We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fab holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunas do Alvor Apartments
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday in Alvor. The Dunas Apartments were perfect for us - in particular a beautiful swimming pool, peaceful and with plenty of sunbeds. That said, we were only a 10 minute walk from the beach - the beach is one of the nicest I have ever been to.
The apartment was clean, bright and well equipped and there were no shortage of places to go to on the complex for snacks and refreshment! Most days we ate at The Picnic or Cactos Bar as they were our favourites and most nights we came back to the Cactos as it was the busiest bar in Alvor with such a good atmosphere and the prices are a lot less than in the centre of Alvor.
That said, Alvor village itself is lovely. So many good restaurants to go to - Captain's Table, Vagabondo, Georgettes and, best of all, Ruccula (but you have to book days in advance).
The harbour is so pretty and a lovely place to sit and have a drink and watch the world go by.
The weather was hotter than we expected but we're definitely not complaining. Our holiday was everything, and more, that we hoped for. We will definitely be coming back to Alvor and the Dunas.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank benjen232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 294 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2011

Just returned from two weeks in Alvor and stopped her at these apartments. Seriously impressed at the apartment we had ( 114 B block) nece the very good rating foe the actual apartment. The apartment was two bedroom with a massive sitiing room/kitchen diner with a balcony looking over the rear gardens which is next an Italian . Well equiped with washing machine and cooking utensils. Could not complain about our accomadation physically.
However we slept badly during the two weeks. Noise was appaling from other occupants . My thanks too the chap situated in the apartment above who kindly spent his early mornings puking his guts up most days which we had to listen to almost daily and the dragging of furniture above became unbearable at 2 - 3 in the morning. The restaurant next door had noise/singing untill midnight and the barking dogs in the street was most evenings untill early hours. The last one was the young men chanting football songs at four in the morning whilst walking around was quite intimidating this happended half a dozen times. These apartments are very noisy during the day with bars pumping out music, kids screaming . If you going to stop here take some ear plugs. Apart from the noise this was a perfectly good self catering apartment for the lower end of budgets. On a plus side thanks to the Chill Out bar located on the site - absolute pleasure drinking there Lionel the owner is spot on. Swimming pool is clean, near to both beach and harbour and bars. Maids came in 5 times a week but however buy your own toilet roll as we went three day without some.I would not reccommend stopping here if you want a quite holiday we were ready to leave on the final day we had our fill of the wretching/dogs/chanting/screaming kids/football chants however you pay what you get for and its a cheap and cheerful place to stay if all you want is beer and sun which I think alot of people were there for. We wont be stopping here again or retuning to Portugal it wast our cup of tea but well done Dunas for good accomadation.

Room Tip: Ask for B block away from the main blocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GS301179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed with my wife and 3 year old after being moved from Alvorferias apts (thats another story!) Alvor is a lovely place ideal for familes, the Dunas is located 2 mins walk from new town and 5 from the beach. Stayed in a lot of 3,4,5 star appts over the years and though these are rated as 3 star they have large rooms, very clean and bright with a great pool, we have stayed in much tattier 4 stars. There are bars and cafes right on the complex with a small supermarket within 2 square areas which is ideal for the kids to play safely whilst relaxing. The 1 bedroom appt we had, room 149, overlooked the massive pool and area which is kept spotless along with a garden area and tennis court. This was our 1st time in this resort/appts but will not be the last!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GlasgowMrbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed at Dunas apartments which was lovely clean wonderful roof terrace , the best thing that made our holiday was the local bar 2 mins from the apartment called the Catus Bar 2 , wonderful warm welcome by the owners and staff , great entertainment every night with live music .

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cath657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Massive apartment with one bedroom twin beds, 3 wardrobes, dressing table, lounge about 19ft and kitchen almost brand new with freezer full size, fridge, micro, heating, full cooker , balcony nice size. On complex cactos bar with singer, brilliant laugh, chill out bar, quite but good food, great supermarket and normal not rip off prices, large pool , 15 mins slow walk to beach on flat, 10 mins other way to marina and village centre and more shops, but up a hill and then back down to marina. lovely place, only downfall was travel republic transfers went 20ki past Alvor then came back and dropped everyone off so furthest away got dropped off first, stupid, but apartments were the wait not their fault.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bezzerrhyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

From the outside the apartments looked promising, on the inside jaded, drawer fronts falling off hole in the kitchen wall, hard beds and even worse pillows! All that we could have ignored but the noise from the Cactus bar reverberating around the buildings at night was horrendous. We managed to change rooms which was much quieter, thanks to Claire the Thomson rep. The pool and communal areas are kept very clean as are the rooms; reception staff are approachable, friendly and speak good English. Alvor is a nice village with a lovely beach and good inexpensive places to eat. If you’re willing to try Portuguese food then this restaurant is a must, “Transmontana”, Miguel and his mum are really nice people and serve excellent food at very reasonable prices. It’s located just around the corner from the tourist information office at the top of the village. While there it’s easy to catch a bus to Portimao and then a train to Largos, Seville is also worth a visit. Would we go back, yes to Alvor but no to Dunas do Alvor.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aliye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

we have just returned from alvor and had a great time.The apartment was very spacious and clean,we had 2 single beds but just pushed them together,pillows not the best but we could live with that.As we went the last week of april it was nice and quiet,no issues with sunbeds infact we had the pool pretty much to ourselves and the tennis court (10 euros an hour).The pool area was excellent ,nice big pool for adults and a little one for the kids.Alvor has a massive beach with some small coves at the far end the sea was pretty nippy due to the time of year but i still went in!We had lunch in a returantst on the beach,the food was excellent.Infact every place we went to served excellent food.The town itself is small with little quirky streets leading away from the harbour but there are lots of bars and resturants to try,no problems if your into watching sports loads of screens!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lizarddibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 24 in Alvor
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas do Alvor Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas do Alvor Apartments

Address: Estrada da Barca, Alvor, Portimao 8500-002, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range: $33 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunas do Alvor Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunas Do Alvor is a large, modern and stylish complex is located close to Alvors sandy beach and the resort centre. The spacious sun terraces that surround the pool have bars, shops and restaurants, making this an ideal choice for families and couples seeking a relaxing holiday. LOCATION-400m from Alvor beach; 300m to Alvor village; 50m to nearest supermarket; 3km to Alto golf course. FACILITIES-Free-form swimming pool and sun terrace; independently-owned shops, bars and restaurants. Holiday Highlights are free kids, subject to availability. ACTIVITIES-Tennis court. ROOMS-1 bedroom apartments (2-4 persons) have a separate twin bedroom, living area with telephone, TV, kitchenette with fridge, full bathroom and a balcony or terrace. Some apartments have a microwave oven (subject to availability). Prices are based on 4 adults sharing on Self Catering. CHILDREN-Splash pool; cots free. Child prices: age limit 16. Option Offers:- Great group deals available, pre-bookable flowers available - £33 and pre-bookable champagne available - £30. Please note: this property is located on a busy side road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dunas do Alvor Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Do Alvor Apartments Hotel Alvor
Dunas Do Hotel Alvor
Dunas Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing