We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Alvor Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Alvor Park Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adega, Quinta Do Ribeiro, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Friendly staff, clean and bright with first class facilities. Close to Alvor centre (10 minute walk). Wifi in reception and library. Book exchange, bar, pool, jacuzzi, sauna, gym, restaurant. What more can you ask for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We chose this hotel as it had kitchen facilities and was in a quiet area of Alvor. We visited in December for a few days and the weather was lovely and warm.the outside pool was shut for refurbishment,but the inside pool was open,which we used on one occasion.Pool towels were given by reception.The lighting around the pool was dim,as we used the pool at night.We did not use any other facilities,other than sitting in the libray area in order to use the wifi.
The hotel was very quiet,but the rooms given to people were near each other,so there was somenoise from other rooms.The receptionist was very friendly and the few other staff weencoutered seemed so too.We met the resident cat also.
The only negative was limited cooking facilites and we had asked for room on top floor,but ended up on 2nd floor.Would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seasider67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

After reading all the good reviews we were really looking forward to stating at the Alvor Park, but having stayed at two Pestana's in Madeira we were really disappointed. Sorry to disagree with everyone !
Our rooms were large and fairly comfortable (lovely beds but the settee was very uncomfortable ). Everywhere was spotlessly clean, but the kitchen was very basic with utensils etc. Why can't Pestana get non - stick pans?
The shower room was the smallest I've ever seen.
We both scalded our hands on a defect kettle -though when we complained it was replaced immediately. The loungers on the patio were both broken and we couldn't sit up to read on them, just lay flat. The TV 's were old with poor sound quality and the remote controls were temperamental . Then the outdoor pool was closed and the garden roped off so we couldn't go outside. There was a lift to another hotel pool once a day, and return 8 hours later - not very useful.The indoor pool and Jacuzzi etc were fine. I know it was low season and the maintenance needs doing sometime, but we should have been told before we arrived.
I sound like an old moaner, but we are somewhat disabled and the hotel had no restaurant, just an empty snack bar - I never saw anyone use it.
It was at least half a mile to a restaurant and a mile to the beach or the centre of Alvor or the harbour, where the best restaurants were, and it was all downhill, so obviously an uphill drag back. Luckily we had a car, but there was nowhere at all within our capability of walking.
The welcome evening/party felt rushed and although there was plenty to drink, the canapés consisted of a few crisps and nuts.
Having said that, I can understand that fitter people during the season would enjoy a stay here.
Alvor is lovely , with beautiful beaches and quaint old streets with lovely restaurants, and our holiday was redeemed by fantastic weather - not a cloud in the blue, blue sky all week, though we were told by locals that this was unusual for November.

Room Tip: ground floor patios are roomy and on the garden side are quieter and get the sun most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jabManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week with my wife from 27 October and was very impressed. I have to admit that I did not use the pool or jacuzzi during my stay as we were blessed with great weather and we decided to make the 10 minute walk to the beach. That said the indoor and outdoor pools both looked fine and we did manage to visit the bar in the pool vicinity a couple of times and that was also very pleasant. The maid visited our room daily and the reception area were very helpful when we needed help on a couple of matters.

This hotel has a very relaxed appeal to it and the room we stayed in was a good size and had kitchen facilities if you felt a need for a break from Alvor's lovely restaurants. It is a 10 minute walk to the town and there is a hill involved but I don't think this should dissuade the majority of people.

I cannot recommend this area of Portugal enough and the Alvor Park hotel is an excellent place from which to enjoy it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alswanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Returned to the Alvor Park at the beginning of October following our stay in June. We have now stayed several times and enjoy the peace and quiet the hotel offers, whilst it being only a 10 mins stroll from both the centre of Alvor and its excellent beach. The rooms are spacious, well equipped and cleaned daily. We have already booked to return in April 14.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnynLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We have been enjoying Alvor Park every year since it opened. We never get bored of this lovely hotel within short walking distance of the quaint fishing village of Alvor. The rooms are spacious and well equipped. The hotel is also far enough from the beach and town to make our stay peaceful if we wish. Cannot fault the place or the staff, who always look pleased to see us every year. Highly recommend this beautiful place...

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a Lovely Hotel visited in October 4th-14th so it was quite quiet, no problem getting a sun bed, the pool was spotless and I did use the Jacuzzi and a quick swim in the indoor pool, and the weather was fantastic, room very spacious and equipped with everything you could possible need, very clean some nice touches bath robes in the bathroom,and towel's from the reception for the pool and beach so no need to take up space in your suit case with these, never saw anybody in the bar area but it was quite expensive, I never used as it was only a short walk into alvor and there are that many bars and restaurant's that cater for all budgets, Alvor is beautiful and the beach is gorgeous, had a lovely walk on the board walk which does end up at the beach.

Room Tip: ask for a higher up room for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fielding_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvor
0.3 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#4 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Pestana Alvor Praia
#6 of 26 in Alvor
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#13 of 26 in Alvor
3.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Alvor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Park Hotel

Address: Adega, Quinta Do Ribeiro, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#2 Family Hotel in Alvor
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Alvor Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Pestana Alvor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing