We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but not without faults.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marina Panorama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Marina Panorama
Lincoln
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good, but not without faults.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

Hotel Panorama, Es Cana, Ibiza. (also known as Hotel Marina Panorama)

June 26th – July 3rd

Arrived around 1 in the morning, got checked in within 1 minute – excellent. There was even a cold salad & bottle of water waiting for us in the restaurant which was a nice touch.

We had room 116 which is at the rear of the older of the two buildings, built 1966. Appalling view out (see photo) and kept awake by noise of air-conditioning fans/units. Asked for a room change (did notice that we weren’t the only ones doing so) and were moved to the top floor of the newer building. Have to give staff credit for making this no problem.

The hotel was always very clean and is decorated in nice modern style. Rooms perfectly adequate, not massive, but big enough. Free fridge was helpful and it was nice to have tea/coffee making facilities included. Room balconies were good, but you’ll not want to sit out (or even have your room curtains open) if you’re on the back of the old building. Yes, the view really is that bad.

Food good, proper English bacon at breakfast as well as the usual nasty streaky stuff. Think that’s the first time I’ve seen decent bacon in an overseas hotel. Menu tailored to British only guests i.e. roast beef, gravy, Yorkshire pudding, apple crumble & custard etc. The quality of food was generally very good, though I’d definitely recommend taking your own favourite butter/margarine; as is common in hot countries, their spreads leave a greasy taste in your mouth.

It doesn’t matter which part of the hotel you’re in, the staff are all great, very friendly and happy to help despite being very busy. A special mention goes to Fatima and Violetta from the dining room staff, great service.

Outdoor activities on-site are either pool based or French bowls. No other organised activities, though there is a pool table and table-tennis.

The majority of guests seem to be over 50, which isn’t a problem, it just means that the hotel tends not to cater especially well to younger ages. There is an area of Astroturf big enough for a tennis or volleyball court, but never saw anyone using it. Could also have been used for air rifle/pistol shooting, 5-a-side football or any other manner of things.

Not enough sunbeds – past 10.30 virtually no chance of getting two together until around 4pm. Even more annoying are those people who clear off for a two-hour lunch leaving all their junk on unused sunbeds.

Dining room not air-conditioned or even fan cooled during the week we were there, despite temperatures hitting 30 degrees and the hotel website saying it is air-conditioned. Maybe turning it on would help?? Last 3 evenings were far, far too hot in there – really need to have something done about it. Saw one guy with trickle of sweat running down face. Unacceptable in a Gold hotel -much room for improvement.

Main bar/lounge; nicely laid out and were showing the World Cup games on a large projector screen. Unfortunately the chairs are probably the most uncomfortable I’ve come across in a long time. No padding on the armrests, the upper part of the seat back had an unpadded plank of wood digging into the shoulders and it was the same under the thighs. Horrible.

Evening entertainment; much made of quality Thompson Gold acts, have to say though that only one guy stood out, a comedy violinist by the name of Sid Bowfin. Very funny and very talented. Rest of entertainment was instantly forgettable. So, in summary;

Good points;

• No kids
• Very good quality of food
• Very clean and nice decor
• Great staff


Bad points;

• Restaurant way, way too hot
• Not enough sun loungers
• Terrible chairs in bar/lounge
• Lack of outdoor activities for the under 50’s
• No way to contact hotel directly via email. Did send a request upon booking to Thompson asking for a quiet room which obviously never got actioned (didn’t even get an acknowledgement reply)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vlad-the-impaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    454
    217
    62
    36
See reviews for
147
823
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
camarthenshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

i DID ENJOY. I was there with my my dad. I had a wonderful time. Time away from everyday activities.. I have a daughter called Whitney and it was the first break i have had since the birth. Staff were brilliant,, felt at home, food wonderful, entertainment great (i am 36) so, it's not just for the oldies... obviously, I fell for a member of staff ( i am Melanie), and the person i am talking about is soooooo, lovely!! Pass this on as i know he is still there, working like a dog, and making everyone feel great (a good one!), Saying that all staff were great and i would come back if i had the chance but busy schedule, busy life I have no breaks... (Contact facebook Isaac) (Britain)..

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank melanie067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

We had a great time at the Panorama, the hotel is ideally located just next to the beach. The staff, from the maid service - bar staff - restaurant staff and the management were all very friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble.
Our room overlooked the pool, and the good sized balcony was a nice place to sit and enjoy the sun. Every room had a fridge and tv with half a dozen english speaking channels. Every day the maid thoroughly cleaned our room to a high standard.
The restaurant was again spotless, and although the service is buffet style, there is a constant replenishment of the food, and the feature cooking was often fresh carved meat etc.
TIP - you will be entitled to an A'la carte meal - book early or you WILL be disappointed.
The pool is surrounded by loads of sunbeds - plenty to go round, but this doesn't stop the towels being draped from 08:30 ish - this is a pet hate of ours (but we ended up doing it as well to get a seat.) It would be nice if the hotel were to remove towels if the seats have not been occupied for at least a couple of hours .... anyway it is probably the only complaint I have and it isn't the hotel who drapes the towels. The pool was cold when we went in first, but your body soon regulates and it actually a greattemperature for swimiing.
Entertainment - Mick an Leah, work hard to keep everyone entertained and do a very good job morning noon and night. The resident entertainment ( we saw four different acts) is fairly good, and work weel with the Thomson's staff. The cabaret acts were again pretty good, depending on your taste - the weeks we we there it was Eurovision and the star turns were Bucks Fizz (Wed) and Brotherhood of Man (Thurs) - bucks fizz had one original member, brotherhood of man was the full winning group - both were very good, with brotherhood the best on the night.
Would we go back to the Panorama - In a FLASH -->
(one comment ... the main lounge table and chairs were arranged in rows, we felt this might have been better in tables of four, this would have kept groups a little closer , but this is a personal observation rather than a gripe)
TIP 2 - use the water taxi to get to ibiza town, Formentera or santa equerla - it is not dear, but on a nice day it is very relaxing, if going to ibiza town or Formentera get the 09:00 or 10:00 taxis to give you a bit more time at your destination.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim_C01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

Enjoyed our stay here as we were after a nice relaxing holiday and this is what we got.Lovely hotel,well run and kept spotlessly clean and found all staff both friendly and pleasantly polite.No children under 16 years of age so everywhere is nice and peaceful even around the large pool where there are more than enough sunbeds without having to reserve them.Rooms are average size with tea and coffee making facilities and a nice balcony and were kept spotless by the hard working maids.The restaurant is quite large and also has an outside eating area overlooking the sea which is very pleasant and to complement this we found the food to be of an excellent standard.Lounge areas are nice and comfortable and at times there is a pianist playing.Entertainment is ok in the evening if you want to stay in,we did watch a couple of shows and on other nights we would go out for a walk after dinner.The hotel is nicely situated right on the sea front in Es Cana which is a nice resort,not to big and not to small and other parts of the island are easily reached from here by either the ferry boat or more cheaply by the local buses.The average age of people staying here is 60+ but this didn't bother us as everybody is nice and friendly and always like to chat.Finally would just like to say that we recommend this hotel and would certainly visit again.Well done to Thomsons from start to finish.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luv2travelsolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2010

Thomson get a lot of positive reviews about this hotel, and it's easy to see why. It comes under the Thomson Gold banner, and the Thomson brand is much in evidence, right down to all the poolside umbrellas emblazoned with the company's logo. The emphasis is on good food, and plenty of entertainment to keep the clientele at this adults-only hotel well satisfied, and they make a good job of doing it. It's hard to fault the food, both in terms of variety and quality. Meat eaters in particular are well catered for; the beef, pork and lamb were all excellent, and it was nice to see "proper" bacon at breakfast time.
The entertainment package while we were there included Bucks Fizz and Brotherhood of Man in the nightly cabaret, and the entertainment team keep things going through the afternoon at a gentle pace including a quiz at 4pm every day.
Downsides? Well, I think it's a rip-off to be charged 3 euro a day to hire a room safe; £20 a week just to keep your valuables secure is extortionate, and why can't hotels provide double beds rather than assuming that pushing 2 single beds together is the same thing?

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halfwaySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

Super hotel, super facilities, super food (nice to have english and spanish), super location, super resort, super enterainment. Staff work hard at this hotel and they should be proud of the standard that they produce. I like to try different countries each year but would return to this hotel if given the chance.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WALK2MOSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torquay england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

Just booked the Thomson gold hotel in nearby Santa Eulalia, went to this hotel last June and had a fab time, everyone from the owners to the staff were great, the room and location excellent, the entertainment very good,the 2 Thomson resident entertainers Tony and Shelley were fantastic and i would consider going on a holiday just to have them around, don't know if they are still there this year? Only slight fault was that the eating area was a bit of a free for all canteen but it will not stop me going back sometime in the next few years. PS for live music go to the Irish bar towards where the Hippy Market is, 2 brothers in a band called The Holics are very good if you like indie/rock music.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viney62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Eulalia del Rio hotels
0.3 mi away
FERGUS Paraiso Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel
Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel
#10 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#14 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Invisa Hotel La Cala
Invisa Hotel La Cala
#11 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.3 mi away
Intertur Hotel Miami Ibiza
0.0 mi away
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
#5 of 13 in Es Canar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Panorama

Property: Hotel Marina Panorama
Address: Playa Es Canar s/n, c/ Pou des Lleo, 07840, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#31 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Panorama 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Marina Panorama I y II is located on the sea front in the beach resort of Es Cana, only a few kilometres away from Santa Eulalia del Río. The hotel is an “adults only” hotel, specially thought of for those who wish to relax and unwind.The Hotel Marina Panorama offers you a wide gastronomical choice, with an à la carte restaurant, barbecue, cafeteria and snack bar.The accommodation offered by our hotel for adults in Ibiza is perfect for getaways and vacations for two, since it offers all the benefits and services of a gym, wellness and spa area, swimming pools… and an environment always ready for you to rest in well equipped rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Marina Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Panorama i Hotel
Hotel Marina Panorama Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing