We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining”
Review of La Fructuosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Fructuosa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dining”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

While we did not stay at the hotel, we had an excellent dinner here. Our 3 year son was well catered for. The food was beautiful, the service fast and friendly and the atmosphere lovely. We would thoroughly recommend dining or staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    31
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
128
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Udd
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The views from the room across to Gibraltar we're truly spectacular - what a great way to start your day with unhindered views of the valleys.

The staff were very helpful and were even able to provide me with an English plug adaptor which would have been difficult to source in the village itself. Breakfast was lovely with a varied choice of cereals, fruits and local meats, cheeses and pastries and served in the loveliest of surroundings - truly 'rural'

The hotel is situated near the square which is the hub of the social activities in Gaucin. There are numerous tapas bars and we had two excellent meals in the evening - the tuna steaks and braised pigs cheeks in the Laterale Restaurant were fab.

Our only disappointment was that the hotel restaurant wasn't open - something for us to look forward to when we return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laandbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, USA
Level Contributor
200 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Gaucin must be one of our favorite towns in Spain and la Fructuosa is a good place to stay. It is a little difficult to find the hotel and drop off your bags. We finally found the hotel, double parked our car in the square near the hotel and went to find the proprietor. Nit there during much of the day. They say to phone which is great IF you have a phone. If not that is a problem. We phoned and the owner came to greet us and schlep our bags top our room which was a top floor room with great view. We loved the place and will return for a longer stay. There is free parking nearby and the proximity to Ronda and many other cities makes it a great location. It Is also less than 45 minute drive to Gibraltar which also makes for a nice day trip. Having spent a day in Ronda we were very pleased to have made Gaucin our home base and not Ronda which was a little too touristy and bust for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountainmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Like other reviewers we did not stay here but ate dinner here. I had fillet of sea bass for my main course which was excellent - well cooked and more substantial than a lot of fillets one is served in restaurants. Pleasant service and a mixture of Spanish and international customers. Lovely setting under grapevines on a terrace. Would return. Book ahead as even in October customers were turned away on the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFiend48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have eaten here 6 years ago and it is still as good 6 years on - we had an amazing meal on the Saturday which was when the owner Luis was chef - it was amazing! Louis and his staff were very welcoming and their service was fantastic too - Louis is very attentive and makes everyone welcome - he also owns the little antique/collectables shop in the village of Gaucin - well worth a visit too with fab jewellery and gifts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAL989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We didn't actually stay at La Fructosa but we were recommended to go and try the food for our evening meals.
We were not disappointed - fantastic!

The food was all brilliant, fresh local produce and great service from Pilar who was really helpful every time we went. she went out of her way to make us feel special. She was so kind we just had to go back again.

Even if you can't get in to the hotel make sure you go and try the food. Inside or out on the terrace you will not be disappointed. Make sure you book - it gets really busy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 494Bumpkin494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Received and read lots of great reviews on this hotel. So we had to discover for ourselves when we headed towards Gaucin. Was there for 3 nights and fell in love with this beautifully unique hotel that is rich in history.The great thing is the new owners (since 1997) kept its original name and preserved as many parts of the building which used to be a guest house for over 150 years.

The views from our 2nd floor room over the mountaineous terrrains and towards Morocco was amazing. There are in total 3 floors with 2-3 rooms each floor. Top floor which is also adjacent to the roof terrace have an amazing unobstructed view of the landscape, best to hang out in the day with a glass of beer or wine. For 100€ per night with good, quality breakfast we have chosen well. The room had was clean, spacious with a good shower and bath. Luis, the owner and his staff like Pilar are very hospitable, helpful and friendly. They even helped me organised a mini birthday surprise for my partner during dinner, which was really lovely.

La Fructuosa is also a famous restaurant in Gaucin but only open between Thur - Sat and winter Fri & Sat only. Luis also chip in to serve customers alongside his staff. They serve fresh local produce. Its restaurant is located at the ground floor garden terrace overlooking the valley. Reservation is recommended.

If you drive there is no direct carpark unless you manage to find one opposite the hotel along the curb/road. Otherwise the nearest carpark is only less than 5mins away. During the day there won't be any service staff on hand so you have to ring Luis when checking in so having a local mobile is definitely handy.

Room Tip: For better view of the valley 2nd or 3rd (top) floor recommended. No a/c but you don't need it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_buzzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaucin
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rural Buitreras
Hotel Rural Buitreras
#3 of 4 in Gaucin
9 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hacienda La Herriza Hotel
12.6 mi away
Hotel Los Castanos
Hotel Los Castanos
#1 of 1 in Cartajima
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Apartamentos Manilva Green
12.7 mi away
Villa Erina Park Hotel
Villa Erina Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manilva
100 reviews
10.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fructuosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fructuosa

Property: La Fructuosa
Address: Calle Luis de Arminan 67, 29480 Gaucin, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Gaucin
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Fructuosa 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaucin, is a beautiful white mountain village, part of the Serrania de Ronda. The Hotel La Fructuosa is in the centre of this lovely village, offering a calm, cozy atmosphere and spectacular views, from each of the five large and comfortable rooms and its terraces, of the Genal Valley and extending to Gibraltar and Morocco. An ancient wine press has been preserved, and is now an original setting for the breakfast room. Breakfast also may be served while enjoying the breathtaking view from the ground floor terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Fructuosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fructuosa Gaucin
La Fructuosa Hotel Gaucin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing