We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but Poor Apartments” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunas do Alvor Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunas do Alvor Apartments
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location but Poor Apartments”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Dunas from the outside looks great. Pity same couldn't be said for the inside. Our apartment was very spacious but very dated. Curtains had holes in them. Toilet seat was loose. The bottom of the toilet was dirty. Cushions on the sofa bed were dirty. The sofa bed was hard and very uncomfortable. A hob but no oven. One socket for a kettle, microwave and toaster. The balcony was very small with a table and two chairs. The apartment was for four. The dining table had four chairs but only three had cushions. The fridge was so noisy it kept me awake at night. The staff were very friendly. It's such a shame the apartment we had was in such bad shape. A little bit TLC and our experience of the Dunas could have been very different.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaz067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    121
    43
    14
    7
See reviews for
122
98
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bannockburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our apartment was spotlessly clean and tidy. The rooms were large and can easily hold 4 people.
We had all the appliances we wanted. They are perfectly located near to Alvor centre which has amazing restaurants and bars. The pool area is very large with a large grass area to sun bathe on.
We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room looked onto the garden which was nice. Some rooms look onto the square which has pubs and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w_stephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brynmenyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We just spent a wonderful time at the Dunas do Alvo Apartments 3rd to 12th September, this was our second visit this year went the end of Febuary beginning of March. The apartments are basic but very clean, It has a large swimming pool on site with a few snack bars. The beach is only about 5minutes walk Alvo is a lovley fishing port with plenty of restaurants to chose from Marafados/ Big Reds/ Green Door/Georget`s are all worth a visit, The Panda restaurant towards the supermarket is also worth a try there are many more Restaurants in Alvo to chose from. Eating out is not to expensive and there are some bars selling larger for 1 euro, already looking to go back some time next year

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rtalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a 10 day holiday at the start of june as a family of 2adults 2 children. The apartments are basic but clean. What else would you expect for a 3 star? The location is spot on as mentioned in previous reviews. The pool is a big hit with our kids, and is clean and safe. We also spent most evenings dining in the centre of alvor then returned to have few drinks in the cactus 2 bar. We found alvor to be very inexpensive and even returned with euros, which is a first. However the downside of our holiday was the weather. It was mostly overcast. But nobody can control the weather and we just fell unlucky as the month before had been hot. All in all it was value for money. If I was to return though, it would be without kids as I feel it is more adult focused resort and not enough to keep kids occupied.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amandabirks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just back from 2 great weeks here.
Spacious one bed apartment for 3 of us ( 2 adults and 15 year old daughter )
Was clean with plenty of storage space and beds were so comfy.
Ideally located for the beach and the centre of Alvor. No more than a 5 minute walk to both.
6th time in Alvor but first time at the Dunas and best location by far.
Large pool on site and we never had a problem getting a sunbed as it never seemed to get overly busy.
Couple of bars , a shop and a snack bar/restaurant on the site. We ate in a couple of nights and kitchen was more than adequate.
Cactus 2 bar is a must visit. Mark and Ali and their staff are so friendly and welcoming and it's such a nice relaxed atmosphere. Prices were cheapest around as well.
We enjoyed it so much we are going back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for a week at beginning of May with my husband. I'd been with a friend years ago and had always wanted to return. We were worried being self-catering that we might spend a lot of euros eating and drinking out but we couldn't have been more wrong. We had a large clean spacious apartment which we couldn't fault. The bars on the complex were very cheap to eat and drink and were next to sunbeds by the beautiful pool area. We were paying €1 for a pint of beer and €1.50 for a delicious glass of crisp white wine. We ate out in the village each evening as the Dunas are only a ten minute stroll from a wonderful selection of restaurants. The weather in May was hot and we both agreed holiday was idyllic.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lozwhitley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just back from staying at the Dunas apartments in Alvor, they are in a fantastic position for shops, restaurants and beach, the staff are very friendly and helpful, stayed here 23 years ago before we had the kids but Alvor hasn't changed much at all, we had a brilliant holiday, the kids cried on the last day because they did not want to leave, the apartment was very clean and well serviced, will be back again soon and Dunas apartments every time for us.

Room Tip: 239 is a nice large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas do Alvor Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas do Alvor Apartments

Property: Dunas do Alvor Apartments
Address: Estrada da Barca, Alvor, Portimao 8500-002, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunas do Alvor Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunas Do Alvor is a large, modern and stylish complex is located close to Alvors sandy beach and the resort centre. The spacious sun terraces that surround the pool have bars, shops and restaurants, making this an ideal choice for families and couples seeking a relaxing holiday. LOCATION-400m from Alvor beach; 300m to Alvor village; 50m to nearest supermarket; 3km to Alto golf course. FACILITIES-Free-form swimming pool and sun terrace; independently-owned shops, bars and restaurants. Holiday Highlights are free kids, subject to availability. ACTIVITIES-Tennis court. ROOMS-1 bedroom apartments (2-4 persons) have a separate twin bedroom, living area with telephone, TV, kitchenette with fridge, full bathroom and a balcony or terrace. Some apartments have a microwave oven (subject to availability). Prices are based on 4 adults sharing on Self Catering. CHILDREN-Splash pool; cots free. Child prices: age limit 16. Option Offers:- Great group deals available, pre-bookable flowers available - £33 and pre-bookable champagne available - £30. Please note: this property is located on a busy side road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dunas do Alvor Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Do Alvor Apartments Hotel Alvor
Dunas Do Hotel Alvor
Dunas Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing