We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cooking excursion was fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda La Herriza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We arranged an Andalusian cooking class through cookingholidayspain.com. The class included a small group demonstration by the lead chef Marco and we participated in the preperation process. A salad, Spanish tortilla, paella, and tiramasu were all prpqrd and paired with stunning Andalusian wines. The setting was beautiful, the food was great, and the company divine. I highly recommend this excursion and this location.
P.S. the drive is a little harrowing, but the result is well worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank docjefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 142 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2011

So... where do I start? We are currently on honeymoon after the most fantastic wedding held at La Herriza.

From the outset the hotel staff (David in particular) could not have been more helpful. Organising a wedding from the UK in Spain was never going to be an easy feat but David answered every email, phone call, text in his usual calm, relaxed manner. Every problem was overcome (eg. the photographer cancelling 3 weeks before the event) and every request fulfilled.

The day itself was magical. The staff worked tirelessly to make the venue look stunning. The ceremony itself was on the lawn under a beautiful tree overlooking the valley, the courtyard was transformed into a stylish dinner venue and the hotel itself housed the party.

The food was also amazing. A suckling pig roasted all day in the courtyard and provided a wonderful, relaxed meal.

And another mention to the staff... They made everyone feel so relaxed and welcome. Even at the end of the night after a 20 hour day they were still smiling and joking with the guests.

So to sum up, thank you to everyone at the hotel for making our wedding such a special day. I cannot recommend this place highly enough and, like many of the other guests, will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tww2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

A delight to arrive here after the drive through the concrete ribbon development of the Costa. The drive up to Gaucin is a pleasure and the peace and beauty of the La Herriza restorative. Enjoyed the swimming pool and the staff were helpful and welcoming. We stayed in unit in the courtyard with sitting room, bedroom and bathroom. All well equipped .

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank derbhala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We had such a wonderful few days at your beautiful hotel, all our wedding guests are still raving about it, the area and the beauty of it all. I would like to thank you very much for the way in which the day itself went, it all went so smoothly and everything was executed to perfection. You have a wonderful team of staff. The small amount of rain only added to the entertainment of it all! Irish and UK people are never bothered by rain, we cant be as we have to put up with a lot of it!

the hotel rooms are rustic, the decor is lovely, the way the hotel is set out, is wonderful, cant wait to go back for our anniversary, truly amazing views, stunning scenery, perfect. keep up all that good work

dympna and derek, uk

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dee504019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

After a long road trip from Seville and through the pueblos blancos of andalucia we arrived at this isolated Hacienda in the middle of the sierra ronda.Finding the hotel was not an easy feat as the address is in Gaucin but actually it is more than 5 k"m past Gaucin coming from Ronda and off the "main road" with very basic signage showing the way.But when we arrived we were enchanted at this amazing hideaway.We received a "cottage" - small living area with TV lounge downstairs and 2 bedrooms upstairs.Airconditioning provided heat (necessary!) and the bathroom /shower was adequate although rather tight.The restaurant provided a chef's menu - everything we had was superb and freshly made on the spot! A 3 course dinner was 25 euro per adult and the host & chef went out of their way to make something special for our duaghter!.Classical music playing in the background,a superb wine list and mountain views from the picture window made for an enchanting evening.My wife wanted a massage for her back and the hotel obliged to book a local masajista for 10 am the next morning.Breakfast buffet was included in the extremely reasonable price of the room.
All in all despite the difficulty in finding the spot the Hacienda Herriza is well worth the effort - Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Omri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

this is a lovely charming small hotel set high in the hills 5km from the small town of gaucin. I believe it was converted from a farmstead about 4 years ago. we stayed in a cottage in the courtyard, we had a separate lounge area with fireplace (although no wood provided to light it). The decor is very good- lots of wood and very rustic, good quality bathrooms. The pool was a little cool at that time of year, but looked good. other rooms are arranged around a small 'village square' with citrus trees. The restaurant was also very relaxing and the food was good, more classic than andulusian. breakfast is cold cheese , bread etc (no hot food). We stayed half board for 3 nights and i think you would probably have had most things on the menu by then as some items were not available but you would tend to stay in for dinner here anyway. - good wine list- also lovely upstairs lounge and patios. Service was relaxed and a bit mixed,- actually it was better when the hotel was full at the weekend than when it was quiet. One thing - they expect you to reserve a table for dinner even though you have already paid for half board- or this may just be a lack of organisation. All in all a lovely stay and would definitely consider going back for a relaxing break,

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mf300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaucin
3 mi away
Hotel Rural Buitreras
Hotel Rural Buitreras
#3 of 4 in Gaucin
12 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Fructuosa
La Fructuosa
#1 of 4 in Gaucin
203 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Rural Casares
Hotel Rural Casares
#2 of 2 in Casares
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa
0 mi away
Hostal Brenaverde
Hostal Brenaverde
#4 of 4 in Gaucin
8 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa rural AhORA
Casa rural AhORA
#1 of 3 in Gaucin
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda La Herriza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda La Herriza Hotel

Address: Crta. MA9300 km. 4.7, 29480 Gaucin, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Gaucin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda La Herriza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda La Herriza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing