We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“5 day nightmare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Buenavista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Buenavista
Certificate of Excellence
sunderland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“5 day nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Large time lapse for this review (travelled in August)-there are two reasons for this- firstly i had to calm down for some time to be truly objective and secondly I made an official complaint to the travel company so only fair to wait until that reached a conclusion. I will start with the good point (yes singular) the gardens are lovely-there you have it. It would take me a week to list every complaint and therefore I will mention the biggest ones-our room was infested with colonies of ants and we were bitten terribly. The owner would not move us and eventually we sprayed and cleaned the room ourselves. Lots of items disappeared from our room after we rang the travel company to complain (see other review re an intruder!) one item (a pair of shoes) was returned to me from under the reception desk (draw your own conclusions here). The owner/manager is an intimidating bully who went out of his way to be as rude as possible because we dared to stand up to him even to the point of forbidding other staff to help us.Our holiday was nothing short of a nightmare but please be assured this is not normal standard of service in Santa Eulalia-have stayed at many places equal in rating which have been fabulous. I have been to this town countless times but would struggle to feel happy in my favourite place after this experience..

Room Tip: choose one in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank aliandmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    55
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
13
97
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a shame this holiday turned out to be awful, and could have been enjoyable.
Boked it about 3-4 weeks for a last minute get away, only booked it as it had a superior room, four poster bed and all singing an dancing decor. Didnt know it was half hostal till read up, was a bit concerned as booking.com didnt mention it, but never the less the picture looked amazing, and i like abit of shabby chic.
On arrival the owner/manager show us a grotty room with the seaveiw in the distance.we asked about our room that we paid £1200 for and he tried to pass this off. after arguing with him he offered us a rural room, said everyone wanted the superior rooms like it was my fault.(not my problem people were complaining),Sorry, but i didnt quite understand how he thought he could get away with this, so after calling booking.com we managed to get what we`d paid for..
What happend a few days later is something that could happen anywhere but i do need to mention as the hotel security needs to be noted.
Came back around 10.45 one evening and found an intruder in our room, it is very easy for them to get in as the back of the superior rooms can be accessed over a small wall, the doors can be easily forced open, as a small bolt is the only lock,and there are no telephones in the rooms. The intruder did get away but how were we to call for help. Eventually i ran down to reception and reported it and the "kitchen staff" made us feel comfortable and reported it to the police. Next morning i had to go over to the owner to discuss that evening events, now , how was it that he didnt know anything about it. I can only assme this hotel looks ok but the running of the hotel, ITS VERY POOR.
the owner needs to sort his business out.So Sorry to write this but it did spoil my holiday
Val from Manchester

Room Tip: supperior rooms only, the others have cold showers, but if you like a cold shower go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsbBucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just returned from 4 days here with my daughter on a break before her wedding and loved it. She had stayed here a few times before and knew how good it was. Very Spanish not the usual chain type soul less place, amazing garden to have lunch, drinks, dinner or to just chill out amongst the fairy lights and lanterns, great atmosphere. Pool area was quiet and comfortable. All areas and rooms were clean tidy and well maintained. Small and perfect - so much better than the 400 room hotels. Service was friendly and good and Santa Eulalia is a very pleasant town, clean not rowdy with good cafes, and shops and a good beach, and not far on the bus for a trip into Ibiza town. I will return to Hostal Buenavista !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly190768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Lovely hotel with lots of charm. If you can't stand huge chain hotels well this will be just perfect for you.
It is worth having one of the rooms to the back of the main building, ok you have a few steps to climb but these rooms are lovely. What looked like a cave was the waredrobe! complete with huge mirror and hanging rail.
We stayed on a room only basis which means you can come and go as you please. There are plenty of places to eat and drink in Santa Eulalia.
The beach is about a 10 minute walk.
One thing to ask for is the code for the main door as after midnight it gets locked.
Lovely holiday here.

Room Tip: Upgrade to suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingerpersian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Yes the standard rooms are small but the price is also very reasonable for Ibiza. If you want a bigger room with AC just get one of the suites! I stayed for 1 week with a girlfriend and we just loved it! Practically every late afternoon after visiting one of the beautiful beaches we would lounge and have a wonderful Cava Sangria and some tapas with in the back ground great lounge music. Because it was such a great place, we would sometimes cancel our dinner reservations elsewhere and would order one of the delicious pastas. The pool and pool area is not huge but again very nice with wooden deckchairs and colorful moroccan pillows.
This is Ibiza's shabby chic at it's best!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brensch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

A comfortable and friendly family run hotel with nice rooms and great views.
What some of the rooms may lack in amenities is more than made up for by their style and elegance.
Fabulous setting and grounds with "chill out" area in addition to the pool area which is very welcome on hot days such as we experienced last week.
Alledgedly oldest hotel in Santa Eularia and been in the same family ownership for three generations.
If small and friendly is what you are looking for, then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Standard rooms do not have air conditioning so can be a bit "sticky" in the summer, althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The Buenavista is the most gorgeous Boutique Hotel far surpassing it's 2 star rating which has no bearing on it's charm or service that it offers. I have to say is far superior to many other higher rated hotels in the area and if you want to experience the real Ibiza feel then this is for you.

The staff are so lovely and nothing is too much trouble. It is like staying in private villa.
I shall return & return & return again until I can find away to live permentantly in Ibiza.
This in my view should be a 4 Star rated Hotel just because it is.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front with a sea view in the original part
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Eulalia del Rio hotels
0.3 mi away
Parot Quality Apartments
Parot Quality Apartments
#35 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
2.8 mi away
Las Arenas Hostal
Las Arenas Hostal
#36 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Duquesa Playa
Duquesa Playa
#22 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartments Marsol
Apartments Marsol
#42 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Orquidea
Aparthotel Orquidea
#19 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 stars 788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tres Torres
Hotel Tres Torres
#32 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Buenavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Buenavista

Property: Hostal Buenavista
Address: Avenida Padre Guasch 9 | Carretera de la Iglesia, 07840, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#29 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Buenavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Buenavista Hotel
Hostal Buenavista Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing