We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice view BUT”
Review of La Fructuosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Fructuosa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2012

beautiful room and very nice view BUT very warm, no air conditioning at all, even not a fan. The bed was uncomfortable and the service non-existant....

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nathalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesusgaucin, Propietario at La Fructuosa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

First, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for expressing your opinion in order to help us improve. In fact, our hotel does not have air conditioning, information that normally it is possible to see in all the web sites where is our hotel. However, there are floor fans available to our clients who request them. Please forgive our error in not informing you of this possibility when you arrived.
As our hotel is very small, with only five rooms, it would make the hotel much more expensive to have someone there each afternoon. However, we always inform our guests that we may be reached at any hour by the mobil phone at the reception desk or at our antique shop, which is very close to the hotel.
We regret very much that we were not sufficiently clear on these details on the day of your arrival. We hope that you will give us a second chance.
One other thing: This is the first time that someone has complained about the comfort of the mattresses. Would it be possible for you to send us an e-mail to our address, lafructuosa@yahoo.es , telling us which room you were in so that we may improve our service.
Again, thank you for having chosen us. We send you greetings from Andalucía.
Jesus and Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 203 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

We have stayed in Gaucin on a number of occasions and eaten on the terrace of this hotel so this trip, we decided to stay the night. The hotel is small and very quirky but utterly brilliant for all that. The proprietors have a really laid back approach to hospitality but it works. The room was a delight with magnificent views to Gibraltar and beyond to North Africa - all visible whilst in the shower! Sadly, the dining room was not open that night but, knowing my wife needed a gluten free diet, Luis had booked is into a nearby restaurant and mad all the dietary arrangements. Simply brilliant but with only five rooms I was tempted not to tell anybody just how good it was in case we couldn't get in next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annexe2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

You can't get better views anywhere. All the 5 rooms look out over the valley towards the south. In the distance is Gibraltar and further on, the coast of Morrocco. The rooms are large, airy and interesting. Louis is a great host and the restaurant, when open, is excellent. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights. We the room at the top of the hotel next to the roof terrace. Luckily the hotel was not busy and we had the roof terrace to ourselves it was beautiful, quiet, relaxing and had a view you would never we tired of. The room had a fridge, lovely shower and seating area a little dark in the room as the shutters were down to keep it cool but we spent much of our time on the terrace anyway. The breakfast was toast, cereal, fruit, yoghurt and cake and that was served on the lower terrace with views over the valley.

We ate both nights in the hotel, the food was great they had a regular menu and nightly specials. We really enjoyed our meals and the staff are very friendly and caring. Our room was recently featured in a local magazine which the hotel owner Luis proudly showed us. He bought the hotel years ago and did it up himself, he has done a fine job.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bagpuss_zzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Since we last came the cooking has been delegated from the owners to the staff, and, if anything, has improved. Our meal was faultless: beautifully cooked solomillo, succulent tuna, excellent lamb, and perfect sea bream. Peppers stuffed with duck are old favourites of ours. Service is charming and efficient. The terrace offers spectacular views of the valley below and Gibraltar in the distance. The interior, focused around an old wine press, is gorgeous. Only serves non-guests on Friday and Saturday and booking is essential. Go there.

We were not staying the night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 4Elmsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The view from our room was spectacular we could see Gibraltar and Africa. The room was clean and the bed linen beautiful.
Service was as always helpful but they also leave you alone to do as you please.
We had dinner in the restaurant on Friday and Saturday .the food was very fresh well presented and extremely good

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gatatriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Clean and full of character with a friendly welcome and magnificent views to Gibraltar and north Africa from all the bedrooms and terrace. Have your mobile to hand on arrival as you appear to have to phone for owner, Jesus to come from nearby to let you in. On our stay he advised that unless at least 3 bedrooms request breakfast, it is not prepared on the premises and offers an option in a bar nearby. The restaurant, which appears to operate at weekends, supplied the best evening meal of our stay in Gaucin and would particularly recommend the local Queso starter, goats cheese grilled with honey. We parked on edge of town and walked in which I feel was best option in view of narrow streets and one way systems. The hotel and town offer an excellent contrast to the more frentic nearby coastal resorts.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaucin
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rural Buitreras
Hotel Rural Buitreras
#3 of 4 in Gaucin
12 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Los Castanos
Hotel Los Castanos
#1 of 1 in Cartajima
406 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Rural Casares
Hotel Rural Casares
#2 of 2 in Casares
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hacienda La Herriza Hotel
0 mi away
Hostal Brenaverde
Hostal Brenaverde
#4 of 4 in Gaucin
8 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa rural AhORA
Casa rural AhORA
#1 of 3 in Gaucin
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fructuosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fructuosa

Address: Calle Luis de Arminan 67, 29480 Gaucin, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Gaucin
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Price Range: $104 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Fructuosa 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaucin, is a beautiful white mountain village, part of the Serrania de Ronda. The Hotel La Fructuosa is in the centre of this lovely village, offering a calm, cozy atmosphere and spectacular views, from each of the five large and comfortable rooms and its terraces, of the Genal Valley and extending to Gibraltar and Morocco. An ancient wine press has been preserved, and is now an original setting for the breakfast room. Breakfast also may be served while enjoying the breathtaking view from the ground floor terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Fructuosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fructuosa Gaucin
La Fructuosa Hotel Gaucin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing