We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Holiday But Whizz The Towels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palladium Hotel Don Carlos
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Holiday But Whizz The Towels”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just returned from a two week holiday at the Don Carlos and it was excellent. First of all a massive thanks to Aivis who is the hotels entertainments guy, management take note, he is the hardest working guy i have ever seen in his role, due to his ability to treat everyone as an equal and always has a smile no matter what time of day it is. All the staff in the hotel are first class and always on hand if you need them. The hotel is spotless the food is delicious and men are allowed to wear smart shorts for dinner which was great. The only negative point I have is the sunbed freaks and NO it wasn't the German people ! Towels on sunbeds all day then the freaks would arrive late afternoon to plant their inconsiderate bodies down.. so my advice would be if you can't find a sunbed whizz the towels and enjoy the sunshine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Front Office Manager at Palladium Hotel Don Carlos, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Sean P,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are happy that you had a great time at our Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos.
For us it’s very important to exceed your expectations and your valuable comments help us to work in the same way. We are happy to know you were satisfied with the entertainment of the hotel.
Thank you for your comments and advice and we hope to see you again at the Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    381
    140
    37
    11
See reviews for
149
966
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TADCASTER
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Looked at some reviews and agree/disagree with some or all.We arrived at 11 am(ish) and room was ready.Got booked in immediately and cases were delivered to room (333) for us.FREE room safe! very clean open airy and cool even without the aircon.Sheets changed every other day towels everday and pool towels whenever you wanted.Food was good not too much in the way of "chips with everything".Great breakfast choice with PROPER sausages lunch whatever you needed dinner was a good mixed choice with some themed nights.Fish coming out of my ears LOVELY.
Downsides.Suite is very open plan don't need 2 TVs.Toilet is in full view behind open topped opaque glass.Not easy to"go" quietly.Quite a walk to town centre if like me you're not great on your feet.All suites have great view of pool and sea but are right over evening entrtainment.Not good if you want an early night.
Overall great hotel but suites are more substance than practibatility.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms overlook the outside entertainment area.Not good if you have an early return flight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TadcasterGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Front Office Manager at Palladium Hotel Don Carlos, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear TadcasterGuy,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are happy that you had a great time at our Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos and that you were satisfied with our services.
For us it’s very important to exceed your expectations and your valuable comments help us to work in the same way. We are happy to know the choice of the breakfast and dinner was good and we are working to offer the best choice at lunch.
The hotel has been refurbished on 2012 and we are glad you have enjoyed the beautiful views of the Mediterranean Sea from your room.
We hope to see you again at the Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I spent 2weeks at the start of July at the Don Carlos, we arrived about 11 am and reading from other reviews did't know if our room would be ready, but it was you get supplied with towel cards and you can change your towels as often as you like but you need to hand them back at the end of your holiday, you also have the option of going to the A La Carte restaurant 3 times during your stay.
The hotel is lovely and is situated at a lovely part of the island it only takes about 15-20 minutes to walk into the centre of Santa Eulalia where there is plenty shops bars and restaurants.
We had a suite room 231 it was fantastic plenty of room large bed jacuzzi bath and there was 2 televisions, one facing the sofa and the other facing the bed, I read on a previous review that someone had problems with the noise from the entertainment from room 231 but we did't experience anything like that.and the view from the balcony was stunning looking over the pool and the sea.The room was cleaned everyday,but I found that sometimes they would forget to replace things that you had used and I had to phone reception a couple of times to remind them.
Staff were very friendly especially Jesus from the pool bar, he could not do enough for you, never complained about anything. The entertainment team Aivis and Cecile were absolutely fantastic, they kept everyone amused throughout the day at the pool, never badgering you to take part if you didn't want to, and they always had time at night after the entertainment was finished to come and talk to you. Like every hotel there was always a rush on in the mornings for sun beds and brollies, there was plenty sun beds but I found that there was not enough brollies, as I really need to have shade at the hottest part of the day.
The food was good, there was never a day that you could not get anything to eat, and we visited the A La Carte once over the 2 weeks and found it to be ok.,but gents had to wear long trousers if they were going.
The entertainment at night had a good variety of different things something for everybody, all in all we found that we had a good relaxing holiday and we would go back again in the future.

Room Tip: If you can afford it we would recommend a suite overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scottie1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Front Office Manager at Palladium Hotel Don Carlos, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Scottie1952,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are happy that you had a great time at our Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos and that you were satisfied with our services.
For us it’s very important to exceed your expectations and your valuable comments help us to work in the same way. We are happy to know you were satisfied with our staff because for us it’s very important that our guest have a nice holiday.
We hope to see you again at the Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

11 nights all inclusive at Don Carlos with no complaints hotel perfect resort gorgeous less than ten minutes walk and you reach a lovely selection of shops bars and restaurants. The entertainment was good food very good and the visit to the Bel Vista restaurant is not to be missed . The pool area kept very clean day and night and a special mention to Aivis who made our holiday memorable he worked all day and evening making sure everybody had a good time without being pushy . Aqua aerobics will never be the same again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Front Office Manager at Palladium Hotel Don Carlos, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Debra T,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are happy that you had a great time at our Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos.
For us it’s very important to exceed your expectations and your valuable comments help us to work in the same way. We are happy to know you were satisfied with the food and the entertainment of the hotel.
We hope to see you again at the Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This was following our holiday to Sensatori in February so we are trying not to make a direct comparison as this was 5 star plus, but we will use it as a price comparison, Clearly it is more expensive to stay at a sensatori but we only paid £300 less to stay at Don Carlos which is advertised as superior and trust me you get way way way way more for that £300 but having seen some of the other hotels in Ibiza during our journey back to the airport we do feel that Don Carlos is one of the best in that area. In our opinion this hotel has some fab, some good and some poor qualities.

To start with the fab!!
The pool is fantastic, very clean and the in pool jacuzzi beds are something we have never come across before.
The entertainment staff during the day are just right not over powering but giving you every chance to join in anything if you wish to.
The suite room interior was excellent and very clean except for the brown mat which was full of bits from day one and didn't appear to be cleaned at any point during our weeks stay!
The view from our balcony was amazing overlooking the pool and sea!

The good!
Staff all seemed very friendly.
Breakfast was good and had a selection of just about anything you would need for breakfast, orange, pineapple and mixed juices are all available free you only have to pay if you want freshly squeezed juice.
Pool towels available free and can be changed as often as you wish.
We did pay for the wifi in our room and it was much much much faster than the free wifi in reception.

Now the bad!!
We were the only ones to arrive for check in at about 2.30pm, but still had a wait of around 15 minutes before anyone decided to check us in, they did however attend to people who walked straight past as apparently not feeling the need to wait in turn!!! ( both hotel staff and rude people who don't know how to queue are at fault here!)
Although nobody goes in holiday to watch tv.... Why does the suite rooms have two TVs but seriously only TWO English channels Sky international news and BBC World news no possibility to upgrade!!!! Something I would expect a four star superior hotel to offer!
If you wish to go for a total relaxing holiday DO NOT accept suite 231 this is above the evenings entertainment which is outside and Thursday evening of our stay we were convinced that they were actually singing from our balcony as it was SO loud!!! at 11.45pm. Every single night was very noisy except the Saturday when we arrived. Not sure that Thomson should sell this room as a premium price as this is one of the noisiest positions In The whole hotel.
The food was ok, but if you are a vegetarian I would recommend that you advise them prior to arrival as I feel you will really struggle on some night and have to resort to good old salad!! And if you are not keen on garlic this could be an issue, even garlic breadcrumbs on top of the tomatoes for breakfast!

We hope that we have given a fair review of this hotel and whilst we would not choose to return to this hotel, we would never advise anyone not to go here as we did enjoy our holiday here, but maybe wished we had asked to move rooms at the first noisy night.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Front Office Manager at Palladium Hotel Don Carlos, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear JoanneB,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us and the travel community. Due to your help we can always improve our services. We are very pleased that you had a great time at our Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos and that you were satisfied with our services, rooms and food.
Please accept our most sincere apologies for the service issues you have mentioned regarding the reception department. Although we try to give high standards services for all our guests, the reception gets overcrowded during high season, but this definitely should not happen and we are working very hard to improve and satisfy all our guests’ requests. We will work with our head chef to include more vegetarian options.
Thank you once again for your comments and advice and we hope to see you again at the Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two weeks at end of june. We arrived just about 1pm but our room wasn't ready which is a real bug bear of mine - surely the hotel must have some kind of system that they know when flights are arriving and can at least have a room available!!!!! We had some lunch and a chat with our friends who had arrived a few days before us and then we were able to get into our room. Room is quite small but adequate with a great shower.
Hotel is about a 20 min stroll from the centre of Santa Eulalia where there is plenty of bars and restaurants - as we were all inclusive we only went in to town a couple of times.
The entertainment staff Aivis and Cecile are brilliant - not pushy and very good at their job. The vision of Aivis in his Mankini will stay with me for ever - absolutely hilarious!!!!!!
Evening entertainment was actually about the best I've experienced for a few years with the exception of a couple of acts. Think one of the evenings the entertainment did not turn up and Aivis and Cecile had to organise something very quickly - this was not good - more for an 18-30
hotel!!!!!
Food was a bit of a hit or miss - breakfast and lunch were very good but I sometimes felt the evening meal was a bit of a let down. Sometimes there was no veg to match the meat eg Roast
Beef and all the veg they had was mushrooms or creamed spinach (yuk) Not a pea, carrot or broccoli in sight - maybe the management could address this and maybe a bit more variety in the evening.
We stayed at the Fiesta Calla Llonga last year the the food there was by far better than the Don Carlos.
The A la Carte restaurant was a nice change with a varied menu.
Overall we had a great time but not sure if I would return as I priced it for 2014 and it comes in at approx £1700 for 2 weeks - definitely not worth that price - can get 5 star Caribbean for that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoshTosh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Front Office Manager at Palladium Hotel Don Carlos, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear PoshTosh9,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are happy that you had a great time at our Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos and that you were satisfied with our services.
For us it’s very important to exceed your expectations and your valuable comments help us to work in the same way. Our head chef and staff is working hard to offer the best quality and variety of food.
We hope to see you again at the Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We arrived at Reception to be greeted by Manu and other staff - they were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble to get us checked in efficiently and informatively. We were in a mini-suite with a seaview - the room was large, clean with a great balcony. We had our son staying with us (in his 20's - we came to Ibiza for a family wedding later in the week and our other two sons and partners arrived at the same hotel the following day). Our son had the sofabed which wasn't very comfortable - we did mention it to Reception the next day and they set up the sofabed the next night with extra blankets as an additional mattress which helped. The main bed was fine. We had a jacuzzi bath which in effect was in the bedroom area but we never actually got to use it as it was so deep that it would have taken forever to fill - we used the fab shower instead. Lots of bathroom area space - two sinks and plenty of towels and all kinds of soaps and additional goodies - razor, shower cap, shoe cleaning etc. The only thing I didnt like is that the toilet had a smoky glass door but was open at the top so not very private.

Our room and the hotel was spotlessly clean - the pool area was cleaned at the end of every day and again in the mornings it seemed. I agree with some other reviews that there were a lot of people who put towels down very early and then didnt get to them until hours later - however the day we arrived we got down around 10 and found that there were a couple of beds but no sunshades available - again many of these were with the sunbeds with towels and no guests. I did go to reception and ask what, if any, the rules were with all of this and I was told that guests are not allowed to save beds etc and it was perfectly okay to remove the towels and use the beds etc. I was also told that if there was any problem by doing this that the other guests should go to reception who will deal with the matter. I do think some big signs up around the outside of the pool might help with some of this problem. .
The Pool was fantastic, loved it. The entertainment staff were brilliant - thanks Alvis and Cecile, you worked your socks off to ensure everyone had a good time, but also knew not to pester, good combination.
Position of the hotel great, not only for walking to the seafront where there were lots of restaurants and cafes (some good and some not so good) and the beaches lovely. There is also a mini market about 2 mins walk out the front of the hotel to get large bottles of water and they also do lovely cakes and lots of other bits and pieces. We were on half board so that was really useful.
We used taxis quite often, we had some long distances to go - they were always ontime and the drivers very friendly.
The only negative we have about the hotel is the food - breakfast absolutely fine, lots of lovely choice with abundance of fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, cakes, biscuits and lots of hot foods, breads etc. For supper we were very disappointed - yes the food was hot but in our opinion quite sloppy and not up to all the other standards of the hotel, just not our kind of food - so we stuck mainly to the salads. We did go the to main restaurant once (very difficult to get in), the standard of the food was better than the buffet but in all honesty for us was still disappointing.
We werent really around for the evening entertainment so cant really comment on that.
All the staff at the hotel were fantastic.
If we could do just B and B we would definitely go back to this hotel but as it stands right now they dont - half board or full board only so we would have to think carefully about what we would do should we return to Santa Eulalia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roscarol01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Front Office Manager at Palladium Hotel Don Carlos, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Roscarol01,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are happy that you had a great time at our Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos and that you were satisfied with our services.
For us it’s very important to exceed your expectations and your valuable comments help us to work in the same way. We are sorry you had this impression with the food and our commitment is to offer the best quality and variety in the buffet and the a la carte restaurant.
We hope to see you again at the Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Eulalia del Rio
9.3 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#14 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,734 reviews
2.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
#1 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#2 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
916 reviews
0.2 mi away
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites ...
#3 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
764 reviews
2.4 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#5 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palladium Hotel Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palladium Hotel Don Carlos

Property: Palladium Hotel Don Carlos
Address: C/ Los Rosales 53 Urb. Siesta, 07849, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain (Formerly Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#27 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palladium Hotel Don Carlos 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palladium Hotel Don Carlos is an adults only, exclusive hotel situaded an ideal place for a couple to spend a relaxed and romantic holiday. For a peaceful holiday for couples, friends or families, as its located right on the beachfront in a beautiful and quiet area surrounded by pine trees. It has been completely refurbished with a modern and chic touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palladium Hotel Don Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Hotel Ibiza
Palladium Hotel Don Carlos Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing