We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“general” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Marachique

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vila Marachique
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“general”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

run by all people who own appartments one vote nice set up good pool very quite when i was there
pool bar now run buy owners with local help well kept gardens and pool bus stops out side complex for alvor p/ moe give it a go

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

please make sure you are aware that the driver of your shuttle may not know that your keys need to be picked up from dunas do alvor in barca street down in the middle of alvor which is a 20 minute walk from the hotel complex
this info should be provided by the complex management and is a frequent problem apparently
dont be caught out especially if its late at night

the complex itself is a little out of the way but 2 good restaurants virtually opposite called por do sol and bigreds which have the best staff ive ever come across

there are cheaper options in town and a taxi return is only about 7 euros but i can recommend that the food in bigreds is fantastic and the service is second to none

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

a very good friend of mine has one the apartments and this is my 4th time going and i love it, the pool is great though i must admit the pool bar slightly overpriced (1.50 euros for a can of coke???) its just so greatly presented, bit sad that the beach and the walk into alvor is a bit far but its still a superb place to stay and i would highly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank j3nnavi3v3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Having read some negative reviews, I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that Vila Marachique is a private residential complex. The pool bar/cafe is excellent the facilities provided are exactly what the owners of the properties want.

There is no entertainment as it's not a tour operated complex.

The owners want to retain the 4* plus surroundings in tranquil, relaxed and safe surroundings the pleases the majority of families and couples who reside or rent.

In summary if you’re looking for a holiday with karaoke, television and entertainment at the pool - book a package holiday!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Apartment was overlooking the fabulous pool and gardens. Pool for the children was excellent - baby pool for the very young and larger pool for us 'oldens' and the teenagers. Pool bar run by tony and his team who offer excellent bar meals for lunch and cold drinks. Situated on the outskirts of alvor so quite a walk to alvor town and beach but we had a car, so not a problem for us. Great choice of restaurants and beaches are beautiful coves or long sandy beaches. First time we have visited Potugal and would seriously consider coming back to this lovely complex! 9 out of 10 in my opinion for the money

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank Lozzzzzzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

This was our first visit to Vila Marachique and indeed to Portugal.We will definately be returning.The complex is fantastic.The swimming pool is larger than most hotels I would say,and there is a completely seperate pool for the little ones.It is well kept and cleaned every morning.There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool.The pool is also surrounded by a huge grassed area with several large Palm trees(if you fancy a bit if the shade).There are sperate areas for a childrens playground,volley ball and football.This whole area is gated off which makes it extra safe for the kids.
Prior to going I had read mixed reports about the pool bar.This has now been taken over by owner residents Tony and Jane.The have put a great deal of effort into transforming this area and is a great place to relax and have a drink/bite to eat.This area is open from 9am to 8pm and offers a good choice of food and drink at very reasonable prices.The staff are extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble.In addition to running the pool bar they can provide welcome packs,picnics for the beach etc.
We stayed in a one bed appartment which easily accomodated our family of four.
The complex itself is located about 20 minutes walk from the centre of Alvor.Having said that it is downhill from the complex and a taxi back at the end of the night is no more than four euros.The walk to the beach is slightly longer but the quickest route we found was to turn left by the creche(yellow and blue building as you go down) and then just follow the road down.There is also a locally run shop just down from the creche on this road which provides all the basics.The larger supermarkets being in Alvor.
There are a large number of restaurants and bars to choose from.There are also two restaurants directly opposite the complex if you dont want to walk into town.If you fancy a cheap beer then Chill out Bar does a pint for a euro and amazing toasties.This is located opposite the school at the back of the Ali Super.
There is good water park called Slide and Splash which is worth a visit.The bus journey takes over an hour.We booked a taxi for 19 euros each way and takes about 25 mins.Each to their own but we preferred this as it gave us more time in the park and less travelling.
All in all a great holiday,met some lovely families and well worth a visit if your thinking about going.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
168 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

i've stayed at vila marachique for several years now. usually for 2 weeks in the summer.
it's not in the center of alvor but it's a 15 minutes walk to all the restaurants, bars, banks, supermarket, etc. alvor is not to big anyway. to the wonderful beach of alvor is a 25 minutes walking..
the apartments are comfortable and clean. the pool area is great. nice big pool and well preserved gardens. parking is easy.
it must be great for families with children.
the vila marachique is 5 km to portimão. you can use a bus to town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank faricas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.7 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Pestana Alvor Praia
#4 of 26 in Alvor
4.0 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.2 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Marachique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Marachique

Property: Vila Marachique
Address: Urbanizacao Vila Marachique, Alvor, Portimao 8500, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alvor
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Marachique 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vila Marachique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Marachique Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing