We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't worry eat curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kathmandu

Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't worry eat curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

By far the best Indian food I have ever tasted why this restaurant is not in the top 3 on trip advisor is beyond me. Beware if you are English and you order starters,mains,side,rice and naan at home you will be in for more of a man vs food challenge than you could believe the naan itself is the size of a small table top. Would shout from the rooftops about this place but I can't climb the stairs as I ate far to much.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teambeadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    134
    38
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
176 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“good meal in busy restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Busiest restaurant in the street when we visited on an evening threatening rain. We had not booked but managed to get a table just inside the open door, but soon every table was full. The food was fine but not outstanding, service perfectly OK.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gorby321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good curry!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

4 adults and 3 kids, 1 child had fish fingers and chips which was pretty poor, they quickly changed this and there was no issue.
All other dishes were spot on, lamb, chicken and prawn dishes were all very good, nan bread is huge so you could have 1 between 4 adults.
Would recommend to anyone. Reasonably priced also.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 5teve69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I had a decent meal here with my partner, he's vegetarian so he was happy as there was plenty for him to choose from. The naan bread was epic in size, one is easily enough for two people to share. The curries we had were tasty and portion sizes fairly large on the whole. Service was quite cold, a smile and a bit of eye contact would have been nice. I'd still come back here though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christocatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Two visits in one week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We usually prefer to dine on the regional fayre of the country we are in but, after a whole week without curry, the temptation of Kathmandu was too much. We gave it a go during the 2nd week of holiday and promptly returned a second time. Superb curry dishes and the biggest, most amazing garlic naan bread ever! Trust the waiter when he says you only need one naan between two people! Will be our first port of call when we return next year! Super food, great value and lovely service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsFitchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathmandu also viewed

Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza
Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza
 
Ibiza Town, Ibiza
Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza
 
Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza
 

Been to Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing