We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to renew”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Estalagem Lago Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Very quiet and beautiful location. Staff are nice. The decor is stuck mostly in the 70s or 80s. Carpeting in the lobby is a very strange plaid design. Bedroom furniture is solid wood - but it's from another century - it has a non-functioning radio built-in. Television offers 4 Portuguese channels, one French, one Spanish, and one Italian channel. There is a wardrobe just as you enter the door, and right in front of it, a sofa. So, you can sit on the sofa and look at the wardrobe. Breakfast was good. Overall, price was a bit high for low season and very dated finishings.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kccarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Estalagem Lago Azul
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 93 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed in a standard double room with river view and the place is magical. Great view, calm and peaceful. I have paid more for a room, but I think they should re-think their prices or redecorate all the hotel. Dirty and old rug everywhere, the furniture was very old. But worst for me was the breakfast...very poor. Great pool, very relaxing week end.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandrine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Estalagem Lago Azul is a Amazing! The location is Divine, Nature and Silence at its Best...

I had a lake view bedroom and waking up there is an experience by itself. Staff was wise and experient and restaurant was Portuguese tipical food at its Best.

Thank You to the peolple of Estalagem for the Work they are doing! Congratulations
I definitely Reccomend!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank infinityom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed at estalagem Lago Azul in October for 1 night. Although uncommon, weather was fantastic for this time of the year.

Stayed in a standard double room with river view and the view was absolutely fantastic. You could see the view from your bed. Room is comfortable, not very big but has a separate section with a sofa and closet. There is a phone, mini-fridge and TV in the room. Bathroom is modern. The rest is a bit outdated but still “comfy”.

The hotel has a nice pool plus there is a calm river that you can swim in. For a swim in the river better going 100 m to the left of the hotel and you’ll have a delimited swimming area with floaters that make it safer to swim (river is very deep – can’t see the bottom). I heard that off-season these floaters are removed.

Hotel also has a restaurant. A bit pricy: a modest meal for 2 with bottle of wine cost us 50 €. The alternative is to drive 5-6 km to the village of Ferreira do Zezere. Near the swimming area by the river you will also find a simple café/ restaurant but don’t think it is open at night.

The hotel also has a small playground, mini-golf, peddle boats, tennis court, an area inside where you can play pool and ping pong. Everything for free (except the peddle boats).

Besides the noise from the passing guest or from the occasion motorboat you will find youself in great silence and in perfect harmony with nature. Must say it is a very very relaxing and romantic place to be. At least this is how it was off season.

Like other reviews I confirm that the employees aren’t extremely nice but nice enough.

Breakfast is also ok. It had the basics: It included different kinds of bread, ham, cheese, scrambled eggs, sausage, some cereals including corn flakes, some canned fruits, some fresh fruit such as apples, yogurts, milk, coffee, etc…nothing special.

Bedroom not spotless clean...some dust behind the furniture but ok. Bathroom very clean.

Definitely the hotel is well worth for it’s cosyness, view and location.

Room Tip: Top floors have better view.Suites are on the corners and are 100% private and facing the river. Som...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

With such a beautiful location we could expect to arrive to a real unforgetable place. And it was, unfortunatly for all the wrong reasons.
We stayed at a lake view room, a little bit small for the asked price: 115 euros per night, but immediatly forgot about it as soon as we opened the window: the view deserves it! So with such a good review way we would not recommend this hotel to a friend ??? just this: we could not see a simple smile from the staff from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, just unhappy people that makes every litle client-attentive action to be the most undesirable thing in this world... being in a wonderful place with people that really doesn't care sbout us being there made us feel bad and unhappy, not even a thank you and have a nice trip at check out ... and we didn't even complain and kept this toughts for us and for you my friend ... keep reading and writing, that makes our vacations better

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1000spots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

The hotel is loatted in the Zezere RIver, with priavte dock, and direct acess to the river. It is surrounded with the florest and with a very quiet and peacefull setting.
The decoration is a little dated, but very well kept, all very cosy and confortable. The staff is generally very friendly and helpfull.
The rooms and large, confortable and with very good views of the mountains and the river... very relaxing!!!. the room is very conforable and spacious, but the furniture is a little dated, but very confortable and cosy. there´s a mimibar, bathroaps, all the amenities and you may need.
there´s a guest room, bar and a restaurant very marvelous views, with a stylish fireplace. Also a large games room with a pin-pong and snooker table. Outside there´s a big swimming with sunbeds, sorrounded with a magnificient garden. Next there´s also a tennis court, minigolf, and outdoor playground.
Although we didnt had dinner, the restaurant is very nice, with large selection of Breakfist choices, with excellent quality and variety!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pedro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

This hotel is in a fantastic location overlooking the River Zezere. The room we had was very comfortable, if a little small, but it had large windows and waking up to the view each day was amazing. It was spotlessly clean and towels changed each day. The hotel has a nice bar area and an outside terrace overlooking the swimming pool (free pool towels provided) and river. We ate in the restaurant one night and had the 4 course menu of the day (19 euros each) which, although not haute cusine, was delicious and traditional. All the staff were very polite and helpful with a couple of them speaking pretty good English! When we went at the end of October the hotel was very quiet and in fact for two nights we were the only guests but we were quite happy with this as we wanted peace and quiet. The only possible downside to the hotel was that it is at the end of a 5km windy road and everytime you go out anywhere you have this drive to the main road but we felt the location more than made up for this. Just down from the hotel is a small, stony river beach with a pontoon which incorporates a swimming pool, paddling pool and a ladder for access to the river for swimming. All in all, although by no means the height of luxury, it was lovely and I would highly recommend it

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seahorse5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferreira do Zezere
3.4 mi away
Casa Do Adro Hotel
Casa Do Adro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ferreira do Zezere
62 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel dos Templarios
17.3 mi away
Hotel da Montanha
Hotel da Montanha
#1 of 1 in Pedrogao Pequeno
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Convento Da Serta Hotel
24.2 mi away
Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos do Lago
Apartamentos do Lago
#1 of 8 in Ferreira do Zezere
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem Lago Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem Lago Azul

Address: Castanheira | in front of the Blue Lake, Ferreira do Zezere 2240-132, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Ferreira do Zezere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ferreira do Zezere
Price Range: $81 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estalagem Lago Azul 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Estalagem Lago Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing