We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rio Arade is TOP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Arade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rio Arade
Ranked #1 of 3 Estombar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leiden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rio Arade is TOP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a fantastic week in Rio Arade. The manor house is absolutly beautyfull and the staff very helpfull and friendly. There were excellent restaurants to have a real Portugese meal. This part of Portugal is very attractive.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are southfacing and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    40
    4
    9
    1
See reviews for
15
111
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

When you step through the door of the Rio Arade it's like entering an oasis of cool tranquillity. John did everything within his power to make our trip a memorable one, thank you so much. I could quite happily have stayed relaxing in the beautiful garden, but my daughter wanted to see beaches and beaches we did! For my part, I like architecture and cafe culture of which there was plenty. All in all a great time was had by all and I can't wait to return and do some more exploring from this wonderful place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouMac66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We planned to stay just 2 nights, but from the moment we entered Rio Arade and met John and Carlos we knew we wanted to spend the rest of our holiday here. Our room was beautifully decorated and clean with a stunning balcony and view. The whole house was charming as were the staff, but more than that we felt relaxed and free. Tom and Zita

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomandZita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
327 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant as a tourist base. Welcoming friendly house, just like home. John is superb host and cannot do enough. Starting booking for next year already.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandCarolineUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My wife and I have just spent a very enjoyable week at Rio Arade. It was here first time but I've been coming here with some golfing friends for 6 years now - 7th trip coming up next month.

As always, John and his team were very welcoming and helpful.

The hotel itself is located in a small village so no other tourists but is close to the sea and the major resort of Portimao, About 2 miles away is Ferragudo which is a lovely fishing village with lots of great seafood restaurants. Probably what Albufeira was like 30 years ago!

Go to Rio Arade if you want a relaxing and peaceful time, it's a great place to unwind.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Just returned from an 11 night stay at the Rio Arade, great find in true Algarve village. Beautiful property with great hosts John & Carlos, who are both very helpful with any info needed. Good Restaurants within easy walking distance, and easy access to Algarve towns, beaches, golf courses and all other attractions. Loved our stay here and will certainly return. Would fully recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms offer something different
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony and Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodcote, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Having just spent 3 nights at Rio Arade all you can say is it is a place of Peace!!! Had a room onto pool area because we travel with our dog! who was made to feel at home by everybody!!Nice places to eat within walking and it was a good place to take dog for morning walk alongside river.John makes you feel at home and Carlos always a smile!!A good centre to visit along coast and easy to travel into countryside .Just a good allround place to stay!!

Room Tip: pool room if you travel with dog!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estombar
0.5 mi away
Agua Hotels Riverside
1.9 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
Suites Alba Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
2.5 mi away
Colina da Lapa
Colina da Lapa
#3 of 4 in Lagoa
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 2,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Arade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Arade

Property: Rio Arade
Address: Rua D. Joao II, 33 | Mexilhoeira da Carregacao, Estombar, Lagoa 8400-092, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagoa > Estombar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Estombar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rio Arade 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Arade Accommodation is an 18th-century Algarvian Manor House, lovingly restored and transformed into a charming guest house providing modern comforts and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Rio Arade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Arade Algarve/Estombar, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing