We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pool!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dunas do Alvor Apartments
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Bedworth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“pool!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here last september in a fantasically large apartment. I really cant fault these apartments and try to book into them every year because we just love Alvor. Just come back from staying in the club alvorferias but wanted to use the dunas pool as the rest of our family were there and our son wanted to be in the pool with their children. 22.50 Euros per day they charged us to use the pool. What a total rip off! We seen local people coming in late in afternoon and not been approached by the pool attendant to see if they had paid. We witnessed 1 english couple been thrown out, how humilating for them. It is a fab pool but make sure your staying at the dunas before you use!! Unless you pay fernando the pool attendant on the side which I also witnessed, quick backhander! Will not travel in August again because everyone seems stressed even leonel from the chillout bar.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    124
    43
    14
    7
See reviews for
123
104
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just got back from Dunas do Alvor apartments. Huge apartment - large kitchen and bathroom. Lots of storage space everywhere. Nice and clean. Towels and sheets very clean and soft. Beds comfy. Reception very friendly and helpful. Everything you need onsite - shop, hairdressers, Cactos 2 bar, Marco's restaurant, Pic nic snack bar.

Lovely pool - hard to get the kids out. Sun loungers provided foc.

Location - close to the beach and harbour with a range of restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Twiggyfizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

just got back from alvor dunas apartments there is everything 5 mins to the town and the beach the only thing i would complain about is the 2 hour transfer from the airport we had a coach without air conditioning and it wasnt a nice experience not saying all the coaches are like this talking to other people some said it wasnt as long from the airport for them just depends where the coach is dropping off on the way..nice easy booking in apartment on arrival lots of space everything you need a few things were broken reported it they were fixed more or less straight away we had a apartment above the gift shop next to the pharmacy the road is a bit noisey and the cars coming and going in a morning and people walking by and talking sometimes got on your nerves but not to bad I would take some earplugs its a must.. bathroom very big shower wonderful twin bedroom lots of cupboard space..pool fab pic nic does very nice chicken salads and crepes to die for..make sure u visit the cactus 2 mark ali his wife lyn jane and dan fab team beautiful burgers and combo pint of super bock beer is 1 euro all day till 9pm 9.30 mark does his singing just to be warned dont ask him for crap groups or singers as we got banned for asking he doesnt sing songs by women or country and western he doesnt mind if u want to sing it he has 7 rules anyway you will see when u go and when u do go say hi from mr and mrs corby he remebers u from where u are from rather than your name hilarious but be warned if you do get a apartment where the cactus is mark sings till midnight any way the food is fab in alvor town we ate 3 times at a restaurant at the top of the hill up from gorgettes opposite the black stove its on a terrace beautiful seabass and the best periperi chicken in alvor its nowt posh just good food..try casa do rio on the cliff by the harbour lovely chicken and shrimp kebabs the silmar does very nice sardines beautiful the chinese buffet is very nice too plenty of shops to browse round do shop around though as some shops are more expensive than others..make sure you call in at paddys bar..and the pingo dolce supermarket which is up the hill is a bit cheaper than the supermarket opposite the dunas and theres more choice just about the milk the blue cartoned milk is the semi skimmed as we dont like full fat and that is the green carton it was very confusing.. make sure u go to the meeting with the rep riu he is a very nice chap and is local...all in all fab hol and will be back soon dunas..

Room Tip: room 107 was a nice cool room until the sun got round in the late afternoon road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jillhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Having read reviews about these apartments, we were a bit apprehensive about our choice of holiday. We booked an apartment privately and were very impressed with the standard. It was beautifully clean, very well equipped and they are in a fantastic location - close to both the beach & the harbour.
The swimming pool is huge and we had no problem getting a sunbed. Our children loved playing in the pool so we only made it to the beach twice.
We were pleased to find a good mini market on the complex when we arrived quite late at night. There was also a good selection of snack bars on the complex - we had lunch time snacks in most of them which were very reasonably priced & a good standard. Our only complaint was The Chill Out Bar which seemed to go out of its way to attract the worst of British - their bar slogan is "Get P****d, Get a Life" & they just had screaming children booting footballs & shouting and the owner (?) had choice language. Fortunately Alvor has so much more to offer with lovely Portuguese restaurants & bars and we would definitely come again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Dunas do Alvor Apartments are in an ideal location in Alvor, short walk to the beach & town. From our room we could just about see the sea & it was good to have a balcony with table & chairs & clothes dryer. Appartment was spacious & clean, huge bathroom with shower & bath & Lots of storage space everywhere.
After reading some of the previous comments we did think we were taking pot luck on getting a good room & I think generally we struck lucky with the view & the fact we didn't have a room above the bars & restaurants. Unfortunately this was spoilt by the the constant noise of dogs barking from surrounding properties. After 6 days of the 'dog chorus' at 5am & throughout the night we were ready to come home for a good nights sleep. As the room had no air conditioning we needed the windows open. We found on the day before we left that reception could provide fans however.
I also have to mention that when we arrived the pillows were stuffed in the wardrobe & not placed on the bed which gave an unfinished appearance to the room (not sure if this is standard procedure in Portugese accommodation!)

Alvor itself, along with the surrounding coastline & towns is beautiful. The people very friendly & restaurants superb & we would definitely go back but to quieter accommodation

Room Tip: Higher Rooms have view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becksterbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Our first trip to Alvor and it is a beautiful place. The location of the Dunas apartments is perfect for the beach and a few minutes walk only to the centre of Alvor with all its lovely resturants and bars. Thats the upside the downside is the Dunas apartments!!. There has been no money spent on this complex for years. The furniture and fittings are jaded and, broken or just not there. The beds are hard, the pillows worse. The maid service is poor, we were always short of towels and when we asked if we could have 2 hand towels and a bath mat as we were not left any the reply was we had to wait until the laundry came back at 6pm, not very helpful when trying to get ready for going out. No air conditioning didn't help, there was a unit in the apartment but it didn't work, so sleep was limited due to the heat. The pool is lovely and big but only a few sunbeds available so you had to be down there by 9am as you had no chance of getting one. The complex with some investment would have potential with its ideal position but as it standsI won't be returning to the Dunas but Alvor is beautiful and worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 27jools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We took a cheap break in May and booked into room 247 - This was a roof top and overlooked the pool and the sea. Amazing and private. It was massive - could of fit 20 people on it. The staff very friendly and helpful - even gave us two sunbeds for the terrace. Beautiful pool but didnt go in it much. Chill out bar on the complex was the best and Leonil the barman - sooo chilled.
Would book again, lots of places to eat, within 10 mins walking.
Beach lovely, for more scenic - go to the coves just 10 mins walk along beach in Pria de rocha. Chill out holiday - come here!

Room Tip: There are only three floors, so its best to get a roof top as they are private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank eccles44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.4 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas do Alvor Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas do Alvor Apartments

Property: Dunas do Alvor Apartments
Address: Estrada da Barca, Alvor, Portimao 8500-002, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunas do Alvor Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunas Do Alvor is a large, modern and stylish complex is located close to Alvors sandy beach and the resort centre. The spacious sun terraces that surround the pool have bars, shops and restaurants, making this an ideal choice for families and couples seeking a relaxing holiday. LOCATION-400m from Alvor beach; 300m to Alvor village; 50m to nearest supermarket; 3km to Alto golf course. FACILITIES-Free-form swimming pool and sun terrace; independently-owned shops, bars and restaurants. Holiday Highlights are free kids, subject to availability. ACTIVITIES-Tennis court. ROOMS-1 bedroom apartments (2-4 persons) have a separate twin bedroom, living area with telephone, TV, kitchenette with fridge, full bathroom and a balcony or terrace. Some apartments have a microwave oven (subject to availability). Prices are based on 4 adults sharing on Self Catering. CHILDREN-Splash pool; cots free. Child prices: age limit 16. Option Offers:- Great group deals available, pre-bookable flowers available - £33 and pre-bookable champagne available - £30. Please note: this property is located on a busy side road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunas do Alvor Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Do Alvor Apartments Hotel Alvor
Dunas Do Hotel Alvor
Dunas Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing