We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, friendly service and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunas do Alvor Apartments
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Just returned from a week at Dunas with my wife. Apartment was very spacious although furniture was basic. Maids kept the rooms and communal areas immaculate at all times. The pool area was excellent for relaxing and fernandos snack bar was ideal for an ice cold super bock while keeping out the afternoon sun, its literally right next to the pool. I couldn't fault the location, only a short walk to the main strip where most restaurants and bars are. Would highly reccommend the fillet steaks at Vagabondos Grill. There are other restaurants just round the corner to if you don't want to walk to far. The only downside from my point was the transfer from the airport. Took about 2 hours for the Thompsons coach to get us from Faro round various other hotels before its final stop in Alvor. Apart from that I couldn't fault the accomodation or the surronding area. Would go back in a heartbeat, also from what I saw its a good place to take young kids and the rest of the family.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KevinH1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 294 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2011

Last year we decided to spend our first holiday in Portugal. We stayed at the "Dunas Do Alvor" , Alvor, Algarve. What a great choice we made. And talking about choice, we strongly recommend a transfer company we used for the first time (and won’t be last) called alvortransfers , com, easy to book on line, great value for money, no queueing at the airport, speedy, efficient service…and they pamper you with a free gift on arrival, the icing on the cake!
The apartment was very clean and spacious. We were aprox 10 minutes walk from the fantastic beach that seemed to go on for ever and aprox 10 minutes walk from the centre of Alvor village, where there were plenty of cafe's, resturants and bars.
The pool area at the Dunas Do Alvor was lovely. Very large pool, very clean sunbed area, lovely "pic-nic" cafe, great "chill out bar" and "cactos bar ". The whole holiday was fantastic. Never wanted to leave. Came home with the best tan I have ever had and I don't sun bathe, got it from walking along that fantastic beach. Anyone who likes fish, try the barbequed sardines and the pasta with sea food. 2 great live music bars are Dicey Reiley’s & The Black Stove.
Needless to say, this was our first time in Portugal...it is just the begining of a long love affair with THE DUNAS DO ALVOR, ALVOR and Portugal.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We stayed at the Dunas do Alvor last October, my husband and i came back to this beautiful village, still untouched by high rise and mass tourism as such, after 16 years! And for this occasion we decided to take our 16 years old daughter and a friend of hers, and Dunas do Alvor was the right choice for us. I don’t normally read reviews and take comments with a pinch of salt, but this time with 2 teenagers girls, i thought that a bit of help would be welcome.

So this is where Tripadvisor came in handy and not only for choosing this complex but also took suggestions for best transfers options, since we didnt want to be ripped off with exorbitant prices and worst of all having to travel 2-3 hours (dropping off other people) for a journey that would normally take one hour top, and came up with a firm that kept popping up on reviews, (and not only for this side of the Algarve),a company called bookalvortransfers com, they deliver exactly what they promise, individual, private service from Airport to your doorstep, plus a free gift, a frequent traveller card…and amazingly convinient!

Dunas do Alvor it’s the perfect accomodation for a family, regardless of the age of your children, in our case it worked just fine, good size, spacious apartment, not luxurious but very clean and comfortable. The pool is quite big so you don’t have to swim on top of each other, very clean, and you can use any inflatable toys and games.
Plenty of sun loungers but no cushions (you have to pay extra for it), or you can use your own lilo, bars and shops nearby, plenty of restaurants in Alvor centre, try the Restaurante Vagabondo, fantastic food, and for drinks in the evening, music and good atmosphere use the Cactus II bar, Mark and Allie will make you feel at home!

We never had problems while in resort, on the contrary the staff at the complex were always friendly and ready to give you suggestions and tips on anything local, and despite our apartment overlloking the pool we never suffered from any noise or disturbances.
We will definitely come back, but this time in summer, our daughter and her friend loved every minute of it which suits us just fine.
Alvor worked it’s magic on us again!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mstbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed at the Dunas Do Alvor for 2 weeks in August 2010 and had a fabulous time. The location of this Hotel is fantastic, close to Alvor Beach, Pubs, Bars and Restaurants. The complex is of a good size and standard. Well kept, clean and tidy. The rooms are of a very good size with plenty of wardrobe space for a family of 4. The pool is of a good size and is cleaned regularly. There is also a baby pool. On the complex there are a few snack bars which serve food at very reasonable prices. There are Tennis Courts also but we did not use unfortunately. During our stay there were only about 30% British the rest were Portuguese. The Hotel Reception Staff were friendly and helpful. Alvor itself is a wonderful fishing village. A more traditional resort not like some other built-up spoilt resorts. 10-15 Minutes walk to Harbour/Pubs/Restaurants/Shops. The streets at night come alive with lots of lovely restaurants to suit all, even the fussiest of eaters. There is a lovely Chinese Restaurant called 'RESTAURANTE CHINES HANG ZHOU' Buffet Style very reasonable 9.50 Euros Adult 4.90 Euros Child. 'VAGABONDO' is another excellent restaurant serves fabulous food and very popular Family 4 approx 70 - 80 Euros with deserts and drinks. ' Pesano' Italian & Pizzeria again about 70 Euros family 4. Not cheap eating but food is delicious and if your a Fish lover there are fabulous fish restaurants down at the Harbour. The atmousphere is brilliant. You will love it. Praia da Rocha is only 10 minute drive with a fantastic beach. There are fabulous restaurants on the beach front at reasonable prices my favourite 'Senhora Da Rocha'. Sun beds on Praia Rocha Beach were 8 Euros for 2 beds and brolly. Praia Da Luz Beach 16 Euros 2 beds and Brolly. Went to Slide and Splash which was fantastic, good day out for all. Also I would recommend the Zoo Marine that also is a good day out. The Dolphin show was excellent. Weather was fantastic. Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? YES Would I recommend this Resort to a friend? YES. Fabulous Beaches, Fabulous weather. Hoping to go back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChesterHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

The apartment complex is kept clean, has a mini-supermarket and good choice of snackbars. The apartments are generally clean and regularly serviced during the stay, though the furniture is basic. The staff will try to help where they can and the maids are always polite.The complex is well situated for the village itself and if you fancy a short walk to the beautiul beach. There are plenty of restuarants and bars in Alvor for every budget, and overall the quality of food is good. If you choose to eat in any of the fish restaurants, check whether they operate on weight of fish before sitting down - could be pricey! On the complex Marco's Restaurant/ bar is very friendly with great food during the day and evening meals - whatever you want Marc will find it and cook it, from excellent English meals to traditional Portuguese food - always worth a go! We've been here quite a few times and always feel like we have had a great relaxing holiday before going back to the reality of work!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BillyBobOneandTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

recently returned from the dunas do alvor with 2 teenagers a toddler and my husband. the pool is fantastic. you can use lilo's, dinghy and all sorts of games in the pool so it makes it more fun for the children. complex is nice and quiet . lots of lovely bars to eat and drink and very affordable. the picnic is great for snacks and breakfasts, whilst cactos2 bar has a lovely atomosphere. live music every night and according to my husband the best pint in alvor ! easy access to the beautiful beach. tho the sea is very rough and not always avail to swim in but if you walk up the beach towards the rocks the bays there are amazing and much safer for a swim,. the local waterpark at slide and splash was an excellent day out too,

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suesharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Well just got back today from a 2 week stay at these apartments and we are planning to book a return visit for next year when the Travel Agent opens tomorrow!!

Our apartment was clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff were excellent and no problem with getting some minor issues addressed/resolved by them.

The Catcus II Bar does have live music every night until 12pm and even though our apartment overlooked the bar it did not cause us any particular annoyance. The apartments are well served with many local bars/cafes and is a stone throw from the town/beach.

The rooms could do with a little TLC but overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning in 2011.

Remember - you are on holiday - so its going to be different from the UK - otherwise why go!!!!!!

The Wright family - Dinas Powys (Nr Cardiff)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveW338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 24 in Alvor
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas do Alvor Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas do Alvor Apartments

Address: Estrada da Barca, Alvor, Portimao 8500-002, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range: $33 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunas do Alvor Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunas Do Alvor is a large, modern and stylish complex is located close to Alvors sandy beach and the resort centre. The spacious sun terraces that surround the pool have bars, shops and restaurants, making this an ideal choice for families and couples seeking a relaxing holiday. LOCATION-400m from Alvor beach; 300m to Alvor village; 50m to nearest supermarket; 3km to Alto golf course. FACILITIES-Free-form swimming pool and sun terrace; independently-owned shops, bars and restaurants. Holiday Highlights are free kids, subject to availability. ACTIVITIES-Tennis court. ROOMS-1 bedroom apartments (2-4 persons) have a separate twin bedroom, living area with telephone, TV, kitchenette with fridge, full bathroom and a balcony or terrace. Some apartments have a microwave oven (subject to availability). Prices are based on 4 adults sharing on Self Catering. CHILDREN-Splash pool; cots free. Child prices: age limit 16. Option Offers:- Great group deals available, pre-bookable flowers available - £33 and pre-bookable champagne available - £30. Please note: this property is located on a busy side road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dunas do Alvor Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Do Alvor Apartments Hotel Alvor
Dunas Do Hotel Alvor
Dunas Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing