We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VISIT DUNAS DO ALVOR SEPT 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dunas do Alvor Apartments
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“VISIT DUNAS DO ALVOR SEPT 2011”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We visited the apartments Sept 2011 the complex is very good and very central to the centre of Alvor and to the fantastic beach we visited the apartments 4 years previous and the apartments were fine the apartments now look tired and could do with being refurbished would go back to Alvor in the future but not sure if we would go back to these apartments

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BLANTYRE67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    125
    44
    15
    7
See reviews for
123
108
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We have just returned from a lovely week in these apartments. After reading the reviews we were a bit worried but things were better than expected. We had room 140 and our friends had 149, both were spacious and clean with adequate equipment and loads of hanging space and cupboards and drawers. Not too much noise from the bars across the courtyard or the road.
Had some lovely meals at Marcos tucked away past cactus 2 bar and round the corner from the little supermarket, can recommend the fish and the cocktails in the afternoon and the beer was 1euro all day and night. The new board walk is a must as is a visit to the centre of Alvor at night. lovely atmosphere. Can also recommend the restaurant with an upstairs terrace across the road from the bright orange Mexican restaurant, sorry but the name escapes me.
The corridor lighting in our block was good, there were switches all along the corridors and you just patted them as you went along.
All in all a good week, good value and fab weather. Elaine, the Thomson rep deserves a mention too.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank anonfrombramley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

just returned from 2wonderful weeks in alvor,staying at the dunas do. this was our 4th holiday there. the apartment was spacious and very clean and looked after. we spent many night at the cactus 2 bar meeting up with old friends . ali and mark make you so welcome, with music and good cheer

Room Tip: apartment in the square by the pool get the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in early September. (checked out after 2)

Things did not start off well, after checking in had to walk about 100 metres to entrance door to our apatment block (there are 3 blocks). Our room was on the 3rd floor but the lift was out of order. Had to walk up approx 40-50 steps with suitcases. When we checked out 2 days later lifts still out of order. Talked to a resident (some people actually live here) been out of order for 2 weeks??

On our floor 70% of the corridor lights not working, not much of a problem during the day, but a nightmare trying to open your door in total darkness at night, also would be quite frightening for a woman on her own

The apartment itself was quite spacious but very basic, and guess what 3 of the 6 apartment lights not working.

The beds are no more than camp beds pillows and matresses hard and very old.

The kitchen had a large but very old and not particulary clean fridge. Also there was a hob but no grill, oven or microwave. Not sure how a family on self catering would actually manage to cook any sort of proper meal.

Our apartment was directly above one of the 3 bars on the complex, due to live music general noise and shouting no chance of getting any sleep before 1.30am at the earliest

There is a large and newish pool area. However there was a definate lack of sunbeds, even though there was a huge amount of spare space around the pool and garden to put them. On the day we were there I saw at least 5/6 couples turn around and leave as there was no sunbeds or chairs available even though there was actually lots of free space around the pool to put them.

Although we booked for 3 nights checked out after 2. Luckily the other 2 places we stayed in the algarve were far, far superior to this terrible place.

Loved Alvor itself, loved the Algarve, hated these apartrments.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Griffblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

A very large pool, but a bit chilly even in August. Could do with spending some money on new parasols but plenty of garden areas to sit and find shade. Apartments are in a good location for walking into Alvor in the evenings, getting to the beach and getting out and about using local buses or car. Our room overlooked the street and there was some traffic noise, barking dogs etc but nothing to really complain about. Lots of room in the apartment and very clean. Plenty of things to do in the area, some really good restaurants locally, enormous beach which is very clean. We had a great time and might even go back some day!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoonieYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

What can i say.. the apartment was a good size...the people were helpful, the pool was big and there were plenty of sun beds. But what made it was the location.. 10 mins slow walk to the beach, 10 mins slow walk to the harbour.. close to shops.. and so many restaurants we just could not sample them all.... Enjoyed our stay and would definately go back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NorthamptonSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Just got back from Dunas do Alvor 7th Aug. Had a great time. The apartments are spacious and clean. The location is superb for walking to the beach, town and harbour. We caught a local bus the number 10 to Portimaous for the Sardine Festival on Friday which was fabulous. Do take ear plugs if you want to sleep anytime before midnight. The banter and music does wend its way upwards to the apartment. Yes we would stay there again and yes I would take my own pillow again. Staff very friendly and helpful. Chill out bar does help you to chill out!

Room Tip: Pillows not great, but rooms cleaned every day except wednesdays. very spacious and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubblesmacbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.4 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas do Alvor Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas do Alvor Apartments

Property: Dunas do Alvor Apartments
Address: Estrada da Barca, Alvor, Portimao 8500-002, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunas do Alvor Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunas Do Alvor is a large, modern and stylish complex is located close to Alvors sandy beach and the resort centre. The spacious sun terraces that surround the pool have bars, shops and restaurants, making this an ideal choice for families and couples seeking a relaxing holiday. LOCATION-400m from Alvor beach; 300m to Alvor village; 50m to nearest supermarket; 3km to Alto golf course. FACILITIES-Free-form swimming pool and sun terrace; independently-owned shops, bars and restaurants. Holiday Highlights are free kids, subject to availability. ACTIVITIES-Tennis court. ROOMS-1 bedroom apartments (2-4 persons) have a separate twin bedroom, living area with telephone, TV, kitchenette with fridge, full bathroom and a balcony or terrace. Some apartments have a microwave oven (subject to availability). Prices are based on 4 adults sharing on Self Catering. CHILDREN-Splash pool; cots free. Child prices: age limit 16. Option Offers:- Great group deals available, pre-bookable flowers available - £33 and pre-bookable champagne available - £30. Please note: this property is located on a busy side road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Dunas do Alvor Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Do Alvor Apartments Hotel Alvor
Dunas Do Hotel Alvor
Dunas Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing