We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quinta Tapada do Gramacho
Ranked #2 of 3 Estombar B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Calm and well located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

The B&B is well located, just 15 minutes from beautiful beaches but well outside of the 'stone desert' of some of the villages on the coast --- very pieceful in green surroundings. The renovated farmstead is close to Silves, a charming historic city with attractive bars and restaurants.
The B&B is renovated with a stylish hand. The owners are very friendly and helpful, yet do not impose themselves on their guests. They have young children themselves, and it made my young family (3 childeren under 5 yrs old) feel very much at home.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wipama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

A charming B & B located away from the crowds in a river valley but close to the attractions of the Algarve. The room was comfortable and clean with a great deal of attention to detail. The owners create a warm, family-like atmosphere and are extremely helpful and accommodating. A wonderful retreat from which to visit the Algarve.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PopsOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2009

Quninta Tapada do Gramacho is a real hidden gem. Set in a beautiful picturesque location, this modern accommodation is very clean and a real home from home. The Dutch couple that run it are really friendly and helpful - Karin bakes her own bread for breakfast as well as providing delicious homemade preserves and jams. Karin gave us great recommendations for local restaurants (where we had the best minted lamb loin I have ever tasted!!) and really went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable and relaxing. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna-Dodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.I./France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

Good points; A friendly hostess who makes the most delicious bread and preserves, designer rooms that are quirky, comfy, well equiped and clean, quiet surroundings yet just minutes to Silves and easilly linked to the motorway/coast.
Bad points; we probably won't be able to return for at least another year.
As a couple I think it might not be a good idea in high summer as the guesthouse seems very popular with families but for shoulder season an ideal, quite romantic destination.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbacni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

I stayed at Quinta Tapada do Gramacho with my partner for three days in July. It was fantastic. The phrase "personal touch" is much bandied around, but this place really does have it. The Dutch couple who own and run the establishment go out of their way to make you feel at home from the outset, and nothing is too much trouble. It's set in a beautiful spot on the outskirts of Silves. You can get to the town centre in 5 minutes, and to some fantastic beaches in 20. Testament to how we felt about this place is that 24 hours after checking out, we checked back in again - the subsequent hotel couldn't match it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSL_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estombar
2.0 mi away
Colina dos Mouros
Colina dos Mouros
#1 of 1 in Silves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
6.8 mi away
Suites Alba Resort & Spa
7.2 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Lagoa Hotel
Lagoa Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lagoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rio Arade Manor House
Rio Arade Manor House
#1 of 3 in Estombar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
4.9 mi away
Vale d'El Rei Suite & Villas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Tapada do Gramacho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Tapada do Gramacho

Property: Quinta Tapada do Gramacho
Address: Sitio do Tapada do Gramacho | near Silves, Estombar, Lagoa 8400-080, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagoa > Estombar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Estombar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tapadado Gramacho is an under architecture restored Portuguese farm on 7 hectares of land bordering the river Arade near the historical village of Silves. It's uniquely situated in a nature and bird watching area. Tapada do Gramacho offers you the feeling of an old Portuguese farm with modern comfort and luxury. All set up in a peaceful place full of rest, space and nature, nevertheless near everything to what the Algarve has to offer, like beaches, golf courses, restaurants, cities etc, all within 10 minutes drive. It is also perfect for groups up to 24 people. Ideal for golf or business groups, families, courses, events, etc. The whole guesthouse will be exclusively for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Quinta Tapada do Gramacho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Tapada Do Gramacho Algarve/Estombar, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing