We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible location and gastronomic treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cerro de Hijar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cerro de Hijar
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tolox
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Incredible location and gastronomic treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Perched on the top of a hill with incredible views, awesome hiking opportunities and simply exquisite food.

My only criticism would be that at weekends they are little bit busy and the personal service isn't quite as perfect, but they still get a 9 out of 10!

Beautiful place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    45
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
33
131
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

What a lovely place to spend a long weekend! We relaxed, ate in the sunny courtyard, ate in the lovely dining rom, slept outside, and just soaked up the view. Hosts could not have been more friendly and helpful and attentive. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThorntonsTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

I had a great time at Cerro de Hijar. The room was very comfortable and the service was friendly and consistent. I enjoyed the beautiful view of the town of Tolox at the base of the mountain. The hotel was centrally located for day trips to Marbella, Rondo, Rock of Gibraltar and Malaga. I enjoyed the quietness and seclusion of the hotel and was able to rest.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronpowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

We found this fantastic hotel a couple of years ago while driving around and vowed to come and stay. So glad we did. The room was clean and comfortable but the real plus is the location, the views, the sunrise through the bedroom window, the authentic Spanish feeling and the FOOD which was superb and although not cheap, was excellent.
Not many other visitors- so don't tell anyone else about it, because we'll be back!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186363Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden/England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

I would rather not write this review as it is a little gem... but I don't think it would be fair to the hotel not to, as they are a bit out of the way.
We chose this hotel for a nice place to relax for a day and night. Travelling at the end of May the weather was hot and the swimming pool was one of our requirements. We could not have chosen a better place to relax on their loungers by the swimming pool, having a dip in the pool and sipping sangria. The experience was enhanced by the most fantastic views and openness of the mountains and valleys around us.
Room was simple and clean and decorated tastefully as was bathroom. Again the views from the windows were of spacious mountains.
The hotel has a great feel about it - homely and welcoming, yet it feels exlusive and makes you feel relaxed straight away.
May is not the high season yet in Spain, so the hotel was only shared with one other couple, in their 60's. Bliss to have the hotel almost exlusively to yourself.
In the evening we had their 'tasting menu' . We got to sample 7 dishes prepared by the chef. Very nice food, and the house wine was an adequate accompaniment. Breakfast was also a nice experience with some fresh fruits and local produce offered. The coffee was delicious. Generally the norm for what I would expect from such a hotel.
Pricewise the hotel was very good value for money we think. Wish we could have stayed for longer!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butterflytraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

This place is absolutely heaven. So peaceful. As you float in the pool you get 360 degree views of the mountains. The food is wonderful. Rooms spacious and clean. Staff very helpful including administering first aid:-) Thank You Samantha. It's very chilled out and relaxing. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

A fantastic place to stay, off the beaten track, but easy enough to get to. The hotel is about 3 km past the town of Tolox (above really). Yes it is a windy road, but is sealed all the way to the hotel gate. It was not a problem to drive.
We had just a standard room, it was clean and fairly spacious and tastefully decorated. The hotel lounge where you could have a drink and read or listen to music was very comfortable. The pool area was great, and you had amazing uninterrupted views.
The dinners were excellent and good value, we ate there both nights as it was too good to go anywhere else! The breakfast was great too, freshly squeezed orange juice, and the new seasons cherries from a local tree was a great touch (we were there early May). Guillermo (one of the owners) was particularly helpful with suggestions for sights to see, and loaned us one of his books. We only stayed two nights, and wish it had been longer.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leannenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tolox
7.5 mi away
La Casa Grande del Burgo
La Casa Grande del Burgo
#1 of 2 in El Burgo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
24.4 mi away
Hotel La Fuente del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
14.0 mi away
Apartamentos Ardales
Apartamentos Ardales
#1 of 2 in Ardales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
17.5 mi away
Gce Hoteles
Gce Hoteles
#1 of 1 in Estacion de Cartama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cerro de Hijar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cerro de Hijar

Property: Hotel Cerro de Hijar
Address: Carretera Balneario s/n | Parque Natural Sierra de Las Nieves, 29109 Tolox, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Tolox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tolox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cerro de Hijar 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cerro de Hijar Hotel in the Natural Park Sierra de las Nieves is an hour away from Malaga and 45 minutes from Marbella in Tolox and has amazing views over the Guadalhorce valley. The building has been restored to a cosy atmosphere taking special care in details in order to provide a quality accommodation in this unique place and is run under specific ecofriendly matters certified by the European Chapter of Sustainable Tourism The Hotel has 18 rooms: 11 doubles, including one specially equipped for the disabled and 6 junior suites all with bathroom ( bath), air conditioning, duvets , low-power heating , TV, mini - fridge, ceiling fan and balcony overlooking either the valley or the mountain in addition to our Suite with hot tub in its tower Rest in cosy common areas with a big lounge and fireplace; listen to the patio little fountain in the center of the hacienda, enjoy a solarium with the best views out in the garden with grass and planted with local species, not to forget the pool for the sunny days of Andalucian weather or treat yourself in our Private Spa & Sauna with views, there is parking for the hotel guests. Enjoy our creative gastronomy based in the traditional Andalucian cuisine, recommended by the Michelin Guide and do not forget to order one of our selected wines. Cerro de Hijar is the perfect place to enjoy nature in the Natural Park, to visit the endemic trees species called pinsapo and other biological treasures of this UNESCO declared "Biosphere Reserve". The hotel is a peaceful spot to relax and enjoy the gastronomy, a perfect hideaway in the most beautiful surroundings where you can practice your favorite sport or simply read a nice book in absolute silence and also start off a fantastic journey to Malaga province. Eugenio, Guillermo y Miguel and the rest of the staff will be very pleased to help you during your stay and to provide the best service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cerro de Hijar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro De Hijar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing