We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with good food, stunning views and great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cerro de Hijar
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tolox
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming hotel with good food, stunning views and great staff.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

A lovely hotel in a fantastic location in the mountains. A real get away from it all place. The rooms are simple and comfortable, the staff very responsive and hard working. The food was very good, generous portions and good value. The garden was beautifully kept and there were several different lawned and terraced areas to take a coffee or a glass of wine. There is a fun little private spa area with hot tub, sauna and outdoor shower which you book by the hour, lovely after a days walking. We walked both days of our stay and enjoyed fantastic views. The hotel was full for most of our stay with two large groups and several smaller groups/ couples and the staff took this in their stride for all three daily meal sittings. We asked to change our bolsters for pillows after dinner on a busy night and the waitress Clara came with us immediately to do this despite being in the middle of dinner service. All the staff spoke good English. Highly recommend this charming hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whikks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    49
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
36
134
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roeselare, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel is situated at a very unique location, with magnificent view. Rooms are spacious and clean. The restaurant in my opinion is expensive for the average quality of food which is served. It may not be a habit in Andalucia to serve drinks in clean glasses, but here glasses were really filthy. On top of that, it is quite expensive. Not much alternatives, however, unless you do not mind to drive up a dark and winding road.
The quality of sleep was another disappointment. On the first night of our stay, the wind came up, roaring alongside the hotel making a hell of a noise. The window was blown open three times. So not the best night of sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank folker_lamote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCerrodehijar, Director General at Hotel Cerro de Hijar, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Folker

Thanks for your comments here on trypadvisor, I am glad you apreciated the views and location from top of the montain they are certainly great, sometimes in the Sierras there can be some wind and natural forces, this creates a felling of comfort being inside a warm bed and with the heating on, the windows have double closing system because of the wind already so maybe not well shut?
About glasses unclean, you should have ask the waiter for a cleaner one, this things happen but it is our custom to serve on high quality glasses 42cl or more for the wine to acompained our food wich is top range and using only fresh and mostly local products, not the chepest ones though.
Hoping to see you again, best regards

Guillermo González.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel was a complete surprise, but truly very nice, very well kept, and lovely. It is in a beautiful, quiet place, perfect for hiking, quiet reading. The spa isn´t a full service spa, it is more a jacuzzi, but really nice. All the people who work at the hotel are very kind and try to make everyone feel welcome.The food in the restaurant was excellent, a little pricey for the south of Spain, but worth it not to have to go into town to eat. If you are looking for a place to relax and completely get away, it´s a great place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lckaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCerrodehijar, Director General at Hotel Cerro de Hijar, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hello Ickaff

Thank you very much for your opinion on trypadvisor, we are constantly making an effort to please all our guest at Hotel Cerro de Hijar and therefor is a plesure for us to get your congratulations, hope we will see you around soon, best regards

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed there many times and have returned even more often for lunches and dinners when we stayed at our own house in the region. This hotel and restaurant is worth travelling to. The people are extremely friendly. Views from the hotel are just amazing. The food is very nice and they have great wines to offer as well. In the colder months, you should also use the little sauna/spa they have, followed by a nice meal.

To all the people who stay on the coast... Get away from the coast and experience the real Andalucia. Tolox, only 40 minutes away from Marbella, is the perfect place to do so. And if you are in Tolox, there is no way around Hotel Cerro de Hijar!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank holiday-for-sure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaen
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hotel Cerro de Hijar is in a stunning location. The winding road leading up from Tolox town just fabulous and there at the top the lovely looking hotel sits with fabulous views. But it went downhill from there.

There was no-one around, the service wasn´t particularly polite or helpful when it arrived and the lounge where we sat with our coffee was cold-looking and sparsely decorated. It had the feel of a cheap hostel.

Such a shame the building and location are great, the interior and staff needs an overhaul.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaniolaJaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A review is about words. But sometimes words aren't enough to describe scenery, sensations, smells.

Cerro de Hijar in Tolox is a very, very special place.

It is difficult to find - which is probably no bad thing as part of its magic is where it is - but once discovered the stunning location, the stillness, the clean air all come upon you so suddenly that you realise that Shangri-La does exsist! And that's before I mention the accomodation and the cuisine.

Run by three young entrepreneurs, who simply know what their customers want and offer it in spades, this hotel is a must for those who want to escape the rat race for a few days of sanity.

Don't expect minimalism because here you'll plop into comfy sofas in front of log fires. Don't yearn for fast food and flashy bar lighting - here you'll find meals which are an art form, beautfully cooked in the Andalucian tradtion with a mere nod at nouvelle cuisine whilst the bar staff produced the most fantastic Gin and Tonic I have ever had in Spain (and I've had a few believe me!).

To watch the sun set over the mountains before dining on wild boar or fillet of pork washed down with a Ronda red wine and then, in the morning, watch the sun rise again over the misty valley stretched out for miles below you before going on to a fantasic buffet breakfast, will take your breath away.

The managment work hard to make use of their green energy (solar panel heating and gentle reminders about whether you really need to have fresh towels everyday?) and all credit to them for doing so. It is just another way of how they do business here.

For this writer rhapsodic words aren't enough. Cerro de Hijar is, quite simply, a Spanish Eden.

Room Tip: If possible try and book the No 1 suite - it has the most fantastic tower complete with telescope!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaxCowperFforde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I will not write about the hotel even though we stayed there last year and came back to have Sunday lunch after goodly climb up from the hotel.It was a glorious day, very few walkers,silence, stunning views from the top.
Lunch was great too, cuisine worthy of an expensive restaurant. Food was cooked to perfection, I even had a dessert to test the skill of the chef.Passed!
We spent a while in their attractive lounge to read my emails. Even the internet was fast!
This is a perfect place to relax, recharge batteries and be spoilt by a very friendly staff.

Room Tip: I cannot comment on rooms this time, TA does not list this restaurant, yet it is worth coming here f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ScottishMyszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tolox
7.5 mi away
La Casa Grande del Burgo
La Casa Grande del Burgo
#1 of 2 in El Burgo
98 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
13.4 mi away
Hotel Los Castanos
Hotel Los Castanos
#1 of 1 in Cartajima
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Hotel El Horcajo
Hotel El Horcajo
#32 of 40 in Ronda
96 reviews
13.9 mi away
Apartamentos Ardales
Apartamentos Ardales
#1 of 2 in Ardales
121 reviews
12.2 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cerro de Hijar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cerro de Hijar

Property: Hotel Cerro de Hijar
Address: Carretera Balneario s/n | Parque Natural Sierra de Las Nieves, 29109 Tolox, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Tolox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tolox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cerro de Hijar 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cerro de Hijar Hotel in the Natural Park Sierra de las Nieves is an hour away from Malaga and 45 minutes from Marbella in Tolox and has amazing views over the Guadalhorce valley. The building has been restored to a cosy atmosphere taking special care in details in order to provide a quality accommodation in this unique place and is run under specific ecofriendly matters certified by the European Chapter of Sustainable Tourism The Hotel has 18 rooms: 11 doubles, including one specially equipped for the disabled and 6 junior suites all with bathroom ( bath), air conditioning, duvets , low-power heating , TV, mini - fridge, ceiling fan and balcony overlooking either the valley or the mountain in addition to our Suite with hot tub in its tower Rest in cosy common areas with a big lounge and fireplace; listen to the patio little fountain in the center of the hacienda, enjoy a solarium with the best views out in the garden with grass and planted with local species, not to forget the pool for the sunny days of Andalucian weather or treat yourself in our Private Spa & Sauna with views, there is parking for the hotel guests. Enjoy our creative gastronomy based in the traditional Andalucian cuisine, recommended by the Michelin Guide and do not forget to order one of our selected wines. Cerro de Hijar is the perfect place to enjoy nature in the Natural Park, to visit the endemic trees species called pinsapo and other biological treasures of this UNESCO declared "Biosphere Reserve". The hotel is a peaceful spot to relax and enjoy the gastronomy, a perfect hideaway in the most beautiful surroundings where you can practice your favorite sport or simply read a nice book in absolute silence and also start off a fantastic journey to Malaga province. Eugenio, Guillermo y Miguel and the rest of the staff will be very pleased to help you during your stay and to provide the best service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cerro de Hijar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro De Hijar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing