We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some reviews of Riomar are a bit harsh.............”
Review of Hotel Riomar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riomar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2009

I've just got back from a holiday at the Riomar and I have to say that before I went I had huge reservations because of the reviews I had read but happily it really isn't as bad as some people have said. Yes the rooms are small - there were 4 people in ours and the rooms are really made for 3 maximum but it's ok unless you want to spend lots of time in the room. There was ample storage space, the rooms were cleaned really well every day by nice smiley cleaners. The bathroom was adequate and the shower was actually quite powerful and nice and we had hot water all the time. Our room was at the back of the hotel and I would strongly recommend a room at the front if you can get one. I found the road noise woke me up most days but the rest of my party didn't seem to notice so maybe that was just me. The hotel staff were friendly. The food was fine. It was a bit samey after 2 weeks but it was perfectly warm and edible although there were days when the combnations were a bit odd. I never noticed the restaurant floor to be dirty at all. The waitresses are a bit slapdash but I think it's because they are young ratther than anything else. The manager made a point of speaking to myself and my daughters and seemed perfectly amenable so I don't know why people complain about him although I didn't make any complaints so maybe that made a difference. The pool was packed with children so I never went in it and it wouldn't do for anyone wanting to do a lot of swimming. The sunbed area seemed to be popular. I never got to use it and there did seem to be towels put out very early to reserve them which I thought was unfair as it was a small area with limited beds. However the beach is a few paces away and once equipped with our own beach umbrella and lilos, this suited us very well. I did get stung for the very expensive 10.50 euros for a sunbed and parasol one day. The resort is quiet but the promenade was a nice place to walk on an evening and the church on the hill was worth a visit even it was hot going! I got a last minute deal here and wasn't really expecting much from it but I did end up enjoying it quite a lot. The Riomar is a decent enough 2 star hotel which does what it says on the tin. There's a laid back atmosphere. It's mostly English families staying here but there were a few German, Dutch and French families as well. The age range was from tiny babies up to OAPs with everything in between. Yes it could do with air conditioning but if you are just looking for somewhere as a base to sleep and eat in then you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CUCME74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 572 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2009

im reading the reviews from recent visits and im shocked they are bad i loved this hotel as it was spotless and staff were lovely and payed alot of attention to my daughter huggin her and tellin her she was beeautiful and always remembered her name very chid friendly. upon arrival i had a room that wasnt seview receptionist wasnt helpful at all but upon speakin to manager 2 days later we were moved....after reading the reviews i was convinced i had to have a seview but upon moving to sea view i soon realised it was not really a need and wished i hadnt the former room was lovely and quite yes it was hot but so was the sea view room once in the sea view room i soon learnt if ur a light sleeper seaview is not for u the sound of ppl out on beach and and the waves splshing all night annoyed me ....athough view was lovey i dont spend much time in room so didnt realy apprciate it.
i thought food was fab breakfast had cereals or bacon sausage beans fried egg boied egg scrambled eggs and toast also meats n that and yoghurts x
dinner throughtout the week was fine only one night it wasnt for me but thats cause im picky on wat meat i eat and dont realy enjoy veg stuff lol .
i would go back only downfall is no air conditioning and only one plug socket in room and one in bathroom not good when u want fan on and iron clothes and someone wants to dry/straighten hair and kid wants to watch dvd but we coped.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilly042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Stayed with my 2 13 year old children. The room was only just big enough. The 3rd bed was a camp bed despite me double triple checking with the tour operator that it would be a proper bed.

Towels changed and room cleaned every day, and yes there is no air conditioning, but we knew there wasn't, and didn't have any problems sleeping.

Like most people I have to say that the staff are lovely, very helpful and smiley.

Breakfasts were ok....the coffee is revolting and I couldn't drink it......you are better off using the sachets of decaff and adding hot water to it......and......the dinners were absolutely vile. My kids and I ended up eating bread and cheese most evenings and eating out....which blew my budget....even one of the receptionists commented on how bad the food was, and how most people complained about it.

All in all it is only a 2 star hotel, but I would have expected the food to be paletable at least..and it wasn't.

Would I go back..........not on half board.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsjennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Arrived 14.08.09 wiht husband and 5 year old son, upgraded to sea view room at a charge of 30 euros,rooms small,hot and basic. Every thing you would expect of a 2 star hotel,apart from the food - appaulling at all times. The food/slop is cold and inedible, cutlery is filthy, and on many occasions the restaurant floor,is also covered with food leftovers, this is by far the worst hotel I have stayed in. The owner is arrogant and has the theory that he is always right and not the customer !!!! Please always check your drinks bill from the restaurant and ask for a receipt.By far this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed at,and would certainly not reccomend it for families.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

The Riomar is a nice Hotel, emphasize on the nice. Nice location right on the beach. Nice staff, always smiling & helpful.Nice & clean inside & out.
Problem is that they cant cope with the Hotel being full with families. Its not there fault, Thomas Cook have turned 2 bedroom rooms into Family 4 bed to increase profits, thus doubling the amount of people in the Hotel. This then creates a School Dinners traffic jam at mealtimes & a massive amount of bodies around the pool.
Monika & Lorena on the reception desk (ace people, very very helpful) said that July was a lot quieter & less families. Everybody bar the owner stated there should be no more than 2 adults & 1 small child in a room. So,
1. I would recommend this hotel but not during August for no more than 3 in a room.
2. Read up on hotel, there is no air conditioning & fans are useless in high heat.
3. Food is buffet. It is repetitive. Its reasonably nice, but the cook sometimes makes
strange concoptions.
4. Entertainment is almost zero at night, in Hotel & at Resort.
It was a good holiday, we knew it would be busy, so we were prepared. Unfortunately, the room size & food let it down.
I wouldnt go again, but then I dont usually return to the same location twice.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emiliajacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Arrived at this hotel on 31st July '09. Originally allocated a room facing the road, however, we were able to upgrade to a room with a sea view for an extra 30 euros. This was worth every penny! The view was fantastic and much cooler as you get the sea breeze! It was even safe to leave the balcony door open at night, which kept the room cooler. There is an option to hire a fan for 2.50 euro a day but we just took our own with us after reading the reviews on here.

The hotel is absolutely spotless!!! Cleaners came into the rooms every day, and towels were changed every other day.

The food was good but very repetitive. The strawberry icecream and cream and sponge dessert was beautiful!

On the beach, 2 beds and an umbrella cost 10.50 euro a day. We bought an umbrella in town for 6.50 euro and 2 lilos at 3.00 euros each which we used to lay on the beach. This saved us a fortune!!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalesNeath_S_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

This hotel was truly awful and is a disgrace to the term 'hotel'. The reviews suggest the food was poor but the extent of the disgust we felt at the food at the Riomar Hotel led me to join TRIPADVISOR and write this review. Do not book this hotel. The food was cold and cheap and inedible, with no children's choices. The grease, the cold, soggy pizza, the cold hard chips, limited salad and tough meat were bad enough. Then you get up for breakfast and find powdered orange in place of juice! The coffee was undrinkable.
The staff were untrained and lean over you to grab plates as you eat! We would claim a refund if we could on the food/ restaurant alone.
Holiday-makers were eating out and buying their own food, avoiding the hotel like the plague. Thomas Cook suggested we might get a sea-view room. The only way to get one is to pay between 30 to 60 Euros- depending on how they feel that day. The only way to survive is to get a front sea-view room so we had to pay! Then, pay for a fan-which did not work-18 Euros a week,
This could not get any worseyou would think. you would be wrong. The manager is the worst manager you could ever meet- charmless, offensive and dismissive of guest concerns. Could this be the worst hotel on Ibiza?

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silversurfer1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Eulalia del Rio hotels
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Orquidea
Aparthotel Orquidea
#11 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
349 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tres Torres
Hotel Tres Torres
#21 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
673 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tropic Garden Aparthotel
Tropic Garden Aparthotel
#18 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Invisa Hotel La Cala
Invisa Hotel La Cala
#14 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartments Marsol
Apartments Marsol
#40 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Duquesa Playa
Duquesa Playa
#20 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riomar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riomar

Address: Camino 3 del Rio 48 | Playa Es Pins, 07840, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#28 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range: $60 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Riomar 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Riomar is right on the beach. It's a calm hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio wich is perfect to spend a family holidays far away from other noisy zones of Ibiza ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riomar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riomar Hotel
Hotel Riomar Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing