We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned after 36 years to our honeymoon hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Catalonia Ses Estaques
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We hadn't been back fearing Ibiza was for stag and hen parties, how wrong we were. This hotel is perfectly situated on the quieter side. The location is superb with beautiful views overlooking crystal clear seas. The hotel itself is excellent. Clean, friendly and the buffet restaurant was exceptional. It far exceeded our expectations. During our stay of a week, we were entitled to visit the A La Carte restaurant, which we did. We were expecting a lot better, but got a Table D'Hote menu, which was okay, but could not compare with fhe buffet available in the hotel so I would not bother next time. This was one of our best holidays, and we have travelled exfensively. We wonder we bothered when we have this beautiful hotel and island, just over two hours away. Would definitely recommend this hotel, and we will be returning next year. It is an adult only hotel, and now that our family are grown up, it was lovely and peaceful not having children running around. Booked with Thomsons, and very impressed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool if you want sun in the afternoon, and want to sit on your balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernadette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your vacation at Catalonia Ses Estaques and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed it.

Starting with myself and all my Colleagues we are delighted to have you back in the "Family" again this year and we hope to see you in the close future ( please don't wait another 36 years :) ), being at your service and try once more to exceed your highest expectations.

Yours Faithfully,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,378 - 1,384 of 1,846 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

Catalonia Ses Estaques is situated in a privileged waterfront position some 500+ metres east of Santa Eulalia town centre and adjacent to a large marina and boatyard. The town shops and restaurants etc (apart from those in the marina itself) are a 15-20 minute stroll along a recently built attractive, wide and level esplanade.

The hotel itself is of fairly modern construction rising to five floors with most rooms having a balcony and side sea view. West facing rooms look out over the marina and town, east facing the ‘beach’ and seascape etc. Children are not allowed.

We stayed for the first week in May on a half board basis in a 5th floor ‘superior’ room (better furnished + bottle of wine, bowl of fruit and water upon arrival & use of room safe – all for £56 surcharge) facing west.

The hotel is very well appointed with exceptionally well trained, friendly and attentive staff and excellent food. Rooms are well presented, generously sized and very clean. The average age of guests during our stay was approx. 70-75 years. Thomson class this as a ‘Gold’ hotel.

Entertainment is provided during the day by Thomson rep’s (Quoits, Bouille, skittles etc.) with various cabaret style artists at night. We did not partake, but it seemed very popular.

Breakfasts and dinners are truly excellent with a plentiful and vast range of food available. You would really struggle not to find something to enjoy.

There is a fair amount of noise intrusion between the hours of 10am & 7pm from the adjacent boat yard for guests staying in west facing rooms. The yard is very active sanding, spraying, jet washing and moving boats. Not unbearable but you may wish to request an east facing room – quieter but less sunny!

Would we go back? ...... Yes definitely.

Room Tip: Due to noise from the adjacent boatyard East facing rooms are quieter during the day - but less sunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandidReviewer444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Madam and Sir,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your vacation at Ses Estaques and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed it. Lucky to have you as our Guests in the Hotel, we are encouraged by your kind words which will push us to improve even more day by day.

We are enchanted to know through your comments that you are already thinking of returning to visit us again in the future. We shall try the utmost to fulfill your expectations.

Always at your service,
Giancarlo Dell´Erba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just returned from a short week break which was perfect. The hotel had recently been updated and was fresh and clean as would be expected. The facilities are good with excellent buffet food offering a wide variety to suit everyone. What really made the difference is the truely positive attitude and friendly nature of all the staff; not one single sour-puss! If you want a relaxing holiday with friendly and attentive staff, this is it.

P.S. Just one very minor suggestion. They do need to get more than one CD for music around the pool during the day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MakingWaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your vacation at Ses Estaques and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed it.

We particularly appreciate your words about the Staff. This makes us feeling proud of the pleasant effort we put every day in our job.
Starting with myself and all my Colleagues we are delighted to have met your expectations and we really hope to see you in the close future, being at your service once more.

Yours Sincerely,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I have just had a great holiday at this hotel, this was our first visit but wont be the last. The position, layout, food and staff were all excellent and had first class access for strolling into town or walking round the coast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Madam and Sir,

We would like to thank you for writing your opinion about your recent stay at Catalonia Ses Estaques, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
We really appreciate your positive review, it's a pleasure to know that you had a good time here with us and you will keep a good memory of Ibiza and our Hotel.

We are enchanted to know through your comments that you are already thinking of returning to visit us again in the future. We shall try the utmost to fulfill your expectations.

Best regards,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was the first time that we have ever returned to a hotel. Always a gamble, but it did not disappoint. Check in with Isabel was smooth and easy. Our luggage had been taken to our room as we completed the check in process. Very impressive! The staff were easily recognisable which gave us great confidence that we would enjoy our second stay as much as our first. The room was clean and well-maintained. Beds were comfortable, and the heavily-lined curtains prevented the brilliant Ibiza sun from waking us too early. Fresh fruit and a bottle of delicious Rioja ready upon arrival. Views were stunning. The manager and Isabel were both very visible during the day. The new decor in the lounge bar was very classy; we approved. I hesitate to say but the only negative comment would be in respect of Thomson. They added no value to our holiday. The new reps were rather disinterested and aloof, and had no rapport. The entertainment team were both junior staff and spoke not a single word of Spanish - they couldn't even ask for a drink. One of them was particularly disrespectful to the waiters. In such a popular hotel, Thomson should place their most experienced employees who place customer service above all else. Thankfully the hotel was perfect in every way and we shall return, but we are tempted to book direct.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ta323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Madam and Sir,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your vacation at Ses Estaques and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed it. Lucky to have you as our Guests in the Hotel, we are encouraged by your kind words to make it better.

We truly regret not having been able to fulfill all your expectations and as Thomson Reps are part of our Team, I shall try to amend the inconveniences experienced as for us, our most important achievement is to fulfill your expectations.

We are delighted to know that you had such a great time with us and that you are already planning on returning to our Hotel again in the future.


Yours faithfully,
Giancarlo Dell´Erba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

what a welcome change from the larger hotels my wife and I have visited over many years of going abroad.staff excellent,hotel clean and tidy situated in a beautiful location ,food very good ,we have never visited same hotel twice in the past,but would probably make a return here. DAVE&PAM south wales

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dave w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Madam and Sir,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your vacation at Ses Estaques and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed it.
Your words are enchanting and give us more strength and motivation to improve our Customer care.

We are delighted to know that you had such a great time with us and that you are considering the chance on returning to our Hotel again in the future. We are looking forward to meet you again.

Yours Faithfully,
Giancarlo Dell'Erba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We are in our mid 70s and have just had a wonderful holiday at the hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is in a lovely position with a beautiful view of the sea from our room on the 4th floor. The buffet every breakfast and dinner was very varied and always of excellent quality. This was our third visit and we would not hesitate to go again.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms overlooking the entrance to the hotel then you have a good view of the little bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Madam and Sir,

We would like to thank you for sharing in tripadvisor your holiday experience at Ses Estaques, as your opinion is highly appreciated for us.

We are delighted to know that you had such a great time in this third visit and happy to know that you are already planning on returning to our Hotel in the future.

We are very happy to read such positive comments from your review, as these will only encourage improving even more day by day.

Yours Sincerely,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Eulalia del Rio hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#13 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#1 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
963 reviews
0.0 mi away
Catalonia Royal Ses Savines
Catalonia Royal Ses Savines
#11 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Santa Eulalia
Iberostar Santa Eulalia
#3 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel
Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel
#10 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
800 reviews
0.9 mi away
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites ...
#4 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Ses Estaques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Ses Estaques

Address: Cala Ses Estaques, 07840, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range: $163 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Ses Estaques 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel located on the seafront near Santa Eularia des Riu , one of the largest, most beautiful towns of Ibiza, just 16 kilometres from the capital. In Santa Eularia des Riu you will find excellent restaurants and beaches, renowned for their beauty and tranquility. Catalonia Ses Estaques is situated in a luxuriant pine forest and enjoys fantastic views over the marina and the town centre. Guests can enjoy a wealth of facilities including a superb terrace with garden, swimming-pool, bar, solarium and two Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Catalonia Ses Estaques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Ses Estaques Hotel
Hotel Ses Estaques
Catalonia Ses Estaques Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing