We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don Carlos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palladium Hotel Don Carlos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We had a great holiday at the Don Carlos, which was only spoiled by Thomson not picking us up for the airport return. We had to get a taxi and Thomson have refused to reimburse us! However, the hotel manager was very helpful.
All the staff are great, the food is too. I have never seen so many cleaners working all hours so the hotel is spotless! We had a room overlooking the sea - well worth the extra! If the hotel is adults only next year - we will return

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SkankyWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,024 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2011

We reluctantley had to stay at the Don Carlos after Thomson changed our booking twice in the two weeks leading up to our departure. The changed from the Palladium Palace to the Don Carlos occurred 18 hours before our departure time and we had no real option but to accept the change and hope for the best.
Being our first holiday together we wanted it to be special and had based our original choice of hotel on a number of factors, mainly being that it was all inclusive and adults only as well as being a Platinum hotel. Upon arriving at the Don Carlos it was obvious that it was neither of these. The official photographs misrepresent the true nature of the restaurants and I would definitely agree that this is nowhere near a 4 star hotel.
As mentioned earlier, we had paid for all inclusive but were then informed that this hotel does not do it and we'd have to pay another €50 a day to get it!
The room was very basic, draughty and any extras have to be paid for. Yes, we had a TV with satellite channels but the majority were in Spanish and we had no remote (€10). Mind you, we were thoroughly up to date with world events as the English channels we did find were CNN, BBC News and Sky News.
The beds were two singles pushed together so we just shared one bed in the end.
The restaurant was ok but not how it is represented online. The food was buffet style and definitely not 'delicious'.
I could go on about the seaweed on the beach and the graffiti in the lift but I'm getting bored now.
Never again, Don Carlos. Work is needed here for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank woodymbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My Wife and I spent eleven days at the Don Carlos in October 2011. For a three star hotel it offered a lot of good points. Our suite was first class with
a spectacular view of Santa Eulalia bay. Only slight moan was the noisy
generator (or whatever) situated directly over the roof on the 4th floor !!!
Food in the hotel is of a very high standard for three star. We were never
disappointed with the menu. The staff were generally friendly and helpful,
always on hand whenever there was an enquiry to be made. The pool area is a little compact, but nevertheless clean and accessible.The evening entertainment was a bit repetitive with the 'Viagra Bingo' routine.
Personally, we would have preferred a more professional form of show.
(i.e. comics, singers etc.) However, enough nit picking.......a VERY good
stay with lots to see and do. We'll be coming back to the Don Carlos
sometime soon !!

Room Tip: Go for the suites with Santa eulalia bay to wake up to in the morning !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186337Terence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Having been there before, we knew the Don Carlos was at the lower end of the Thomsons over generous 4T category, but last time it managed to be a pleasant experience. However this time the general deficiencies in standards were more apparent. A refurb and upgrade is imminent, so would help, but I suspect it might be too small and lacking sufficient style to become a worthy Platinum.
The food was largely unadventurous and predictable, and although adequate, only managed to be interesting for about two nights out of seven. Breakfast was particularly boring.
Some of the staff were nice and helpful, particularly the Receptionist [Mannu?] and the entertainments people made the best of a poor program.
The weather at the tail end of the season was not as good as hoped for, and the normally vibrant town of Sta Eularia was rather dead in comparison to May/June time - when it was a delight.

Room Tip: Probably worth paying for a sea view, or at least get a high floor for a non sea view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos... A very good hotel, you are simply greeted by the nicest staff and a cool enviroment. The hotel itself is currently been refurbished and is looking very nice. I was very happy with the food in the restraunt, the clean rooms and the all round friendly staff. This hotel has a great pool complex and a private beach for you to enjoy.

Room Tip: grab a lucky dip... all rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

we was a bit dissapointed as we had booked for another hotel when thomson contacted us a week before departure to tell us that the hotel we had booked for had closed early and they had changed our booking for the don carlos or offered us a full refund .as this was a special holiday for us we opted to go for the change of hotel rather than cancel .all i can say is we had a wonderful time the hotel is spotlessly clean ,the food really good and the hotel staff all very friendly .thomson upgraded us to a seaview suit which had really stunning views .we could watch cruise liners go past all illuminated in the night ,and to watch the beautiful sunrises over the sea was breathtaking .the beach is a stones throw away and there is plenty of sunbeds around the pool .the decoration was fine and i couldnt see any worn carpets although we was in room 317 which is a couple of rooms away from where somebody has complained about worn carpet and the wheelie bins if they had checked are actually recycling bins for plasic bottles ,paper ect which i was really impressed with as this does help the enviroment and it does say in the thomson brochure that the hotel is being refurbished in winter 2012 .finally jemma the rep is a star thank you so much for your help at the airport with the wheelchair assistance and thank you thomson for finding us this hotel which were going back to in may

Room Tip: the seaview is breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank littlegreypony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

This holiday was booked with Thomson Travel Agency 388 Harrogate Road Leeds on18th June 2011.

Upon visiting the travel shop we spent time setting out our respective families’ requirements for our summer holiday and were offered the Fiesta Don Carlos hotel in Santa Eulalia, Ibiza.

“Just a stone’s throw from the beach and with a great pool scene, this hotel is ideal for a laid-back break.” (Thomson quote)

We were also advised by the Thomson sales assistant that the hotel had been recently refurbished and had been awarded a Thomson 4 T rating and would be added to the Thompson platinum rating for couples only 2012.

With this information in mind and the impeccable Thomson brand name, the resort and accommodation ticked all the correct boxes and the holiday was booked.

Upon reaching the hotel at 01.30 hrs on 20th August 2011 it was obvious from the appearance of the hotel’s entrance and reception area that it had clearly not been refurbished. We checked in and proceeded to our rooms 319 and 320 on the 3rd floor. The hotel corridors had an unpleasant odour and the carpets were worn. On each floor, wheelie bins were parked against the corridor wall outside the lift.

The rooms we were allocated had not been refurbished as promised and in fact were extremely basic and very old and tired. We were sold two suites but when we checked the hotel web site we had been allocated standard rooms (see attached descriptions and pictures). In reality, the standard rooms shown were far superior to what we experienced.

At 9am the following morning we caught up with the Thomson representative Jemma and expressed our concerns that we had been mis sold this holiday and were therefore rejecting the holiday. As this old, tatty and tired hotel was not what we had been sold in the Travel Agency. If we had been informed correctly about the condition of the hotel we would not have booked the holiday and would have looked for something else. This hotel was far below any standards we had ever experienced and we decided we could not stay there for the following reasons:
 In our opinion the hotel was not 3 star, it was excessively basic and unclean.
 The hotel was not as described in the brochure we were shown / given.
 The hotel had not been refurbished as advised.
 The equipment in the room (TV and refrigerator) were old fashioned, large, bulky and did not work.
 The suite did not resemble the photographs of the suite in the brochure.
 The children would not get in the sofa beds provided and decided to sleep in their clothes on top of the sofa beds.
 The pool was cloudy, over crowded and not a great scene as described.
Jemma advised us that she had had a similar problem with another party who decided they could not stay in the hotel. However, she said she would try to relocate us and would call the booking agent to see what arrangements could be made.

Jemma called us back at 11.30am and told us that she had been in touch with the Thomson Travel agency who we booked the holiday with. She advised us that the agent had informed us the hotel was due for refurbishment (which is not correct) and reiterated to us that the island of Ibiza was fully booked and due to this fact there was nothing that could be done for us. We informed Jemma that due to the fact that the hotel was not as described to us we would need to look for alternative accommodation ourselves and Jemma told us to go ahead. Staying in the Fiesta Don Carlos was not an option as we would have flown home first.

We decided it was impossible for us to spend any more time in the Fiesta Don Carlos and spent the morning hunting around Santa Eulalia looking for a hotel that was available for the remaining dates of our holiday. We eventually booked the only available hotel we could find on a bed and breakfast basis for the remainder of our now tarnished holiday at our own expense.

We checked out of the Fiesta Don Carlos at 14:00hrs on 20th August 2011. Fantastic holiday thank you Thomsons.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Eulalia del Rio
1.1 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#13 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,881 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#1 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
963 reviews
2.3 mi away
Iberostar Santa Eulalia
Iberostar Santa Eulalia
#3 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites ...
#4 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
828 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#1 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Orquidea
Aparthotel Orquidea
#12 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palladium Hotel Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palladium Hotel Don Carlos

Address: C/ Los Rosales 53 | Urb. Siesta, 07849, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain (Formerly Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#27 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range: $205 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palladium Hotel Don Carlos 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palladium Hotel Don Carlos is an adults only, exclusive hotel situaded an ideal place for a couple to spend a relaxed and romantic holiday. For a peaceful holiday for couples, friends or families, as its located right on the beachfront in a beautiful and quiet area surrounded by pine trees. It has been completely refurbished with a modern and chic touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palladium Hotel Don Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Hotel Ibiza
Palladium Hotel Don Carlos Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing