We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun for all” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunas do Alvor Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunas do Alvor Apartments
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun for all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

A very large pool, but a bit chilly even in August. Could do with spending some money on new parasols but plenty of garden areas to sit and find shade. Apartments are in a good location for walking into Alvor in the evenings, getting to the beach and getting out and about using local buses or car. Our room overlooked the street and there was some traffic noise, barking dogs etc but nothing to really complain about. Lots of room in the apartment and very clean. Plenty of things to do in the area, some really good restaurants locally, enormous beach which is very clean. We had a great time and might even go back some day!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoonieYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    120
    43
    14
    7
See reviews for
122
97
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

What can i say.. the apartment was a good size...the people were helpful, the pool was big and there were plenty of sun beds. But what made it was the location.. 10 mins slow walk to the beach, 10 mins slow walk to the harbour.. close to shops.. and so many restaurants we just could not sample them all.... Enjoyed our stay and would definately go back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NorthamptonSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Just got back from Dunas do Alvor 7th Aug. Had a great time. The apartments are spacious and clean. The location is superb for walking to the beach, town and harbour. We caught a local bus the number 10 to Portimaous for the Sardine Festival on Friday which was fabulous. Do take ear plugs if you want to sleep anytime before midnight. The banter and music does wend its way upwards to the apartment. Yes we would stay there again and yes I would take my own pillow again. Staff very friendly and helpful. Chill out bar does help you to chill out!

Room Tip: Pillows not great, but rooms cleaned every day except wednesdays. very spacious and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubblesmacbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EU
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed here last week and was so disappointed as the place looked nothing like the photos in the Thomson brochure. Apartment was very spacious but a bit tired. Beds and, particularly, pillows hard and lumpy. The real disappointment was the balcony - so small that it only held a small table and 2 chairs and you couldn't even walk around the table it was so cramped. The architect could easily have lost 3 foot off the living room to create an adequately sized balcony. The balcony overlooked a large paved square with a bar opposite, and a supermarket to the other side. There weren't any plants or greenery, just paving slabs and empty shops. Just depressing really. On a positive note, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the apartment and surroundings were clean. Alvor itself is lovely. Very picturesque and lots of lovely restaurants. We would definitely go back, just not to these apartments.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammyEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

If you are looking for up to date accommodation, this may not be one for you. The location is great, the pool area is good, apartments are below average, if you are anywhere near the bar then a good nights sleep is not guaranteed until after midnight. Thomson rep was very helpful. Snack bar staff etc. very good. Food typical brits abroad fare which is always a shame. Would we stay there again, probably not as we would prefer a more up to date, light airy and quieter apartment.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonythetiger69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Just returned from a great holiday at these apartments we had room number 247 it was clean and spacious with a large roof terrace that had two sunbeds two chairs and a table. The view from part of the terrace was over the pool and the sea was visible from the front between some buildings. Some of the fixtures and fittings were a little tired but it did'nt detract anything from our enjoyment of the apartment we thought it was great,look out for the kettle though it did'nt knock itself off so it's easy to let it boil dry as we almost did.
Before we left we read reports from other holidaymakers and must agree most of our daily needs can be met either on or near the complex. The Cactus bar opens at midday till midnight with live music, the Chill out bar always had a good crowd and the Pic-nic bar was a good place to have a light lunch and a cold beer they also do a mean breakfast it will set you up for the rest of the day
We like to walk and if this is a pastime that also suits you might try walking to the fishermans harbour, near the wooden huts where they stow their gear there is a boardwalk that will take you over the dunes towards the estuary take some water and your camera and if you're lucky the kite surfers will be practising they come close to the beach a good photo opportunity. Walk back along the beach cool off your feet in the sea while children of all ages collect some of the many seashells. On the eastern end of Alvor beach there is a headland that it's possible to walk around if the tide is right and you will find a number of small coves one of which has a restaurant built into the cliffs,if the tide is in too far to return the same way it's 186 steps to the top.
The local buses are easy to use we went to Portimao and Lagos on them the tickets are good for one hour so if you only wanted a quick look around the same ticket could be used for the return journey if you go to Lagos the bus for the return trip will have Abufeira on the front buy your ticket from the ticket office if starting back from the bus terminal.
The Portuguese are good trenchermen and we never had a bad meal and on the last night we returned to the one that was our favourite that was The Captains Table where we had a meal that rounded off a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank themalt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

just got back from two weeks at dunas do alvor. we've had a great holiday and nights out, thanks partly to mark, ali, lynne and helen at cactos II bar (we are the accrington stanleys...) who made us very welcome. the apartment we were in was in need of refurbishment, the drawer fronts in the bedroom kept falling off and the front of the light switches in the lounge kept coming off, exposing the insides (a bit dangerous). the kitchen equipment was basic, and reading some of the other reviews there seems to be different standards of accommodation (we travelled with thomson). someone else commented that it was good accommodation for anyone on a budget but we paid nearly 2k for three of us to stop there so i wouldn't say this is cheap.

alvor is great with plenty of bars and restaurants and a fantastic beach. besides mark's bar i would also recommend the borala bar if you like live music. eating wise, paesano's, vagabondo, al dente are all good.

i would return to the dunas do alvor apartments but not with thomsons - i would book independently as there are some privately owned apartments in the block. we also had a taxi transfer with thomsons that cost us £150.00, but you could do it yourself for a lot less.

finally, the pool area. the second week we were there it was particularly busy - people were queueing at 8.15 am to get beds (the pool area did not open until 9.00). the pool area is supposed to be private and for the use of the residents only but it was interesting to watch people from outside the complex coming in and using it. there is a pool attendant so what he was doing to stop this is anyone's guess. my sister in law has just returned from majorca and her hotel had a gate that you opened with your room key card to access the pool. perhaps dunas could install this - then they could do without a pool attendant as he does not seem to be doing the job he is paid for.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Catlover_1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas do Alvor Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas do Alvor Apartments

Property: Dunas do Alvor Apartments
Address: Estrada da Barca, Alvor, Portimao 8500-002, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunas do Alvor Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunas Do Alvor is a large, modern and stylish complex is located close to Alvors sandy beach and the resort centre. The spacious sun terraces that surround the pool have bars, shops and restaurants, making this an ideal choice for families and couples seeking a relaxing holiday. LOCATION-400m from Alvor beach; 300m to Alvor village; 50m to nearest supermarket; 3km to Alto golf course. FACILITIES-Free-form swimming pool and sun terrace; independently-owned shops, bars and restaurants. Holiday Highlights are free kids, subject to availability. ACTIVITIES-Tennis court. ROOMS-1 bedroom apartments (2-4 persons) have a separate twin bedroom, living area with telephone, TV, kitchenette with fridge, full bathroom and a balcony or terrace. Some apartments have a microwave oven (subject to availability). Prices are based on 4 adults sharing on Self Catering. CHILDREN-Splash pool; cots free. Child prices: age limit 16. Option Offers:- Great group deals available, pre-bookable flowers available - £33 and pre-bookable champagne available - £30. Please note: this property is located on a busy side road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dunas do Alvor Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Do Alvor Apartments Hotel Alvor
Dunas Do Hotel Alvor
Dunas Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing