We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Fructuosa
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Rural Buitreras(Gaucin)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Rural Casares(Casares)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$843
$816
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Fuerte Estepona(Estepona)(Great Value!)
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Albayt Resort(Estepona)
$110
$94
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$570
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Piedra Paloma(Estepona)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveler rating
159
37
5
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
37
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelthe ownerwine pressold houseparking is limiteda real gemlovely roomnew ownerscold meatssuperb restauranttasteful decoryogurtbreathtaking viewsoverlooking the valleyeach morningdelicious foodvillage house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 204 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Beautiful place, special charm, unique, superb breakfast, unimaginable views from the room, romantic terrace, and above all such a friendly and outstanding hospitality of the woman who took care of us. Her smile, attitude, friendly conversation have made our trip and stay a different one and much more fun and interesting. definitely a place you don´t want to miss..

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Idit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Spent 7 nights in La fructuosa in April/May 2010.

This beautiful hotel of 5 bedrooms in the fine mountain village of Gaucin does surpass much more well known hotels in Europe.

The standard of the rooms is excellent, fresh flowers everyday, views in some rooms to die for, two terraces to relax in and an excellent food and wine list.

On arrival the owners provide a great personal welcome and make you feel completely at home. The staff also provide a wonderful service. I would strongly recommend this hotel and Gaucin to any traveller.

The area in April /May was covered in wild flowers

As a bonus we travelled to Gaucin by train(Gaucin station is approx. 15 kilometrers away fr) from Gibralter. The station is also accessible from Ronda and further north

Altogether a wonderful holiday

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonaldDunlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

La Fructuosa is a magnificently renovated house in the beautiful village of Gaucin; it commands magnificent views down a broad valley to the coast and the Rock of Gibralter. Our only regret is that we were only able to stay for one night, but that was the most peaceful and relaxing night of our recent trip to Andalucia.

The owners, Jesus and Luis, have renovated the house in a way that makes it warm and welcoming from the first moment you set foot in it. The rooms are very comfortable, with lots of space and with stunning views to the south coast. If the view from the room isn't sufficient there is a rooftop terrace which has equally good views to the coast and of the village.

Breakfast is included and was very good, with local cheeses and meats available alongside more usual cereals, breads and fruit, the restaurant was very cosy although breakfast can be had on a second terrace with views when the weather is warm enough. There's lots of local and regional information available, and if you have any questions about the village or are looking for food/drink options Jesus is a mine of local knowledge.

Couldn't recommend it more whole heartedly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CumbrianCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

I think that staying at La Fructuosa was definitely the highlight of our trip to Spain. The hotel was lovingly restored from a ruin that was hundreds of years old, up on top of a mountain, in this charming white washed village. Rooms are stunning. And the meals are also something that I will never forget. Very authentic Spanish, like nothing I have ever tried, despite living in NYC with its very diverse culinary landscape. Everything was totally new, and absolutely perfect quality. Amazing. Jesus and Luis (the proprietors) were so kind, we miss them already.

I would recommend this place to anyone who really needs a break in this sleepy, breathtaking and unbelievably charming town up in the mountains of countryside Spain. Trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessyjessyjessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

I've just joined tripadvisor specifically to write a review for the incredible La Fructuosa. Jesus and Luis have created not just a beautiful, welcoming place to stay, but they've also managed to infuse it with their incredible personal warmth. Their kindness was so genuine, and it started the minute Jesus came down the street to help us unload our luggage; it continued as he sent breakfast to one of our jet-lagged travel companions who would otherwise have missed it; and it only ended as we said our good-byes and he asked us to call him if we had any difficulties during the rest of our visit to Spain.

The hotel itself is a real gem - beautifully decorated in a way that feels rustic and elegant at the same time. The two rooms our group of four had were both large and very comfortable. We even commented on how fresh and wonderful the bed linens smelled! The views across the valleys towards Africa are stunning and in the morning our New York ears were thrilled to wake up to the sounds of roosters crowing!

The restaurant is superb, serving Luis's recipes - the kind of fresh and wonderful meals foodies are constantly searching for. Our dinner was really memorable and started with an amuse of cocido croquetas and then continued with starters of peppers stuffed with duck, prawns in a garlic sauce, just-picked wild mushrooms sauteed and served on grilled local bread and the incredible local goat cheese, baked and served with honey and tender baby leeks. The main courses were delicious and the portions are very generous. Desserts were outstanding. Dinner is only available Fridays and Saturdays. I believe breakfast is served daily and is a great spread of jamon, chorizo, cheeses, bread, tomatoes as well as cereals and pastries.

Gaucin is a charming village and La Fructuosa and its owners Jesus and Luis make it a truly magical place to visit. I can't thank them enough for their kindness.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonaldTonyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews