We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bizarre place scruffy exterior but apartments nice !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Luna Clube Brisamar
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Just returned from a week at the Brisamar well what a strange strange place. First of all we had a 2 hours 40 minutes transfer with Thomas Cook which was like the never ending journey dropping off in a number of hotels in a number of resorts and guess what Alvor is the furthest away so last drop offs. Try keeping kids amused for this time.....not good. The coach goes through Alvor and carries on and on and on its quite a ways away from town to say the least through roadworks and a building site.

The coach went into the Brisamar and we though oh dear what a dump, it needs a patching on the rendering and a damn good paint. The picture on the websites must have been taken years ago. A lot of the garden areas have been let to grow wild so we were a bit down hearted.

Reception staff were very efficient our room was not ready but they allocated us another one, massive apartment with the kitchen as a separate room could not believe how spacious and modern they were compared ot the complex, but then there was the smell oh dear like sewage. We put on the air con and went out for a walk came back and it was worse, complained at reception and we were told we would have to wait until the following day to see of there another room coming free ( i see this on another review, must be their standard line). This smell made us gag, we found the source a pipe under the fridge in the kitchen. Hubby went back to reception and demanded to be moved and voila we got another room, again very clean and spacious. Small terrace nothing special there.
We used the pools in the hotel , cushions on the sun beds delievered by the pool man, lovely kids pools. We also ate in the coffee shop, Food was basic, we are talking sandwiches and toasties but the staff were really polite and quite friendly. Really good with kids which contradicts some of the things have read on reviews. Reception staff were also nice and helpful.
Was not overly happy with the location walked into town just twice during the daytime and took taxis at night when going out to dinner 3 euro 90 each way. Reception calls the taxi and it costs 50c for the pleasure. Thre is a bus that runs 3 times a day from the complex into town but sounded a bit ropey so we never experienced this one !.

Alvor is a lovely town with winding streets and oodles of restaurants and bars as a must go to Drakes and say hi to Sara and Pat, fabulous steaks, lamb steak pie and the most authentic indian curry you will get abroad courtesy of their indian chef. Great with the kids and dining alfresco. For snacks and a friendly drink go to chill out bar talk about value for money with a wide range of taosties, wraps, sandwiches and of course the burger and chips. A large beer is 1 euro and so is a glass of Sangria its fab !.

Nice to see a good mix of shops, only saw 1 perfume shop and one electrical shop , instead there are a varying gift shops and boutiques which is something different from the canaries or mainland spain. The beach is a strange location probably another 10-15 mins walk from the main town so feels a bit disjointed but was a huge sandy beach stretching for miles, not trying to cram everyone into a small space.

We paid for a taxi back to the airport rather than endure the transfer coach, if only the travel comapnies can get this sorted. I know there are economies of scale but that really is a joke spending nearly as much time in the coach than on the actual flight

I would steer clear of the Brisamar good job the weather was fantastic and we were able to visit slide and splash an ace waterpark and Zoomarine, great for the kids. Contemplating if we would return to Alvor, not quite sure

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nlhm111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 476 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2009

I was staying in Clube Brisamar to relax with my 2 friends and enjoy the sunshine. When we arrived in Clube Brisamar, on the drive into them we could see how run down they were, and the place badly needed a paint from the outside. We arrived early but we couldnt check in till 12 noon which was fair enough. We were allocated an apt over reception, which was tiny and had a balcony if you could call it that, that could only squeeze two on to it. We didnt eat out on it as it looked like it was going to fall apart and it was filthy. We asked to be moved on arrival as it was awful but we were told we wouldnt be able to move till tomorrow morning. However we were told that the apt was recently renovated and that they were all of the same size so we wouldnt get much better. If this is what they call renovation i would hate to have seen it before this. During our stay we asked for a pillow which took 2 days to arrive and only arrived because we kept ringing reception, the handle of the door came off in my friends hand, the curtain fell off the wall, three light bulbs went, and the balcony door broke.
The location is very far from everything it is about 30 minutes to town and further to the beach. The joke of all is if you want a taxi you have to pay 50 cent to pay for reception to ring a taxi which is quite mean as you are paying enough to stay with them. I doubt it costs 50 cent to make a 2 second phone call. The reception staff are quite rude and every time you ask for something it is like you are bothering them. On the other hand the pool guys are just fantastic they couldnt be more helpful.
The entertainment at night is very very loud. It can be heard all over the complex, i wouldnt be surprised if you could hear it in Alvor. Their is no ways kids could sleep through it. On our last night we had to get up early for our flight home at 5am. We couldnt sleep so i rang to complain, this was just the final straw in our stay. I spoke to the manager and he said they had spoken to entertainment about it last week and he agreed their was no need to have it this loud and apologised. This was not very helpful to me as they should have ensured it was kept to a normal level. It was like as if the karaoke was taking place in our actual apt, that is how loud it was.
I wouldnt recommend this accommodation to anyone and i will definetly not be returning.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
3  Thank jodie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

we were here for 12 days it is not a bad base from alvor 5 or 10 min walk away which was a blessing as apart from the pool there was nothing to do our teenage daughter was bored ridged our 9 year old enjoyed the pool but both were bored at night so we spent every night down town.the staff didnt give a hoot and looked like they all hated there jobs with the exeption of one receptionist and the pool man who were very nice the entertainment was all geared towards the spanish kareoke was all sung in spanish and horrid to listen to the food was absolutley crap the only thing we ate from there was an afternoon snack of chips which were 2 euros a plate sometimes worth it sometimes not depending on the mood of the staff the rooms were really spacious and clean cant fault them at all a lot of cats and dogs though just roaming around alvor is a superb place we would go back but not to this hotel and the bus journey took us three hours from the airport longer than the flight had to do 13 drop offs before we were there but the bus back wasnt as bad 4 pick ups and away no where near as bad half the time returning if its a holiday with english reps loads of entertainment and not a lot of walking then its not for you !! we have been on much better holidays this was allocation on arrival we would never book like that again its better to know what to expect xxand there is much better hotels in alvor than this one x

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunnycloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

The hotel receptionist is probably one of the friendliest people we met at this resort. The rooms are quite nice and very clean, the resort complex is rather tired looking it needs brightened up and fresh paint on the buildings but the grounds are kept very clean. It is recommended that going to Portugal with a family to hire a car as the beaches are miles away from the complex and it is at the top of a hill which could hinder a lot of people. I can only say that the food at this resort { we went half board } is not very exciting please don't go here if you enjoy a varied menu you will be disappointed . The staff at the restaurant are like prison officers not overly friendly . I also wanted to mention the very uncomfortable bed settee and pillows we were aching every morning. If you can ignore these faults and put up with the poor food it is alright , I'm just glad we were there for one week and not two!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alib44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

We found that the clube brisamar was very pleasent, it was a 3* so you can't expect 5* qualities like some people do after reading their reviews! however it was very clean, rooms were a 4* quality, pool area was reasonable but with an excellent servvice and it wasn't overcrowded, The staff were good especially the pool man. Realisticley the main strip is a 10 min walk and the beach 15-20 minutes, but a lovely walk. Would recomend to all! Would be better to go self catering as the entertainment wasn't great and the town is more appealing without being too hectic.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

we booked this stay as aprt fo an all inclusive hotel deal with a tour operator for a weeks stay in portugal. Having neever stayed all inclusive before we were worried about the connotations of this ie lack of food diversity which had been reheated and populated by the kind of tourist who favours a stag do with a group of lads looking for an allinclusive alcohold fueled brake. Our worries were further confounded when online reviews commented on the lack of hygiene at the accomodation, lack of service and food and how it didn't reach its star rating. As such, after finding out we were too late to cancel without losing our money we decided to go with the view that we could always find somewhere nearby to upgrade.

We're glad we didn't! Clube Brisamar is located a 10 -15 min walk from the beatufiul sea front of alvor with its bars, shops and restaurants ideally located for a romantic late ngiht stroll or family meal. The walk down the hill is easy for all abilities and the friendly nature of other holiday makers regardless of language barrier makes the evening stroll an easy one. The walk back u the hill after a few sangrias is still easy but taxis are more than happy to run you back up for a few euros.

Inside the complex and the reception staff were friendly and helfpul at all times and spoke excellent english. The onsite supermarket is only open at certain times of the day with a long siesta into the afternoon and only opening for a short period in the evning, as does the onsite gift shop. Both shops are quite pricey for english goods, but they do stock plentiful supplies of english brands for younger children or those not wishing to tempt local foods but local brands are cheaper.

In the restaurant and its self service buffet but the staff are on hand at all tmes to assist and the range is plentiful and fresh and hot with branded soft dfrinks all part of the inclusive price. The food areas are clean and maintained well with fresh food and drink supplied throughout the eating times.

Into the accomodation and it was very spacious apartment style layouts in portugese style blocks. With spacious verandas to relax on we enjoyed many an afternoon sunbathing on our own private terrace. Inside and the open plan living room and kitchen diner is functional and spacious with all equipment needed to be self maintaining if you so wished. The double bedroom is spacious off the halway to the bathroom. The maids do let themselves in though so make sure you are prepared! although they are friendly and helpful.

our hot water did go on the blink on one day and we went to reception as it was not working, immediately they sent someone out to fix it and couldnt apoliogise enough. By our evening shower it was all fixed for us and corrected.

An ideally located setting close to town and trips out are available if you don't drive, a spendid holiday gor families and romantic couples, we will definately return. The images and reviews do not do it justice.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

We have just arrived back in the uk having spent 10 nights at the clube brisamar.
We read some reviews before we travelled and to be quite honest we were dreading our trip based on what we read. (To those people who published their thoughts) All we can say is we don't honestly know where you stayed we are wondering if there is two brisamar's?.
I am going to tell everyone who is interested the gods honest truth, we were booked to go to Rhodes in a 4star plus all inc then XL went bust. the brisamar was all we could be swapped to at short notice as hols were flying off the shelves.
Anyway back to the review. we arrived on the 23rd at 8pm expecting a night mare (please read earlier postings to know what i am on about) anyway we found the reception and were greeted by a lovely very helpful man who could'nt do enough for us (oh! we thought the rude staff must be on a night off). Then we were taken to our appartment that we were told would be a 1 bedroom wiith kitchen diner with pull out beds for our two kids 7 and 3. we were given a 2 bedroonm, 2 bathroom, 2 toilets, 2 showers,and a kitchen diner with all mod cons fully fitted and a washing machine. we thought hang on we're in the wrong place here and someone is gona come and get us and take us to the crap resort we were expecting. Then we went down for food. Now this is what seems to be most people's gripe that the food is cold and somehow in edible.
Now let me tell you the truth if you are use to eating out of the freezer cabinate in Tesco you are not gona like the food it is a simple as that. We found the food to be ok, sure it is not fantastic and some times you will have to wait for some of the things to be cooked. But once again if you approach any of the resturant staff they bend over backwards to sort out any problems.we found the breakfast to be the strangest meal but we managed to eat something every day the thing that you need to know is that the brisamar caters for an international holiday maker and not solely for brits forinstance if like me you like brown sauce with your bacon you will have to go and buy it from the shop because they dont have it. I bought some and shared it with everyone else. I tell you what though the fish and the salad you will not find any better anywhere. on the whole it was ok and the beer and spirits are not watered down either .
The entertainment was non existant and we were left to make our own fun but if you are a nice family or a couple you will have no problem making friends here and with the cracking weather you will want to go back like us. come and see us there next year and you can share my brown sauce. Oh! and the rooms are well kept by the cleaning staff as well.... Hope this helps you to make your decision

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank foxyfeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvor
0.7 mi away
Dunas do Alvor Apartments
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 24 in Alvor
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pestana Delfim All Inclusive
1.4 mi away
Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel
Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel
#31 of 76 in Portimao
434 reviews
1 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Clube Brisamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Clube Brisamar

Address: Sitio da Dourada Alvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500-053, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range: $53 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Clube Brisamar 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Luna Clube Brisamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Brisamar Alvor Hotel Alvor
Clube Brisamar Hotel Alvor
Alvor Clube Brisamar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing