close together on the same floor. The service at Ses Estaques was outstanding at all times everywhere throughout the hotel.

This is an English dominated hotel, in our 10 days there I heard only one Polish and one Spanish couple speaking. Ses Estaques is a 16+ only hotel but most of the guests are 50+/60+ couples and we felt a little out of place. Our children in particular felt very conspicuous. Later in the holiday a few younger couples in their twenties arrived.
The entertainment was aimed at the older generation and was not really appropriate for our children, with the exception of a very funny comedian. The entertainment is provided by Thompson not the hotel and is of an exceptional quality. The Thompson entertainment team are very talented vocally. The holiday reps are friendly and helpful and Cassie and Harley work very hard providing entertainment/games throughout the day, we particularly enjoyed the quizzes, pick of the six, and the "sparkly hat of happiness"
Our rooms were pleasant and the views were excellent. The furniture did have a few knocks here and there but certainly in our rooms it was not bad and I did not find it outdated. I was pleasantly surprised after reading some of the previous reviews and have to say they were the nicest room we have stayed in abroad. The aircon was quiet and efficient. The bathroom was adequate for our needs, though room 207 was larger and better than 219.
The hotel as all have said is in a lovely location next to the beach and marina. I do think more could be made of the beach it was a little unkempt, ship in some sand and it would be perfect! However I do not know whether the beach is owned by the hotel or not. The pool was smaller than I expected but it was not crowded at any time. There are definitely not enough sun beds by the pool and far too many chairs and tables. There is a towel/sunbed war every morning! Sadly we had to join in or lose out. I feel this should be curbed by the hotel as some were unused for parts of the day but the towels stayed. The hot tubs were a lovely touch and the pool bar was well used and had plenty of choice.
3 out of 4 of us are veggies and though vegetarian food was available the CHOICE was VERY POOR, even the salads were laden with tuna. Contrary to popular belief vegetarians don't eat fish. That said there was always something to eat which was very nice and we did not starve. The choice for meat eaters was varied and astounding, though Spanish food was sparse. The breakfast was best by far and I had a cooked breakfast every morning. I am missing the scrambled eggs, beans, tomatoes and fried bread, fruit..............................
Would we go back? Yes definitely but not with the children.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms have to contend with very loud evening entertainment noise. However this is normally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your vacation at Ses Estaques and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed it. Lucky to have you as our Guests in the Hotel, we are encouraged by your kind words which will push us to improve even more day by day.

We are enchanted to know through your comments that you are already thinking of returning to visit us again in the future. We shall try the utmost to fulfill your expectations.

Always at your service,
Giancarlo Dell´Erba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just returned from a lovely relaxing holiday at this hotel. I have read a few negative comments about this hotel, but don't let this put you off in any way.
Yes the hotel is a Thomson Gold..and has visitors of a certain age? But the older generation know what they like and some have been coming here for years.
The hotel was very clean, staff very friendly and helpful. Food was nicely presented and hot! (being a chef its a one of my biggest gripes:)) It is in an ideal location at the end of the 'prom' right next to the marina. It is great to walk out at night and walk the calories off.. around the marina and do a bit of people watching in the many bars around the marina or in Santa Eulalia itself.
I have only one little comment..nothing too bad..the hotel was built in the 60's, and still looks great, but the furniture in the rooms could do with a little updating, clean but a little old fashioned.
Marks out of 10.....I'd give it a 9:)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TillyFlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Madam and Sir,
We would like to thank you for writing your opinion about your recent stay at Catalonia Ses Estaques, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
We really appreciate your positive review, it's a pleasure to know that you had a good time here with us and you will keep a good memory of Ibiza and our Hotel. As well, as Service quality is our major concern in the Hotel, we really do appreciate any comment that helps us to improve our service standards; we will make treasure of it.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.

Best regards,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

As stated in previous reviews the staff in all departments of the hotel were very friendly and had a genuine desire to be helpful.However,having paid a supplement for a partial sea view room we were very disappointed with the view over the kitchen.It seems that most rooms had the disadvantage of poor outlook or of late night noise from the entertainment.On the plus side our room was kept immaculately clean by our excellent chambermaid.The food was standard fare but of a good quality.We received excellent service from the waiting staff both in the dining room and at the poolside bar.The evening entertainment varied considerably but the Thomson entertainment team were truly excellent, very professional and talented with bright futures ahead of them. The sun lounger situation needs to be addressed as a holiday day should not have to begin at 6.30 am. When on holiday one tries to put the disadvantages to one side and to make the most of it and for that reason we enjoyed our stay at this hotel but there were irritating issues which the management needs to take a serious look at.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Wil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Madam and Sir,

We would like to thank you for writing your opinion about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you as our Guests in the Hotel and your kind words only encourages us to try to improve day by day. Still I would like to underline your low punctuation (3 dots out of 5) which doesn't really put the disadvantages to one side as you said and more, I don't really understand of which contrast are you referring to.
We are very sorry not to have covered your expectations regarding the incident related with the sunbeds. As you will surely understand we cannot teach the "education" to all Guests and although there are signs specifying the rules for the beds.
Anyway the Hotel counts with 330 sunbeds spread in the property area which means that there is availability for every Person.

Please be aware that I have taken notice of it and I shall try to amend the above; as for us, our most important achievement is to fulfill your expectations.

Forgive us once more, for not making your holiday as enjoyable as expected and we hope that this does not stop you from coming over to see us again in the future.


We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.

Best regards,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just returned from our sixth visit to this hotel and this was our best stay yet the staff are so friendly the food is excellent, the bar staff work extremely hard in such hot temperatures always
pleasant and friendly Diana in the restaurant was always smiling and helpful as were ALL the staff at this hotel. Cassie and Harley were always great fun even though they took a lot of stick from Stuart from room 206. The entertainment was a bit hit and miss but you can't please everyone. The only suggestion I have is that they at least update curtain's and bedding this would be a great improvement to the room's.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your vacation at Ses Estaques and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed it.

Service quality is our major concern in the Hotel so we really do appreciate any comment that helps us to improve our service standards.

Starting with myself and all my Colleagues we are delighted to have you back in our premises again this year for your sixth time and we hope to see you in the close future, being at your service and try once more to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours Faithfully,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Eulalia del Rio
0.9 mi away
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites ...
#3 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#2 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
1.5 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#4 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#13 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
1.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
#9 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Es Vive
Hotel Es Vive
#1 of 50 in Ibiza Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Ses Estaques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Ses Estaques

Property: Catalonia Ses Estaques
Address: Cala Ses Estaques, 07840, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Ses Estaques 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel located on the seafront near Santa Eularia des Riu , one of the largest, most beautiful towns of Ibiza, just 16 kilometres from the capital. In Santa Eularia des Riu you will find excellent restaurants and beaches, renowned for their beauty and tranquility. Catalonia Ses Estaques is situated in a luxuriant pine forest and enjoys fantastic views over the marina and the town centre. Guests can enjoy a wealth of facilities including a superb terrace with garden, swimming-pool, bar, solarium and two Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Catalonia Ses Estaques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Ses Estaques Hotel
Hotel Ses Estaques
Catalonia Ses Estaques Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing