We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Molino del Carmen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gaucin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Molino del Carmen
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We had a fantastic holiday staying in this beautifully converted molino. The owners are friendly and helpful and the apartments are comfortable and stylish. A fabulous pool is located on one floor with plenty of sun loungers. There is also a library with tons of books and dvds in case you get bored of stuffing yourself with tapas at night. We stayed one week which was probably enough as we had eaten in every restaurant by the end of the stay as it's only a small town. The views from Gaucin and the Molino are spectacular too. My only complaint is that we stayed in Lillias Pastia apartment and the website said it doesn't have such panoramic or far-reaching views as the other apartments, which implies there is some kind of view but there is literally none. There's a lovely Bougainvillia covering most of the balcony and then you can just make out the top floor of the building opposite. I was really disappointed and felt like I'd missed out on what makes the Molino really special; the view. But at the end of the day, we still had one of the best holidays we've had so far. I'd definitely recommend it; just make sure you have a room with a view!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripovermyowntwofeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 80 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2011

The welcome and quality of accommodation is excellent. This was our second visit having first been two years ago and was our first choice when wanting to return to the area. We stayed in Smugglers Suite but had not realised it was not totally self contained which would not have been an issue later in the season when drier and warmer-it was wet at times and chilly at night. Despite this we settled in and really enjoyed our week with a log fire at night. We look forward to returning sometime in the future....

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheilaLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

What a great find! We stumbled on the molino and Gaucin by doing some innocent web-surfing and were so intrigued that we booked a week in late summer. It was perfect for us, well furnished and spotless with stunning views. We stayed in the Escamillo apartment and one night in Don Jose's, as there was another booking coming into our first apartment. Both were superb and although different, had the same special little touches running through. Alan and Jo on site were fabulous and so helpful with loads of local knowledge and recommendations. My husband can talk for England, but Alan was very patient - thanks for that! We will definately be back as 8 days was not enough. There's so much to see and do and great tapas and drink to be had locally. An all round great holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saz200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We spent one week in May at the Molino as part of a much longer trip through Spain and France and could easily have spent more time there. Forget the over developed coastal strip and head to the mountains anywhere in Spain, particularly to this region with its beautiful white villages. The most famous of these, Ronda is only a 40 minute drive away. There is also much to see by going off the beaten track.
Our apartment, Don Jose's chambers was delightful with a wonderful view down the valley and overlooking the pool. One huge plus for long term travelers is the availability of a washing machine and roof top area for drying.
Just walking around the town is a delight and there are plenty of cafes and restaurants for enjoying al fresco dining. But self catering is made easier by the proximity of a well stocked supermarket and a deli where you can buy great ready prepared meals, including paella.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz and Arthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We took our 15 month old daughter on her first trip abroad and chose the Molino after reading about it in the Guardian travel section, We flew to Malaga with Jet2 and then hired a car (found it a bit tricky getting out of Malaga as the apartment's directions were a bit confusing - or maybe that's my navigating!) The 1.1 engine car struggled a bit with the mountain roads.

Anyway on arrival we were greeted by the owners and showed round our gorgeous apartment which was equipped with everything you could need including a cot and highchair for our little girl. Lovely beds, very clean and beautifully decorated. There was a nice outside terrace (no view as with a couple of the other apartments but you are advised of this on the website) it was perfect for sitting out once our daughter had gone to bed.

My only slight negative was that the actual sunbathing area poolside is a little small and in the great information guide it does say that when the molino is in full occupation that it holds 16 with 10 sunbeds and to use your terrace. I found it a little uncomfortable with 4 or so other couples all trying to ignore each other. I found with a small child I was trying to be careful that she wasn't making too much noise and didn't annoy anyone. But I do think the apartments are child friendly - as is Gaucin - and this is just my opinion.

Gaucin is a gorgeous mountain village with lots of lovely bars and restaurants.

We thoroughly enjoyed ouf first family holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktd17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Forget the crowded, over-developed coast, if you want the real Andalucia, you need to come up into the mountains and to the white village of Gaucin.

The Molino del Carmen apartments are a perfect retreat, with very helpful (but unobtrusive) hosts and oil painting views down the valley and across to the ocean everywhere you look. Great pool on the sun-soaked terrace was just what we needed after our hikes in the beautiful surroundings, excellent food from Julie at La Casita (not to forget Darren's drinks at the bar!) - we will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rutlands_Finest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

I visited the molino at the end of May and stayed for one week. At the end of the week I really didn't want to leave and next time would definitely extend it to 2 weeks, as there is so much to do in the immediate and surrounding areas. In-particular there is some fantastic guided walks to be done, which cater for all levels, beware of some of the more extreme levels as it can get quite hairy at times.

The scenery is breath taking and the Molino showcases it so well, with out a doubt the best views in the village. On one particularly clear morning we could see right down to the sea and make out the coast of Morocco in the distance.

The molino itself is a great place to stay. It is immaculately clean and well appointed. With great attention to detail, I particularly liked the fluffy towels and soft egyptian cotton bed linen, when so often in hotels you find they are over used , these felt brand new. The pool area is a great place to kick back and relax after a day out walking and is also kept immaculately clean. The family owners who were in residence at the time couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. You can clearly see this is a labour of love for them. Looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kate_wesson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaucin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Buitreras
Hotel Rural Buitreras
#3 of 4 in Gaucin
12 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Fructuosa
La Fructuosa
#1 of 4 in Gaucin
203 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hacienda La Herriza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hostal Brenaverde
Hostal Brenaverde
#4 of 4 in Gaucin
8 reviews
4 mi away
Casa rural AhORA
Casa rural AhORA
#1 of 3 in Gaucin
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molino del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molino del Carmen

Address: 67 Barrio Alto, Gaucin | 29480, Malaga, Gaucin, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Gaucin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Gaucin
Price Range: $486 - $1,138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Molino Del Carmen, guests are accommodated with the exquisite hospitality that has long been the custom in this part of Spain. Six chic self-catering apartments, most with uninterrupted views down to the Mediterranean Sea, Gibraltar and the Rif mountains of North Africa, offer cool, classic surroundings. Tastefully finished to reflect the Moorish roots of the region, all rooms are designed to afford the Mill's guests privacy, comfort, and a haven of tranquillity in this authentic Spanish town. Linked by arched doorways, shady corridors, sun-drenched view terraces and leafy patios, Molino Del Carmen's luxury suites provide perfect accommodation for today's sophisticated travellers. Facilities at the Molino include the Pool Terrace, complete with loungers for soaking up the sun and a Rainforest Shower, plus a Library fitted in the Moorish tradition for avid readers to curl up comfortably with a book, and a laundry for the use of guests. Linen is provided - thick and thirsty white towels and luxury Egyptian cotton sheets are standard features. All kitchens are completely equipped with all cutlery, crockery, glassware and full cooking facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing