We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food, great service, and lovely service”
Review of El Lateral Gaucin

El Lateral Gaucin
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Gaucin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: LUNCH TIME: TEMPORARELY CLOSED. OPEN from 13h. SALADS, TOASTS & PORTIONS : We have a wide range of differents options to have a light lunch or just quick bites while you relax in our terrace or inside the restaurant. EVENING RESTAURANT: From 8:00. We offer a tasting menu:4 starters each and paella y dessert. 25€. Or 4 starters each and a main course of the menu and dessert. 30€. Or you can eat a la Carte: Lobster and fish cake, Smoked sardine salad, Baby beans fried, Timbale of milk lamb, Duck leg confit with orange sauce,Oxtail raviolis,Cod loin confit etc. El Lateral Restaurant is situated in the centre of the stunning pueblo blanco of Gaucin, in the Serrania de Ronda(Malaga). We specialise in Mediterranean cuisine with influences of traditional cooking from the North of Spain.The restaurant has a terrace for alfresco dinning, overlooking a pretty plaza with fountain. This is the perfect place to be to soak up the atmosphere of the village.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fab food, great service, and lovely service”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Loved this place. It is set overlooking a small square with a fountain. The outdoor terrace is set overlooking a tiny square and fountain and so has a very intimate atmosphere. The food is delicious and is definitely the best we have had in Spain so far. The service is refreshing with genuine smiles all round. If could give them any feedback, I think it would be nice to have a side salad on the menu but otherwise I cannot fault the place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nadia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    42
    17
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The meal here was by far the best we had during the holiday. We went for the paella menu (four starters, paella, and a dessert). This was real restaurant food, not to be confused with the casual tapas bars. The starters and dessert were prepared with imagination and care. The paella was excellent. The red and white house wines (Rioja and Rueda) were of a suitably high quality. It cost considerable more than the light meals we had at the other restaurants but it was definitely worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrunkenGit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely food, quite pricey”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is a cut above the usual with good service and an enticing menu. Food is very well presented and tasty. I had the goats cheese to start which was delicious, followed by the pig cheek. Both courses were delightful and just the right amount. My husband and daughters went for the Paella which was a little too much but looked good. Girls had deserts too and we enjoyed a nice bottle of wine. Bill was around 157 euros which was pricey for the region but not when you compare to Uk. A great choice for a treat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BabRig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good food, good location, nice staff”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Having eaten in every bar and restaurant in Gaucin in a two week period, to me this is the best of them. The ingredients are all local and well sourced and, to his credit, the chef is prepared to try things which are different. We were a party of four and two of us had the tasting menu, so between us we tried almost everything except the paella. The starters were a mixture of very good, good and average. The Lateral salad deserves a particular mention because of its unusual taste combinations and the goat cheese gratin was very good.

Main courses were all very good to excellent with the (meltingly soft) pork cheeks and the wild boar in particular eliciting rave reviews. For desert, the black chocolate mousse was amazingly (dark) chocolately and sweet at the same time. If you like dessert wines, the Osborne PX Oloroso is unbelievably raisiny - a taste sensation.

The wine list is short but very well chosen and the staff were really friendly. The waitresses' English isn't good so be patient or try your Spanish. If it isn't too busy the chef speaks perfect English.

Great location, great interior decor and a nice outdoor terrace. The prices are high for rural Andalucia but very good value if you compare to any city in Europe, or most Northern European countries in general. I would recommend highly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campanillas
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A gastronomic corner”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Situated in a quiet corner of a small plaza in Gaucin, itself a lovely and picturesque Andalusian village, this restaurant is a delight. The staff are charming, friendly and efficient, and the food is a wonderful surprise, blending a classical touch with traditional Spanish fare. The wine list is excellent and comprehensive. The outside tables overlooking the square give a charming ambience for a leisurely experience. However, it is not cheap!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PadrePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Lateral Gaucin also viewed

Gaucin, Costa del Sol
Gaucin, Costa del Sol
 
Gaucin, Costa del Sol
Gaucin, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Lateral Gaucin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing