We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“4th time ive stayed here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Marachique

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vila Marachique
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“4th time ive stayed here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

a very good friend of mine has one the apartments and this is my 4th time going and i love it, the pool is great though i must admit the pool bar slightly overpriced (1.50 euros for a can of coke???) its just so greatly presented, bit sad that the beach and the walk into alvor is a bit far but its still a superb place to stay and i would highly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank j3nnavi3v3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Having read some negative reviews, I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that Vila Marachique is a private residential complex. The pool bar/cafe is excellent the facilities provided are exactly what the owners of the properties want.

There is no entertainment as it's not a tour operated complex.

The owners want to retain the 4* plus surroundings in tranquil, relaxed and safe surroundings the pleases the majority of families and couples who reside or rent.

In summary if you’re looking for a holiday with karaoke, television and entertainment at the pool - book a package holiday!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Apartment was overlooking the fabulous pool and gardens. Pool for the children was excellent - baby pool for the very young and larger pool for us 'oldens' and the teenagers. Pool bar run by tony and his team who offer excellent bar meals for lunch and cold drinks. Situated on the outskirts of alvor so quite a walk to alvor town and beach but we had a car, so not a problem for us. Great choice of restaurants and beaches are beautiful coves or long sandy beaches. First time we have visited Potugal and would seriously consider coming back to this lovely complex! 9 out of 10 in my opinion for the money

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank Lozzzzzzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

This was our first visit to Vila Marachique and indeed to Portugal.We will definately be returning.The complex is fantastic.The swimming pool is larger than most hotels I would say,and there is a completely seperate pool for the little ones.It is well kept and cleaned every morning.There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool.The pool is also surrounded by a huge grassed area with several large Palm trees(if you fancy a bit if the shade).There are sperate areas for a childrens playground,volley ball and football.This whole area is gated off which makes it extra safe for the kids.
Prior to going I had read mixed reports about the pool bar.This has now been taken over by owner residents Tony and Jane.The have put a great deal of effort into transforming this area and is a great place to relax and have a drink/bite to eat.This area is open from 9am to 8pm and offers a good choice of food and drink at very reasonable prices.The staff are extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble.In addition to running the pool bar they can provide welcome packs,picnics for the beach etc.
We stayed in a one bed appartment which easily accomodated our family of four.
The complex itself is located about 20 minutes walk from the centre of Alvor.Having said that it is downhill from the complex and a taxi back at the end of the night is no more than four euros.The walk to the beach is slightly longer but the quickest route we found was to turn left by the creche(yellow and blue building as you go down) and then just follow the road down.There is also a locally run shop just down from the creche on this road which provides all the basics.The larger supermarkets being in Alvor.
There are a large number of restaurants and bars to choose from.There are also two restaurants directly opposite the complex if you dont want to walk into town.If you fancy a cheap beer then Chill out Bar does a pint for a euro and amazing toasties.This is located opposite the school at the back of the Ali Super.
There is good water park called Slide and Splash which is worth a visit.The bus journey takes over an hour.We booked a taxi for 19 euros each way and takes about 25 mins.Each to their own but we preferred this as it gave us more time in the park and less travelling.
All in all a great holiday,met some lovely families and well worth a visit if your thinking about going.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
169 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

i've stayed at vila marachique for several years now. usually for 2 weeks in the summer.
it's not in the center of alvor but it's a 15 minutes walk to all the restaurants, bars, banks, supermarket, etc. alvor is not to big anyway. to the wonderful beach of alvor is a 25 minutes walking..
the apartments are comfortable and clean. the pool area is great. nice big pool and well preserved gardens. parking is easy.
it must be great for families with children.
the vila marachique is 5 km to portimão. you can use a bus to town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank faricas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

First time we have stayed at this complex and we were thoroughly pleased with everything there. The apartment we had was beautiful and the complexc itself was extremely well kept and the pool and gardens fantastic. Slight comment on distance out of Alvor was a bit further than we were led to believe but we still walked it each way every evening and also walked it to the beach a few times. Will definitely go again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
478 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

Very large complex with eight blocks of apartments some would be 200 metres away from the pool. It would be unfair to generalise and label all accommodation the same as it seems each is individually owned so quality of furnishings, comprehensiveness of equipment and cleanliness etc would be different. Because there are so many apartments, you would probably have to rely on individual comments or recommendations. As mentioned, some apartments would be near the pool, others further away. The pool area is completely fenced off with pass key access to only allow residents. A good thing perhaps but annoying for families who might want to visit the area separately. Also with so many apartments some face the pool others do not. And opting for a pool facing one may mean you don’t get the sun on your balcony at all whereas some facing away from the pool could have sunny balconies. Or not. It’s all a bit hit and miss unless you know to ask these questions of an owner. Our apartment overlooked the pool 100 metres away but never saw the sun on the balcony. The complex is a good 30 mins walk into the town centre. 45 mins from the beach. The nearest shop 15 mins walk away tucked behind another complex a few hundred metres down the road and on the opposite side. Difficult to find even by car. Nearest restaurant is opposite and another two a few hundred metres by turning right out of the complex away from the town centre. Nothing on the complex open, no shop or restaurant. The complex is very well kept and quiet but overall felt a little isolated even more so if you didn’t have a car for ease of access.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KS&HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.7 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.8 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.2 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Marachique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Marachique

Property: Vila Marachique
Address: Urbanizacao Vila Marachique, Alvor, Portimao 8500, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alvor
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Marachique 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Vila Marachique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Marachique Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing