We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanastic Apartment”
Review of Clube Alvor Ria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clube Alvor Ria
Ranked #12 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Alvor
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Four golfing ladies stayed for a week in 109 in September this year. We have stayed in the apartment before. It has everything you could wish for. View overlooking the pool and harbour, spacious lounge/dining room, kitchen, 3 bedrooms (one on-suite), bathroom. Great patio for watching the glorious sunsets.
Restaurants within minutes and lovely beach and boardwalks.
What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bar2ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 27 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in Apartment 203 at the end of July. It is a wonderful apartment with every home convenience - washing machine, iron, toys for younger children in the sideboard and a collection of novels to choose from as well. I had thought the pool looked small in the photos but it is a great size with plenty of room around it. The numbered sunloungers do away with early morning starts to get one. The views from the apartment are beautiful - looking over the sea and the harbour. It is located at the end of the promenade and is also only a couple of minutes walk up into the main resort where most of the restaurants and bars are. All in all Joao was a wonderful host and we will definately be back to stay with him again. Great apartment and Alvor itself is perfect. There is lots to do during the day and every restaurant we tried was gorgeous. There are alot of the bars with music at night which were very welcoming to children. A quick mention for Hickeys bar because even though it didn't have music, the craic and the hospitality in it was second to none. All in all it was a wonderful holiday and I would thoroughly recomment apartment 203.

Room Tip: 203 - great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is not the first time I have been to Alvor and not the first time either I have stayed in Alvor Ria! We chose this location originally as it seemed close to everything and I now know you can’t get ANY more convenient than here. Location wise it’s close to the shops, bars and restaurants and its as close as you can get to the beech also!
Alvor is relatively quiet, as far as I am aware it does not even have a night club!…. Bliss…. There are plenty of late bars but none of the loutish nonsense you would see in younger resorts at all!
We have yet to find a restaurant that we didn’t like, some are better than others but on the whole the food is excellent. There is also a very helpful pin board with loads of cards with individual critiques on the kitchen wall.
One of our favourites would be one of the closest, you can actually see it from the balcony, the Windsurfer restaurant on the beech is a VERY nice place to spend some time, busy in the afternoons but not so much in the evenings.
We have stayed in three different apartments in this resort at this stage, winter and summer, all of them nice enough but I felt compelled to write this as 103 was easily the nicest we have stayed in.
It appeared to me to be furnished more like how you would your own apartment, everything is of very good quality and pleasingly comfortable. The only thing better than the apartment is dealing with the owner she could not be nicer. The same goes for the Portuguese lady who met us with the keys.
We’re already looking forward to our next stay in Alvor Ria and yes it WILL be 103!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Nitram27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We had a one bedroom apartment on this complex for a week in June. The bedroom only had single beds but the property was quite spacious, the kitchen well equipped (except no potato peeler or collander!) and there was a large lounge with a dining area. There was a dish washer and a washing machine and TV with BBC World news and CNN. The balcony was lovely and overlooked the pool and the river. Our apartment was in the shade until the afternoon but this was OK in June as it would have been too hot in the daytime sun. It caught the evening sun and sunset beautifully and we had drinks and evening meals out there most nights. The apartment was a short walk to the town, the river estuary nature reserve (with a long new wooden walkway) and to the beach, all 4 miles of it with amazing rock formations at the far end. Booking was straightforward but they don't accept credit cards and you need a bank transfer for half the cost as a deposit and the rest in cash on arrival. This wasn't a problem for us. All in all this was a very nice apartment, Alvor is a pleasant little town, well located for visiting both east and west of the Algarve coast and well supplied with bars and restaurants. Portugal was very good value, beer wine and eating out was not expensive. We had a car for exploring but it would have been easy to manage without a car once you were there. Caldas de Monchique inland and up the mountains was well worth a visit. Try Alvor and Clube Alvor Rias - I don't think you'd be disappointed!

Room Tip: 3 blocks of 3 floors. Top floor best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shelley9London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed in apartment 108 for one week in April 2011. We found the apartment to be comfortable, clean and spacious. It had a large open plan living space which overlooked the beautiful pool and Alvor estuary beyond. The kitchen was very well thought out for a family, with a fridge freezer, washing machine, dishwasher & plenty of crockery & utensils. There were 2 showers & 2 toilets, as well as a bath - a bonus for a family. Bedrooms were good too - clean & with plenty of storage.
We particularly liked the fact that the apartment was on the ground floor so the kids could come & go easily to & from the pool.
We were also impressed with the communication from the owner prior to our arrival - great instructions on how to get there.
The complex is lovely. It has a fantastic location, being minutes from a great selection of restaurants (including the waterfront restaurants), shops, the fabulous beach & the local leisure centre. It has a well maintained pool & gardens.
Alvor itself is charming & the people were all friendly & helpful (all we spoke to had fantastic English too).
Recommendations for days out nearby include a trip to Slide & Splash waterpark (kids loved it) & Silves (nice castle, quaint town). The local golf courses we can recommend are Penina & Alto.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mpes38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Alvor has sold it for me and most definitely my husband who is not a sun lover and very much a home bird. This is all thanks to Clive, Pamela and their two beautiful children, who we met in Clube Alvor Ria this year. apartment 106
We were staying in another apartment on the complex which was lovely but when Clive showed us around his with the hope of being able to rent for 2 weeks next year i was amazed. It is perfect in every way clean, spacious and the best location on the complex, especially if you have children. I have a six year old son who stills needs to be watched carefully as he only began to swim this year and in apartment 106 you would have no worries at all.
I cannot understand where the person from Scotland is coming from with her review and the fact that she was allowed to publish it without it being looked over by someone and checked out, it doesn't seem fair.
I am a very CLEAN AND FUSSY PERSON AND IT IS NOT EVERYWHERE I WOULD LAY MY HEAD and i can assure anyone who wishes too come to Alvor that this is the place too stay (106)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank loveportugal_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

This complex is fantastic. For the second time we stayed in Apt 106 which is really beautiful - we could not fault it. It was very clean, really well equipped and really homely. The furniture and fittings are lovely. We loved the fact that there was a single bed beside our double bed for our son. We stayed in this apartment the last time we stayed in Portugal, four years ago and it was just as good then! 10 / 10. Thanks to the owners for their gorgeous apartment.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chloe036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
508 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.3 mi away
AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clube Alvor Ria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Alvor Ria

Address: Zona Ribeirinha, Alvor, Portimao 8500-021, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Alvor
Price Range: $94 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clube Alvor Ria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Alvor Ria Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing