We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much more than just a fabulous restaurant!”
Review of Caserio Ananda - CLOSED

Caserio Ananda
Price range: $33 - $100
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Asador de leña, Cocina Natural, productos de Temporada; Setas, Tagarninas....
Torremolinos, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So much more than just a fabulous restaurant!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We l¡ate lunch there today and have come away with the feeling of well-being that comes with a totally satisfying restaurant meal. Not simply due to the delicious, authentic food that is prepared with love and flair with only the best local produce, but also thanks to the totally original and homely atmosphere that forces you to disconnect on every level.

This is a wondeful restaurant, but it´s much more than that. It´s part of the history of Mr Henderson´s Railway. It´s the brain child of two people who love their country, love their culture, love their food and their wine and are bountiful enough to want to share their passions with clients that walk in the door as strangers and know as they leave, that they will back again, again and again. Thank you Angeles and Pedro.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    1
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A fantastic dining experience!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

On arrival we were offered a beautiful table in the garden. Surrounded by lovely plants and herbs it was the perfect setting for dinner. The service was warm and friendly, with some special extras - like fresh herbs from the garden in the G&T - unique and a real talking point. The food was exceptional. Highlights from the starters included slow-roasted peppers with garlic, cooked to an old family recipe and a homemade tomato gazpacho with manchego cheese crisps. All of the mains were outstanding - rack of lamb, fillet steak and roast suckling pig with orange. Amazing. We had a very nice bottle of Albarino white wine which was well worth the 18 euro and a lovely bottle of Syrah red also around the same price. Puds were just as good - shared apple strudel and fruit crepe - too full to have a pudding each! We finished up with coffee and complimentary liquers. The coffee beans were brought to the table for us to grind ourselves which was a bit of fun and the coffee was then served in a little cauldron pot with a hot coal added to keep it warm! The owners were very friendly and enthusiastic about the food and wine - happy to make recommendations and discuss the ingredients. What more to say - we absolutely loved it and will return. A note to those that may not know the area - this restaurant is not in Gaucin itself - it's in El Colmenar (estacion de Gaucin) - a 15 minute drive from Gaucin. We booked a local taxi for the return journey which was only an extra 10 euros a head for 4 of us. If you're in the area you must visit this restaurant - a great night out and well worth the money for the standard of food and service on offer!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jsmud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire,
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A Fun Evening”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We found Caserio Ananda by chance having tried to find a restaurant we went to some years ago, which no longer exists. After the somewhat torturous drive down from Gaucin we were delighted to find a haven of peace beside the railway.

We were a party of three generations, four adults and three children, ranging from 4 - 8, and the restaurant could not have been more charming and helpful. We were the only customers and a large table was bought out for us onto the lush green lawn . We much enjoyed seeing the local "romeos" riding their horses along the road and chatting up the girls - so much nicer than youths on mopeds! Also as it was evening time there were some locals taking the air and walking along the railway platform - all so attractive with the blazing flowers and the backdrop of mountains and a sunset to watch.

We ordered the beef on the grill to share between 4 of us and what came looked like half a cow! Absolutely delicious, and luckily we'd been advised to order two portions rather than 4! The children all chose different things too and everyone really enjoyed their dinner. The highlight of the evening came for the children when shortly before 11pm there were flashing lights followed by a hooting and a very long and large goods train came rumbling through the station.

It was a really fun evening, although definitely expensive, but the charming couple running the restaurant made it an evening to remember towards the end of our holiday near Gaucin. The road back up seemed not to be so long!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carpet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent excellent excellent”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We ate there on the 20th July for lunch (a very late lunch) on our babymoon - they had stayed open just for us, cause we thought it would take us 1.5hr to drive from Arcos de la Frontera, but we ended up getting lost and took a big detour, and arrived ~16h, and despite being 2 hours late they made us feel super welcome (as they did the last time). We had:
- tomato+mint soup - fantastic
- artichokes (melt in the mouth soft) for my wife who is vegetarian - they cater brilliantly for vegetarians, if you ask
- lamb shank for me (i'm not usually very fond of lamb, but it was the special of the day and it was unbelievably tender and delicious)
and they made me a special pot of coffee (i got to grind it myself!) to keep me awake (after all that food) for the journey home.
Anyway, a lovely lunch and experience, and we would highly recommend it to anyone in the area.
PS If you're coming from Arcos, follow the road with a small sign to Colmenar and you will save yourself at least 30km of round trip!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wdlbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Lunch to Remember”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We came here for lunch on 29th June, whilst holidaying in Gaucin and I'd say that it has to be one of the most memorable lunches we've had during our years of travelling and eating out. The place itself is beautiful, a lovely ambience, the staff really friendly (especially if you speak a bit of Spanish) and the food absolutely perfect - the best kind of Mediterranean cooking - simple, rustic, good qulaity ingredients, cooked with passion.

We'll return time and time again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caserio Ananda also viewed

Gaucin, Costa del Sol
Gaucin, Costa del Sol
 
Gaucin, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing