We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent as always!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Have just returned from an eight day break in Alvor, staying at these apartments. Very clean, comfortable and well equipped; we have had an excellent time. Highly recommended in every way as situated in a central position.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leftoverlear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    94
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
85
133
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

this was our 5th visit and as always very pleased. they are exacly what they say they are........simple, but clean, tidy, good service, helpful and central. usually go in march or april.........once went in august and was then a little too crowded around pool, but that was when we took teenage kids............now we go on our own, love it. can walk to all the fab restaurants and beach. this year also go the bus to lisbon, direct coach from the fountain in centre of alvor, took 4 hrs, well worth the trip!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is my third visit to this appartment. High standards maintained.We had a two bedroom for four excellent size and well equipped.Would highly recommend .The two bed rooms have two balconies,a large separate kitchen and large living space with table and plenty of seating.

Room Tip: Any room is good with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandEamonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Great location, lovely staff, comfortable, clean, well maintained apartments for a great price. We have stayed in various two bedroom apartments with our teenage children and a one bedroom apartment as a couple in these well equipped 3 star apartments and would not hesitate to stay again. One tip if wifi speed is important to you ask for an apartment close to the reception area.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LoobyLou050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This charming place has so much going for it that I almost don’t know where to begin. Located in the heart of Alvor, the Alvormar is a stone’s throw away from so vast a number of cafes and restaurants that it would take months to try them all. Feel like a local and enjoy Fado singing at the community hall just up the street. The beautiful beach and new boardwalk are easily accessible. My wife is a runner and used the boardwalk daily. The staff is super friendly. Margarida, Virgilio and staff at the front desk make you feel so welcome and are ready to see to all of your concerns. Josillia always runs a clean ship with maid service six days a week. Our freshly made up beds and clean towels are so nice to come back to after a day of touring the Algarve. Each apartment has its own fully stocked kitchenette. Apartment layouts range from one and two bedroom to nice size studios having their own patio and stunning views to the south and east. The Alvormar has a lovely pool area, library, massage room and free in-room internet. There is parking along the front (north) and west side of the building. By the way, the parking is free and seems that way everywhere in the Algarve. The building itself is a four level structure built on a hill and designed such that the apartments surround a very cool treed open-air green space. I’m not sure if all of the apartments are wheelchair accessible. The Alvormar has a very small elevator which may or may not handle a chair. Rooms on the check-in level are definitely chair accessible. Prices are very reasonable. Luxury is not to be expected but I would give 5 stars for overall comfort and convenience. Any minor concerns would be the twin beds (but they can be pushed together at night) and a working but weak internet signal. I would say that you can never “stay” at the Alvormar… you “live” at the Alvormar.

Room Tip: The upper levels enjoy great views facing east and south. Patio views of the water looking south on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mockingbird123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have been here several times and plan to come back next year. The location is perfect. The beach and the Alvor boardwalk is a 10 minute walk. The village with everything you could want is a 5 minute walk. The bus system is great if you want to visit other towns.

The best part is the amazing staff. Very warm and treat you like family. The suites are clean and well kept.

If you like a relaxing and friendly atmosphere you couldn't ask for a better place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed here twice before. It is the only hotel in the town. I would highly recommend it as the price is usually very reasonable. It is not 5 star but for the price and location it is great value. The pool is lovely but it is a short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
463 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.4 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.7 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos

Property: AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos
Address: Rua Dom Sancho I No 9 11, Alvor, Portimao 8500-013, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alvor
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Alvor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the village of Alvor, just 750 meters from one of the Algarve´s most beautiful beaches, and 6kms from Portimão.All 50 apartments (T0, T1 and T2) have a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and most of them have seaview. Internal Facilities: - 24 hours reception- Heated swimmingpool with salt water (no chemicals) - Infant’s pool- Snack-bar near the pool - Lounge / TV Room- Cleaning 6 days a week (except on Sunday)- Internet - Free Wi-Fi (Wirless Internet)- Children's play-ground - Snooker and games room - Mini-Golf- Library - Guest Laundry- Sun terraces- GardensServices available at the reception- Airport transfers- Car rental- Excursions- Golf reservations- Other reservations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvormar - Apartamentos Turisticos Hotel Alvor
Alvormar Apartamentos Turisticos Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing