We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and relaxing”
Review of Molino del Carmen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gaucin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Molino del Carmen
Kent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Comfortable and relaxing”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We spent two fantastic weeks in Lillias Pastas apartment which is a beautifully presented and well-equipped apartment in a converted olive mill. There are two good sized bedrooms, two bathrooms (his and hers - very handy!), kitchen and living area. There isn't any air conditioning but there are two large fans which were very useful! There is a small patio area with pretty plants but, unfortunately, no view and which also overlooks the main road into Gaucin which can be a bit noisy especially in the evening. There is a lovely pool and plenty of sun loungers which on the days we used the pool area, we had virtually to ourselves. There is also a library/games/dvd room. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. The owner met us and reserved a car parking space for us immediately outside the door and who was very helpful and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. Gaucin is a lovely white village in the mountains. Even though it is quite small, there are plenty of tapas bars, restaurants and a delicatessen owned by a very helpful English lady where you can buy pre-cooked meals, fresh bread, wine etc, all in walking distance of the mill. (Quite hilly - good for the calf muscles!). There are also a couple of supermarkets, post office and a municipal pool. The views to Africa and Gibraltar are outstanding. We found the locals to be extremely friendly and welcoming but not much English spoken. There are many other white villages to visit in the mountain area and the coast is about 30-40mins drive. All in all, we had a lovely, relaxing holiday in this beautiful apartment in this gorgeous part of Andalucia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MuvGeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed in Don Jose's chamber and it was perfect for a couple. We had spent over a week in Spain already in hotels and really wanted our own space and our own kitchen, so we were delighted with what we found upon our arrival.

The décor was extremely tasteful, the bathroom and kitchen were lovely, and there was a nice TV and couch on which to watch the build up to the Euros (the TV had all the English freeview channels which was a pleasant surprise!). The pool and balcony were great, and the DVD library was a really nice touch given that Gaucin itself is quite quiet at night.

The best thing about the room was the amazing view we had from the bedroom window over the surrounding white villages and even out to Gibraltar.

We thought this was a really well run establishment and there was some lovely touches, including a welcome pack that even had info on where you may be staying next (Ronda, Tarifa etc...) however it would have been good to have had some info on local walks (although we are nitpicking now!)

All in all a lovely stay, and we absolutely loved Gaucin and we would certainly go back. Make sure to try the pigs cheek in Pedro Ximinez sauce at El Puente!

Room Tip: The website gives a good account of what room suits which needs, so be sure to study this before boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachj_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My partner and I spent 9 days at Molino del Carmen, staying in Casa Carmen. We had the most fabulous holiday and didn't want to leave! The Molino is utterly perfect in every way - beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, it provided the perfect place to stay for a relaxing Spanish holiday. The owners of the villa met us on arrival and were wonderful hosts - Alan was so helpful and recommended a number of local restaurants to us, and was always around if we needed anything.

Our villa was gorgeous, and we loved the many, many personal touches and fabulous decor throughout. The pool was lovely and on a particularly scorching day I spent a perfect afternoon taking advantage of the library just indoors next to the pool as it was too hot to sit outside!

The view out over the mountains, down to the coast and across to the mountains of north Africa is one of the most stunning I have ever seen - the Molino is perfectly situated to appreciate this.

All in all this is one of the best places we have ever stayed - we will be going back and have already recommended it to our friends and family!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bridgford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My partner and I spent a week at the Molino del Carmen after finding it on sawdays.co.uk. We also looked at the reviews on tripadvisor and completely agree with the other recommendations.

We stayed in Dancaire's Den, and despite this being one of the smaller suites we had everything we needed for an enjoyable and relaxing holiday. Even on the hottest days the suite kept cool, the bed was a 10/10 for comfort and we had fantastic views of Andalucia from our windows right down to the coast, Gibraltar and as far as Africa. The pool was right on our doorstep and only ever had one or two other guests there so we almost had it all to ourselves.

There was a small communal games/books/dvds area which we made use of, things such as this along with the smaller details and decorations show the thought that has gone in to making guests' stays here memorable, although the picturesque town and views of Gaucin were already a good start!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Carrymores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta (Europe)
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a four-night stay at the exquisite Molino del Carmen. We stayed in Escamillo's Villa and it was simply perfect. The lovely owners greeted us with a bottle of sparkling Cava Wine to celebrate our 35th Anniversary. Our residence had a breathtaking view down to the coast of Gibraltar and Morocco from huge balconies in every room. Every morning, from our bed, the first sight to greet our eyes was a splendid view of the village and surrounding mountains. The furnishings are very moroccan and exotic. Every possible comfort was there for our pleasure. The whole Molino is spotlessly clean and furnished with lovely authentic pieces. The feeling throughout is of Southern Spain and the excellent memories I have of the Molino del Carmen and Gaucin will linger on in my heart. I definitely recommend this jewel to all of those who are romantic at heart and want a genuine feel of Spain.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cachia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I stayed in Escamillo's over the May bank holiday. The Molino is beautifully furnished and has stunning views. The village of Gaucin is very charming and is a good centre to explore the surrounding area. The apartment was immaculately clean and offered everything we could have asked for. We also had lovely weather and enjoyed relaxing by the pool as well as eating in a number of local restaurants. 3 days wasn't enough and we will definitely return for a longer break.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We looked at the reviews of this accomodation prior to travelling and also used the Alistair Sawdays Travel guide, in which Molino del Carmen features. We have used Sawdays recommendations in other countries previously and have never been let down. We stayed in Escamillo's Villa and found everything was to our satisfaction. We are a family of 4 with a 2 year old, so safety was important to us. A cot, stair gate and high chair were all provided. In addition all opening windows/terrace areas had good metal railings. The furnishings were to a very high standard and the villa was immaculately clean. Alan, the father of the owner was on hand when required to give advice and to check if everything was to our satisfaction. We stayed during the Easter week so saw the annual Toro de Cuerda en Gaucín (The Bull Run). This was certainly a key event for the village and enjoyed by many locals. It is not recommended for anyone who is not keen on seeing 3 bulls running as they do get a little worn out by the end. We travelled far and wideand enjoyed the stunning scenery. A week was not long enough and we will definetely be going back.

Room Tip: Look at the website - http://www.molinodelcarmen.com/
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaucin
2.8 mi away
Hacienda La Herriza Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Buitreras
Hotel Rural Buitreras
#3 of 4 in Gaucin
9 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Fructuosa
La Fructuosa
#1 of 4 in Gaucin
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Hotel Los Castanos
Hotel Los Castanos
#1 of 1 in Cartajima
373 reviews
13.9 mi away
Molino del Santo
Molino del Santo
#1 of 2 in Benaojan
1,156 reviews
16.4 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molino del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molino del Carmen

Property: Molino del Carmen
Address: 67 Barrio Alto, Gaucin | 29480, Malaga, Gaucin, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Gaucin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Gaucin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Molino Del Carmen, guests are accommodated with the exquisite hospitality that has long been the custom in this part of Spain. Six chic self-catering apartments, most with uninterrupted views down to the Mediterranean Sea, Gibraltar and the Rif mountains of North Africa, offer cool, classic surroundings. Tastefully finished to reflect the Moorish roots of the region, all rooms are designed to afford the Mill's guests privacy, comfort, and a haven of tranquillity in this authentic Spanish town. Linked by arched doorways, shady corridors, sun-drenched view terraces and leafy patios, Molino Del Carmen's luxury suites provide perfect accommodation for today's sophisticated travellers. Facilities at the Molino include the Pool Terrace, complete with loungers for soaking up the sun and a Rainforest Shower, plus a Library fitted in the Moorish tradition for avid readers to curl up comfortably with a book, and a laundry for the use of guests. Linen is provided - thick and thirsty white towels and luxury Egyptian cotton sheets are standard features. All kitchens are completely equipped with all cutlery, crockery, glassware and full cooking facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing