We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maralvor
Nearby Hotels
$160
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$292
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$308
$259
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $333/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Alto Fairways(Alvor)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$211
$201
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$235
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $246/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$234
$214
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$135
$129
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveler rating
10
26
18
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
26
18
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machinethese apartmentsreplace towelslovely apartmentcigarette buttsdunas complexminute walka lovely holidayhome from homehot waterplenty of sunbedsalvor townsupermarketeurobalconytaxipool
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 62 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Upon arrival at these apartments at 11 pm on a Sunday night there was nobody in sight. We had no one to check us in. We then had to travel 20 minutes WITH OUR LUGGAGE into the town centre. From there we got a taxi to the main hotel where we had to collect the room key & check in. (20 minutes away from where we were staying!) We were very upset about this. Luckily we had been to Alvor before and knew our way around so we could get about quite easily.
Around the pool was VERY NOISY as there was a lot of children running and jumping into the pool. We came to relax and could not do this. There is also a lot of people using the pool and the bar who were not even staying at the apartments which wasn't good at all. We went to the beach most days to avoid such noisy and uncomfortable situations. It would be great for family's with children. Although the pool is not very big.
The apartments are quite spacious and clean. We have been for the past 3 years but we will not be returning as they seem to have gone downhill quite a bit !

Room Tip: You need a good view otherwise you face the car park which you dont want. Its dull a miserable.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaC12345644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcolda_LDA, Director of Sales at Maralvor, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Mm,

thank you for your comments. We appologise for your arrival experiense. This is a problem we have been, and are trying to prevent from happening. Our reception services at Maralvor are not 24h, and we contract and inform agencies of such. Arrivals from November to April, or rest of year after 7pm are to collect keys from 24h sister reception DUNAS DO ALVOR, located about 750m from Maralvor. We do inform all this to the agents we work with, but unfortunatelly this is not always passed on down the line to the guests or the companies that are providing the transfers. As we do not receive more that the guests names and arrival dates, it is not possible for us to contact them directly on this or any other matter, or even attempt to arrange staff to be on location at all arrival times, as we do not know what time a guest is arriving.
As your noise comments, again I would like to appologise, but this is at times a situation with units that have alot of famillies staying. On you comments of persons using the swimming pool, please take in consideration that not all the apartments in the unit are turistically run. Some are privat and residential, and we do understand that it may appear that people are comming in and out at time, but be assured that this is well controlled.
Again, thank you for all your feedback, and we hope we can have you as our guests again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We knew the location of the apartments from last year's visit. A 10 minute walk into the village could be a bit torturous in the heat. The pool is quite small and very few sunbeds considering the size of the complex. The bar WAS open and had a small selection of snacks which were good. The apartments are large and spacious, we were in 311 which is at the back of the building. Well equipped kitchen-I even found an iron and board but didn't use them! My only gripe was a new toilet seat is desperately needed-it's wooden and warped-surely not that expensive? There was quite a lot of noise from cars parking below us during the evening but slept well, comfy beds even without air con. We had the shutters down and the windows open. Great apartment.

Room Tip: People have mentioned that rooms over the pool are noisy but so are ones at the back due to the constant car noise. Didn't mind the view across to the other apartments.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NezzaD12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in apartment 203 which we rented privately from Owners Direct.

The apartments are HUGE! More than enough spare for a family of 4. Our apartment was extremely well equipped with everything you could possibly think of and the kids loved the fact we had flat screen TV and DVD library! We had over 100 books in the apartment to read, along with a cupboard full of games!

The apartment was cleaned on arrival and linen changed once throughout the stay. We had to wash our own towels but this was part of the agreement on the rental so we knew we wouldn't have daily cleaners in.

We stayed for 2 weeks (30th July - 13th August) - the start of August is holiday time in Portugal and everyone decends from the north making everywhere quite busy. Our pool seemed to be used by people other than those staying at the apartments. This mean there were the usual sunbed savers - which got worse towards the end of our stay. To be fair, Edwardo (the guy behind the pool bar who seemed to run things) did come round a move towels off some days.

There is a reception area, but we never saw it open (although as we rented privately we didn't need to use it).

We took two children aged 9 and 12 and there were enough children around for making friends and playing.

All in all a great value holiday, excellently located (10 minutes one direction to beach, 10 minutes other direction to town) and brilliantly equipped.

Room Tip: We had pool view - lovely big balcony!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have just got back from a week at the Maralvor. These apartments could do with a little updating, however the cleanliness and space in the apartments were excellent. There were three double wardrobes with more coathangers than you could possibly need (not always the case in our experience of apartments abroad) The location was a little too far from the village for our liking especially at night when we had to get a taxi as it was too far to want to walk back.

Apart from the location the only real downside was that there are no shops close by (nearest large supermarket 15 mins walk, or 10 mins to a smaller one on another apartment complex!

There is a bar on site near the pool but unfortunately this was not open during our stay (they were awaiting a cash register to be delivered before they could open!)

We travelled as a couple so it was not that bad but I would not recommend these apartments to families with young children wanting icecreams and drinks!

Also the reception desk was very rarely open, we had an early transfer and had to just leave the keys in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Gints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

these apartments can be privately owned so the standard you get will vary we had a big apartment even had a washing machine and an ironing board which you don't intend to use much on holiday but can be useful

Nice pool good size

It is a bit of a walk to the village nice though I would always get a taxi back in the evening though

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom_The_Tailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews