We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“will go back”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Ok-so luxury this place is not! But-it is every bit what we wanted for our short break. The other reviews are spot on. The location is excellent for the town and the beach. The rooms are spotless and large. We had our towels changed every day-even when we did not ask! All the receptionists were friendly and were happy to help us with additional duties far beyond what you would expect from an aparment building. The pool is nice-if a bit small-but hey we went there once-why would you when the beach is so beautiful and close!

Cant realy fault it-we will be going back!!!

Room Tip: we had mroning sun-if i went back i would ask for evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sestevenswine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    94
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
85
133
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Just come back from three days in Alvormar. We loved Alvor but we were disappointed with the Alvormar. The location was good two minutes from bars and restaurants and about 6 - 10 minutes from a beautiful beach. The apartment was basic and clean and had the basics. There is a small pool with sunbeds but the poolside bar was badly stocked and had not even got some basic drinks and lunch menu very limited mainly sandwiches. A lot of noise at night from other guests with banging on doors and shouting. Checkout at 10.00 a.m. is far too early, particularly when you have been kept awake for half the night. Most places we have stayed in the checkout time was 12.00 noon. As our flight was not until 8.00 p.m. we requested a late check-out and we were willing to pay, but we were refused. We were very disappointed as the hotel was not even close to being fully booked. They did however provide a room to wash and change in but the shower extension would not go into holder on the wall so it was quite awkward to wash your hair while holding the shower. I would certainly go back to Alvor but based on the above would not stay in the Alvormar and would be reluctant to recommend it. We booked private transfer from the Airport to Alvor return, with Yellowfish and while a little expensive for 2 people, we found the driver very efficient and friendly and it only took 50 minutes. The transfer would work out much cheaper if there were more people as I think the price is the same.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at the Alvormar Apartments last week and overall found this to be excellent accommodation. We had a two bedroom apartment which was huge and spotlessly clean. Two balconies with a sea view, kitchen with oven, microwave, fridge/freezer, kettle etc. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice pool/garden area with bar/café reasonably priced. Played the nine hole crazy golf on the roof of the hotel and there is a well stocked library for guest use. Great location right in the centre of the village. Will definitely be booking here again and recommend it highly to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RossReds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We chose the apartments for the size, proximity to village centre and value. We'd agree with the previous reviewer's comments, other than that our shower was fine! Yes, the apartments are dated, but large, well-equipped and spotlessly clean so, if you want more, you should expect to pay a lot more. My overall rating of 5 represents what we paid relative to the facilities and space. Below I've focussed on some additional points which might help other potential guests.
The pool was cold, not 'heated' by UK standards, but a pleasant area. The deep end is 2.8m. The outdoor areas are larger than they appear in photos, particularly the pleasant grassed area which gets the morning sun. The ground floor apartments at that side open out directly onto the grassed area. The opposite side gets the afternoon and evening sun, and a little daytime noise from a nearby primary school, but no problem.
Bedrooms are at the inner side, overlooking the very pleasant inner garden. As previously observed, it could be noisy if guests (and staff) chat in the corridor.
There is a pleasant lounge on the top floor with a surprisingly large selection of books and TV. The lower ground-floor children's play area is away from bedrooms and the snack bar, likewise, both by the pool, while the crazy golf (small charge - think it was 3 euros) is on the top floor.
If you want a straight-forward, reasonably priced holiday, look no further than these apartments.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bunny19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Alvormar Apartments
Below is a fairly comprehensive review of our stay at the Alvormar Apartments which I hope will be useful to others considering staying there.
Booking.
We normally book via Thomson but had become frustrated with their prices becoming increasingly more expensive so decided to look elsewhere and finally decided to book through Sunshineholidays. We booked 7 nights at the Alvormar Apartments from 22nd to 29th April and the total price including transfers for a 1 bedroom self-catering apartment was less than £500.
Flight & Transfers.
The flights were with Norwegian Airlines and although we departed 10 minutes late we arrived on time. One of our biggest concerns was the transfers to and from the airport which were booked with a2btrasnsfers (Green Bus) through Sunshine. Within 15 minutes of collecting our baggage and clearing customs we were on our way in a brand new air conditioned people carrier with just 3 other people. We were the 2nd drop off and the journey took 1 hour 10minutes. Return transfers and flight were ahead of time, excellent!
Check-in
Check-in was quick and efficient at the 24 hour Reception and Margarida and the rest of the reception staff were all very helpful. There is a small lift which was useful when we checked in and out with our suitcases but was not necessary during the rest of our stay as the building only has 3 floors which are accessible via a marble staircase at the front of the building or via open plan metal staircase through the “inner atrium”. TIP - collect a copy of "FREEMAPS - BEST OF ALVOR" available in the reception. Although its not to scale it proved very useful in finding some of the restaurants and shops until you find your bearings.
Apartments / Room.
We had requested a quiet room away from the lift and stairwells and were given room 207 which was at the end of the corridor. The interesting design of the building with the open plan inner atrium and tiled floors unfortunately meant that any noise was amplified and echoed around especially when other inconsiderate guests stand and talk loudly in the hallways! Our apartment was spacious and kept spotlessly clean by the maid but was quite dated. Free WIFI was available and could be used from our room and the speed and connection was very good. The air-conditioning unit was in the main living area and worked very well but I am not sure how cool it would keep the bedroom in high season as its at the other end of the apartment? The living area was comfortable and the kitchen very well equipped. The bedroom was a good size with 2 twin beds which were comfortable and a built in double wardrobe with small safe which was just about big enough for a 10.5 inch x 7.5 inch netbook, passports and money etc but not big enough for a laptop. The safe costs 15 Euro's to hire from reception for 7 days. The bathroom was a good size but very dated with old fixtures and fittings and cracked tiles but it was it has to be said very clean. The only thing that bothered us was the poor water pressure from the shower. The water was always hot if you let it run for a while but the pressure was poor and combined with the very soft water made washing the shampoo / body wash off hard work! The room was very quiet at night and we slept very well. The balcony was a good size with a useful pull out clothes line. The wall was quite low so you would have to watch young children. The pool area was clean and the pool plenty big enough to cool off in the hot months. There was a games room with a free pool table, an old but useable exercise bike and table football. TIP - The sun disappears from the balcony at around 1:30pm from the rooms on this garden side of the apartments so if you like to spend a lot of time on your balcony with the sun you would be better with a poolside room.
Location.
The location is excellent and although it is only 2 minutes from the bars and restaurants there was very little noise at night to disturb your sleep. There are a couple of useful small supermarkets just outside the apartments and a larger "Ali Super" 5 minutes walk down the road although prices are similar in all of them. For example 6 x 330ml bottles of Cristal beer is 2.99 Euro's at Ali Super and the same 2.99 at the small supermarket just down the road or 3.60 Euro's at the little shop almost outside the front of the apartments. Cigarettes ranged from about 3.90 to 4.50 Euro's and there are some great tasting wines available from as little as 2.00 Euro's a bottle!
Restaurants.
You are spoilt for choice with restaurants and would be unlucky to have a bad meal although we did do a fair bit of research first. Our favourites for traditional Portuguese cuisine were Panda Bar, Tasca Morais, A Gruta and Churrasqueira Mercado de Alvor. We also enjoyed meals at o Arco Da Velha and Navegador. Annies do a good full English breakfast but Barca D` Alvor next door was better in our opinion. Our overall favourite restaurant was Salsa Bistro. The only poor / average meal that we had was at the Italian Ciao Baby which surpised us considering their high rating (#2 at the time) on Trip Advisor. TIP - if ordering fish ask if the fish is sold by weight or if the price on the menu is for the complete dish otherwise you could end up with a large bill!
Things to do and places to visit.
Praia Da Rocha is about 8 Euro's in a taxi.
There is a huge shopping centre at Portimao, about 10 Euro's in a taxi.
The boardwalk in the harbour is great for burning off some extra calories.
The winery / vineyard "Quinta Da Morgado Da Torre". This is a local vineyard just on the outskirts of Alvor where "Alvor" wine is produced. It cost about 10 Euro's to get there by taxi and is worth a visit if you have an interest in wine. They also sell other local specialty items like organic black / purple figs and orange jam etc. Tours of the winery are available for closed groups of about 15 or more but need to be pre-arranged.
Conclusion
We never go back to the same place twice but this may change as there are so many restaurants that we would still like to visit. The locals are all very friendly, the weather was excellent and Alvor is still relatively unspoilt / over commercialised. We would definately recommend Alvor and the Alvormar Apartments.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Twotoneskaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from a great week in Alvor. We stayed at the Alvormar Apartments which we found excellent in every way. The apartment we had was clean and very well equipped. The staff were friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. We were allowed to keep our apartment until our departure time in late afternoon. The apartments are situated within easy reach of all the bars and restaurants and the beautiful beach is not far away. We are already planning to return next year.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank timh54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed at the Alvor Park in September last year and when we decided to head back to Alvor for a short break at Easter we returned to the Alvormar for the fourth time. It just confirmed that the Alvormar will be our winner every time.

The apartments are as large as those at Alvor Park and although they are older, we think they are better equipped. The pool area is not as glamourous as the Alvor Park but it is well kept and you can afford to eat and drink at the pool bar! The staff at the Alvormar are just as professional but also more friendly.

The main reason that the Alvormar is the winner for us is the location. Everything is on the doorstep which made it easy to nip out for a coffee, or a stroll to the harbour, or go for a walk round the shops. Much better than the isolation we felt at the Alvor Park.

We've stayed at three different apartment complexes in Alvor but will not be risking anywhere else in future, Alvormar all the way.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KandESheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
463 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.4 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.7 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos

Property: AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos
Address: Rua Dom Sancho I No 9 11, Alvor, Portimao 8500-013, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Alvor
#1 Family Hotel in Alvor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the village of Alvor, just 750 meters from one of the Algarve´s most beautiful beaches, and 6kms from Portimão.All 50 apartments (T0, T1 and T2) have a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and most of them have seaview. Internal Facilities: - 24 hours reception- Heated swimmingpool with salt water (no chemicals) - Infant’s pool- Snack-bar near the pool - Lounge / TV Room- Cleaning 6 days a week (except on Sunday)- Internet - Free Wi-Fi (Wirless Internet)- Children's play-ground - Snooker and games room - Mini-Golf- Library - Guest Laundry- Sun terraces- GardensServices available at the reception- Airport transfers- Car rental- Excursions- Golf reservations- Other reservations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvormar - Apartamentos Turisticos Hotel Alvor
Alvormar Apartamentos Turisticos Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing