We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, location excellent, staff very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Catalonia Ses Estaques
West Wickham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Good hotel, location excellent, staff very good”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Ses Estaques in late September/early October. This was the eleventh time we had been to Santa Eulalia but the first time at this hotel.

The hotel is in an excellent location - albeit without a proper beach as the shoreline is rocky. However, if it's a beach that you want the main one in Santa Eulalia is about 10 minutes walk away. There are plenty of sunbeds for everyone [the hotel has a good arrangement to prevent the "German syndrome" on unreasonable "capturing" of sunbeds], the pool is good and spotlessly clean with a couple of jacuzzis a few yards away.

Staff at the hotel are exceptional. We have always stayed in a much smaller hotel in the past where you aren't just a "number" and we feared that in this larger establishment would be very impersonal - but that did not turn out to be the case. All staff from reception, waiters/waitresses and chambermaids were friendly, personable, always smiling and very accommodating. Mr Edu, the retiring manager, was very visible, very personable and willing to listen to guests' views. His successor is also personable and seemed to understand the maxim "if it ain't bust don't mend it" so, hopefully, he will not want to change too much in the way the hotel is run.

It is true that most of the guests were of a "certain age" (mostly in their 60s) but it certainly wasn't like a "residential home in the sun" as reported by a previous reviewer. Guests are almost exclsuively from the UK. There are no children in the hotel. Neither did we find drinks expensive [previously commented upon by another reviewer] - eg a perfectly acceptable bottle of table wine cost just €11, an Americano coffee €1.80, a large beer €2.70.

There are daytime games and puzzles [the latter in particular was a feature enjoyed by many of the guests] organised by Thomsons staff but, as reported by a previous reviewer, none of it is "in your face", is not intrusive and you can take it or leave it.

The quality of the evening entertainment varied greatly; the resident duo (warm up act) were poor (the male performer was OK but the female singer [I use the term "singer" advisedly!] managed to murder more than her fair share of tunes and she seemed pretty "dippy" to us [and many other residents]). The quality of the main acts (starting at 10pm each evening) varied quite a bit with some very good (eg Sean of the Debonairs) and others nearly as bad as the resident duo.

Our room was perfectly clean, tidy and very acceptable - albeit not as modern as some hotels we have stayed in. Each room has a pleasant balcony available. Beds are very comfortable and rooms are air-conditioned. There is a hairdryer in the rooms but no coffee/tea making facilities unless you are in a superior room. There is an ironing room available and laundry service.

Rooms on the pool side of the hotel (which get the sun in the afternoon and evening) have a good view of the sea, the marina and the boatyard [the latter not being overly attractive!] but also get the noise from the evening entertainment until midnight (though they also have the advantage that you can sit on your balcony and watch the entertainment if you wish); those rooms have larger bathrooms than on the "quiet side" of the hotel but only half of the wardrobe space provided in the latter - so, if you are taking quite a few clothes you would be hard pressed to find enough storage/hanging space. Rooms on the third and fourth floors provide better views on both sides of the hotel. So, in terms of room selection, it's really a question of what suits you best. On that score, if you contact Monica at the hotel a couple of weeks before you arrive, and say which rooms you would prefer, she does her very best to accommodate you.

The hotel provide towels, free of charge, for the pool side (indeed they insist on you using them to ensure that "interlopers" don't use the sunbeds).

Food is good - all served on a buffet basis. I was surprised by the comment from a previous reviewer regarding the supposed lack of choice - something we certainly did not find. Breakfast is excellent with a wide range of fruit, cold meats, cereals and cooked food. At dinner, there is a full range of salads and about 8 choices of hot food. That said, inevitably the food became a bit "samey" in style during a two week stay so it was good that the opportunity was provided to eat an å la carte meal (free of charge) at the excellent Ses Savines" restaurant (100 yards away with a beautiful outlook) once a week. And if that is not enough, then there are many, many, very good restaurants in Santa Eulalia if you want an evening out.

Santa Eulalia itself is a very pleasant place indeed. It is of a good size, with a very pleasant promenade, sandy beach, ferries to Ibiza Town, Es Cana etc (though those fares have now become rather expensive) and no discos, clubs or the "kiss me quick" hats often associated with Ibiza. There is an excellent bus service to all parts of the island from Santa Eulalia and fares are cheap.

If perchance, you haven't booked a full package tour via Thomsons (eg you may have booked the room through them but not the flights [as we did]) you will need to make your own transfer arrangements from the airport; a taxi costs about €30 (one way) - so don't book one via Thomsons who quoted me £120 return! By the way, whilst Thomsons have the vast majority of the rooms contracted to them it is possible to book directly with the hotel for some rooms if that is what you prefer.

Peter H.

Room Tip: As in my comments, choose between the noisier side (evening entertainment) and the quieter side (whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank PeterH333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    410
    109
    34
    6
See reviews for
130
1,217
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

As a married couple "getting on" in years we found this to be an excellent hotel - location, food, staff friendliness/helpfulness, bedrooms etc all first class. Day time entertainment is not our thing but it was not "in your face" so no problem but some of the evening entertainment left much to be desired. This seems to be the same at most Thomson (and probably other companies) hotels around Europe. Even so, with beautiful weather to add to the mix , it was a great holiday and we may well return. We can understand now why so many people do go back again and again. Hopefully with the change of manager things will not change too abruptly. So, many thanks to Snr Edo and his team and good luck to Giancarlo following in his footsteps!

The Wrights, East Midlands.

Room Tip: If you prefer a quiet room - ask for it in advance as many rooms, although having the best views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarragona, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Have (59) been with my husband (71) two nights in Ses Estaques late September 2011 and had lovely time there although we were the only "foreigners" (Swiss, living in Spain) among very pleasant English people. Staff very friendly and complaisant (specially room-maid, head of reception, Director of hotel, and all waiters in the restaurant). Room very clean, comfortable, nice view to the pool area. Safe in the room, minibar, tv. Drinking water-bottle can be bought in the corridor (automatic machine).Very comfortable beds, baathroom not enough place of deposit, Internet near reception 1 €/30 min., ironing room, small library with magazines and newspaper. Daily animation, without importunity. Nice bar hall with WLAN and big screen television. Excellent and big choice of breakfast-buffets. Pool area very clean, bar in pool area ok, waiters could be a little bit more pleasant, sun beds very comfortable, lovely beach area just in front, around the corner in few steps the promenade of Santa Eulalia (center) with lovely restaurants, sight seeings and shops. Restaurant Ses Savines (belonging to hotel) very recomended, very tasty food and frindly service. Pitty that the kitchen is closed after lunch until 20.30 hours! What we appreciated was that the hotel is only for adults (no children screems and run around the restaurant). All toghether we loved to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ursula2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

My wife and i ( in our late 50's ) visited the Ses Estaques along with her sister and husband ( their early 70's ) September this year. The rooms are comfortable with a most excellent maid service every day. The dining room is large and airy with again, the most excellent waiting staff. We found the food to be very good indeed and we all feel the Chef and his team deserve a special mention. However, wines, beers and snacks are quite expensive, so watch the Euros, be alert and make sure you get the correct change.
The average age of guests here is approx 72 - 80 plus so we felt like intrusive teenagers.
One old boy was so unsteady on his feet he bumped into my wife at dinner, then growled she should " get some manners ! ".
We had to admit though it was a rather like being in an expensive care home for 2 weeks, and you might consider that before you book a holiday here as old people can be very, very grumpy.
There is some Hi De Hi activities during the day if you want them and they can be a laugh, especially if you're watching.
In the evening there was the most terrible singing duo called ' Without a Doubt ' although we called them ' Dumb & Dumber ' God they were awful, she always talking absolute rubbish, then forgetting what she was talking about, him trying to figure out what guitar to play with,
then the pair of them trying to remember what song to sing.
After them at 10 p.m. the so called professional acts come on. Anything from Elvis to Tom Jones tributes to a bunch of not that funny comics. Honestly this is the time you come near to ending it all by borrowing some pills off a pensioner and swallowing the lot.
There was one act though, just one, called the Three Graces, 3 lovely girls singing very well indeed, quite professional they were and good entertainment. Have your pills back granddad.
Seriously, get out of the hotel, Sant Ellulia is lovely with lots of things to do or just for a slow stroll on the seafront.
Jump on a bus, go see Portinax ( Fare 3.60 ) where South Pacific was filmed apparently, nice for a couple of hours.
Ibiza ( eivissa ) Old Town ( Fare E 1.95 ) stay for most of the day, its worth it.
There's a wonderful lady named Margaret at the hotel, she's a resident of the island and every Friday morning she does a great walk. We went to Cala Llonga about 6 miles away and uphill for a bit, and then a bit more but it was a slow lazy stroll, with Margaret pointing out flowers, trees, vines and houses of note etc. Naturally we ended up in a bar for a lovely cold beer, and then came back to sant Eulalia by boat. A brilliant and funny morning, please go, its one of the best things we did on holiday.
Say hello to Sally, the Thomsons rep there, she is an absolute delight who gives so much of herself just for you, while the others just do their job. We wonder if Thomsons know what a rare talent they have there.
So to recap. This is an old peoples Home in the sun
The Hotel is ok. The food is good. Drinks are expensive. Most of the guests are alive.
Enjoy your holiday there.

Room Tip: get one overlooking tennis courts, they are shaded in the afternoon. If you have one overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LondonScoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Enjoyed a week at the 'Ses Estaques' in late August/early September 2011 and had areally relaxing week! Room was very airy and clean but bathroom was disappointing,could do with some updating!! Pool area was very clean and sun beds very comfortable ,if a little limited! ( Note there are other sunbeds on the beach area and at the front of the hotel looking out to sea!!) Loved the jaccuzzis a nice feature!! Pool area entertainment was quite good ,if you wanted to join in,but the excellent reps did not pester you to join in if you didn't want to!!
Food was plentiful and fresh but have had better at Gold Hotels!!! Evening entertainment was quite good (except for the 'opera' singers,they tried too hard,should have just sung and not tried to add 'comedy' to their act!!!!!)
I was really impressed by the management being so visible ,infact all staff were excellent!!

Only downside ---- The A la Carte restaurant - give it a miss ,very disappointing,both the service and food!!!!!

Would return to this hotel again! Lovely hotel,well run and beautiful setting!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teddymac_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My wife and I have recently returned from a weeks stay at Ses Estaques,I have got to say that the staff throughout the hotel were extremely curteous and helpful, they couldn't be faulted in any way. Thats about where the praise will end i'm afraid, our room was on the 1st floor and because the floors were tiled ( not carpeted) the woman above us (i hope it was a woman) must have had her high heels welded to her feet because she seemed to be tap dancing constantly from the time she got up until the time she went to bed , practicing for strictly come dancing I guess. SUNBEDS now you've got me started - this was a challenge and a half , you want a sunbed around the pool forget it you would have to have the nocturnal instincts of an owl to get up that early. The food was ok if you liked pork ,then the next night you could have more pork if you like , the food did need to be a little more varied really.We did appreciate the pleasant views and the location (eg promanade walk) , if you get a chance go to the music bar at the very end of the promenade and see the group called THE SINGLE LADIES I think ! they were truly professional ,but apart from that it looks like it will be back to the excellent hotel los gigantes in tenerife for us next year.
from 2 regular gold hotel visitors , portsmouth

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We visited the Ses Estaques for the fourth time at the beginning of September. As we had never been in September before we found that the majority of the guests were OAP's and as we are 62 and 65 ourselves most of the people were older than us. The staff at the hotel are first class as is the service but the rooms could do with upgrading as the furniture and curtains are well past their best. Even so the room was spotlessly clean. We had problems the last day as we had booked and paid for a late check out room in the UK; where given a bit of paper when we got there to say we may not get our room but another room would be available but the day before, we were told there were no rooms available. We were out of our room from 12 noon and were not leaving the hotel until 10 at night and there was no shower room available. Luckily one of the other guests took pity on us the let us use their room for a shower but the hotel "could not have cared less" that we had no where to shower. This left us very upset and we will not visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool have a wonderful view of the marina but balconies get very hot in the afternoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smokey15_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Eulalia del Rio
0.1 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#2 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#13 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,613 reviews
1.5 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#6 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites ...
#8 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
723 reviews
1.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
#1 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
207 reviews
12.8 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
#3 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Ses Estaques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Ses Estaques

Property: Catalonia Ses Estaques
Address: Cala Ses Estaques, 07840, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Ses Estaques 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel located on the seafront near Santa Eularia des Riu , one of the largest, most beautiful towns of Ibiza, just 16 kilometres from the capital. In Santa Eularia des Riu you will find excellent restaurants and beaches, renowned for their beauty and tranquility. Catalonia Ses Estaques is situated in a luxuriant pine forest and enjoys fantastic views over the marina and the town centre. Guests can enjoy a wealth of facilities including a superb terrace with garden, swimming-pool, bar, solarium and two Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Catalonia Ses Estaques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Ses Estaques Hotel
Hotel Ses Estaques
Catalonia Ses Estaques Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing