We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“very pleasant break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clube Alvorferias

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clube Alvorferias
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very pleasant break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The rooms are big and reasonably well equipped, we had two balconies so some where to sit in the warm sun morning and afternoon, could see sea in long distance from rear. A bit far from beach (to walk) and on-site supermarket a bit expensive, but only five minute drive to proper shops, Continente/Lidl/Aldi and another five minutes to the big shopping centre in Portimao. Alvor Beach quite intresting with coves/caves at low tide. A very pleasant break. Pool was a bit cold and only hardy children (including my own) were in it.

Room Tip: Away from the pool/bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    254
    191
    96
    63
See reviews for
422
176
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was a three star complex with 4* plus food. Most guests were self catering and the restaurant took up half the complex snack bar. There was a large variety of fish, meat and pasta/rice dishes as well as pizza's. What was surprising was that the food was cooked to order. I found food heaven here as I sampled a variety of dishes. My favourite had to be the monk fish kebab which I had on three occasions but also found Rissotto, pasta, Pizza and meat dishes to be excellent. The accommodation was a large clean apartment with kitchen. I felt in this digital age there could have been more English TV channels than the two provided but my biggest gripe was the restaurant had hot milk and coffee machines but only a large flask of hot water for tea. The flask was pump action and very difficult to operate so we demanded a pot of boiling water. The staff were excellent especially the two waiters. I will not hesitate to return in the hope the restaurant has reached the 21st century.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kenda107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Booked 1 week before departure. Had been to Alvor before in an up market villa, so was not expecting much, but we were pleasantly surprised. Apartment very spacious and spotlessly clean. Spent most of our time out of complex, but found Spar reasonably priced and had everything we needed, staff in there were very pleasant as too were bar staff. As a base it was fine for us, but if you have difficulty walking then it could be a problem. Would stay there again if we got another good deal

Room Tip: Away from bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ktlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

we stayed at club alvorferias september 2013 as everyone says the rooms are plenty big enough they're more like an apartment they are a bit dated but well equipped with a full cooker but i couldn't work out if there was a grill .or not .you get a microwave and plenty of cooking utensils .the bedrooms are big and you get plenty of wardrobe space unfortunately our room 2621 looked over the road which could be a bit noisy at night ,and the two balconies are in the shade most of the time .so would recommend a pool view room. also we had a look at the other side of the complex over the bridge away from reception .this side looked nicer to us . there are two identical pools one either side of the road and both are very clean and nice .there is a spar shop on site but would recommend the walk down the road to the local supermarket lots more choice and could be upto a third cheaper and if you need a drink and a lovely cake with the money you've just saved behind the supermarket is a deli come bar 90 cents for a pint of estrella. on about walking this shop is ten mins steady pace and your on the edge of alvor , and if you walk under the complex bridge over the road its about the same to the beach lovely sandy beach with cafes and we did see a few jet skis . i would recommend this hotel it is great value and a good location . and we found all the staff friendly and helpful . alvor itself is a lovely place plenty of bars and restaurants and gift shops also the waterpark splash and slide is not far away .

Room Tip: dont have a room over looking the road could be noisy ask for a pool view these seem to face the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank padgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by how good it was, having read a number of unfavourable reviews. Apartment spacious, comfortable and well equipped - a little dated, but for the price! (cost nearly as much to put our cat in a cattery for a week). Kitchen well kitted out if you do wish to cook; plenty pots, pans, crockery, tea towels, etc. Bathroom with bath and bidet. Comfortable bedrooms with blackout curtains. Only downside was that our balcony didn't get much sun, in spite of asking for a room with a sunny balcony. Staff very helpful and attended to our requests promptly.

Room Tip: Stayed on the reception side of bridge, would have chosen a room across the Alvorferias Rd, facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just returned from Alvorferias due to being out of season over the bridge pool and snack bar were closed but there were plenty of lounges on reception side.
Rooms very spacious ours had 2 Bedrooms,2 bathrooms,separate kitchen with oven and microwave,lounge/dinner and 1 small balcony at the back plus larger one at the front.
We were Half board breakfast okay meals at night large meals.
Staff at this hotel very friendly Claude the day time entertainer water polo football,french boules,yoga.
Bar staff great laugh and all the Restaurant staff lovely.
Alvor its self beautiful it is bit quite out of season.Beach to die for near the rocks and caves.

Alvor boat trip on the solar panel boat,two an a half hour trip.Picked us up from hotel and took us to portimaio/ pria da rochca where we went out to sea in the grottos and caves, we were served melon,grapes and drinks on the way stopped out at sea for a swim in the ocean where my daughter snorkeled and then drinks and snacks on the way back to the marina where we were dropped back at the hotel the captain and the young chap where lovely an telling us about the coast line.we had lovely weather.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bcmgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stay in Alvor frequently and I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. I didn't like the first room I was offered at all and asked for the quieter side over the bridge. I went with my teenage son and was surprised at the spacious rooms. I had a roomy twin bedroom and my son had the double sofa bed in the large lounge. We had a separate kitchen and a dining table and the ground floor apartment was easily visible from the quiet pool, so I could sunbathe and read whilst waiting for signs of life from the apartment. I got a good deal on the holiday and I thought it was good value. Alvor town was easily walkable in 10 to 15 minutes, so I saved a lot on taxis.

The down side - constant sounds of cases on wheels throughout the night. The bar looked grim and the snack bar was very basic. As a base, it was fine. Very clean and had English channels on the TV. I would stay again. Cheaper to book with the hotel direct.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side over the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alisonstp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.5 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.2 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Pestana Alvor Praia
#4 of 26 in Alvor
4.0 of 5 stars 978 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dunas do Alvor Apartments
0.5 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clube Alvorferias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Alvorferias

Property: Clube Alvorferias
Address: Estrada do Alvor | Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500-322, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clube Alvorferias 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Clube Alvorferias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Alvorferias Hotel Alvor
Alvorferias Apartments
Clube Alvorferias Alvor
Alvorferias Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing