We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clube Alvorferias

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clube Alvorferias
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Llandudno
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by how good it was, having read a number of unfavourable reviews. Apartment spacious, comfortable and well equipped - a little dated, but for the price! (cost nearly as much to put our cat in a cattery for a week). Kitchen well kitted out if you do wish to cook; plenty pots, pans, crockery, tea towels, etc. Bathroom with bath and bidet. Comfortable bedrooms with blackout curtains. Only downside was that our balcony didn't get much sun, in spite of asking for a room with a sunny balcony. Staff very helpful and attended to our requests promptly.

Room Tip: Stayed on the reception side of bridge, would have chosen a room across the Alvorferias Rd, facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    267
    201
    103
    67
See reviews for
441
192
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just returned from Alvorferias due to being out of season over the bridge pool and snack bar were closed but there were plenty of lounges on reception side.
Rooms very spacious ours had 2 Bedrooms,2 bathrooms,separate kitchen with oven and microwave,lounge/dinner and 1 small balcony at the back plus larger one at the front.
We were Half board breakfast okay meals at night large meals.
Staff at this hotel very friendly Claude the day time entertainer water polo football,french boules,yoga.
Bar staff great laugh and all the Restaurant staff lovely.
Alvor its self beautiful it is bit quite out of season.Beach to die for near the rocks and caves.

Alvor boat trip on the solar panel boat,two an a half hour trip.Picked us up from hotel and took us to portimaio/ pria da rochca where we went out to sea in the grottos and caves, we were served melon,grapes and drinks on the way stopped out at sea for a swim in the ocean where my daughter snorkeled and then drinks and snacks on the way back to the marina where we were dropped back at the hotel the captain and the young chap where lovely an telling us about the coast line.we had lovely weather.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bcmgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stay in Alvor frequently and I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. I didn't like the first room I was offered at all and asked for the quieter side over the bridge. I went with my teenage son and was surprised at the spacious rooms. I had a roomy twin bedroom and my son had the double sofa bed in the large lounge. We had a separate kitchen and a dining table and the ground floor apartment was easily visible from the quiet pool, so I could sunbathe and read whilst waiting for signs of life from the apartment. I got a good deal on the holiday and I thought it was good value. Alvor town was easily walkable in 10 to 15 minutes, so I saved a lot on taxis.

The down side - constant sounds of cases on wheels throughout the night. The bar looked grim and the snack bar was very basic. As a base, it was fine. Very clean and had English channels on the TV. I would stay again. Cheaper to book with the hotel direct.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side over the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alisonstp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Beautiful resort and apartments are very large and well equipped with a full size cooker and microwave, lots of pots and pans if you feel like cooking, tv and phone, good size bathroom with bath and shower, hot water plentiful, local spar shop on site also restaurant and snack bar, evening bar open until 3am with entertainment most nights, large pool area and sunbeds aplenty,we would return to Alvor, the town with all the bars and restaurants is just a short walk down the hill, elderly and infirm would benefit from returning in a taxi, the beach is about a fifteen min walk but worth a visit as its very clean, you can walk to the marina from the beach and then end up in the town, some nice shops in the town as well, you will be spoilt for choice.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the pool area as they are quieter and you wont hear people returning from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elainewatt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were two adults staying 22nd September 2013 for 2 weeks on self catering. Stayed in room 2623 on reception side of main road overlooking road where supermarket is located.

Alvor is superb for restaurants and bars - excellent service in every one we visited and cannot fault the food. Beach is lovely with good facilities although a little bit of a trek to get there if you don't like walking.

Clube Alvorferias is a 15 min walk from town, uphill on way back which may not suit everyone. Taxis always available.

From our experience Clube Alvorferias attracts a range of people who are there for a variety of reasons: those who use it as a base and spend time away on beaches, in town or on trips. Others appear to spend most (if not all) their time on the complex. We probably fitted in the first category.

The accommodation was spacious and clean, but dated. Our two small balconies didn't get the sun and had no privacy. The design of the blocks results in noise being amplified - a particular problem late at night.

In our opinion, is not ideal for those with young children or fitness issues. There are no lifts but plenty of stairs and steps to negotiate as well as hills in the complex. We were surprised by the number of school-age children there out of the school holiday period.

The pool on the 'quiet' side of the road closed on our second week which was disappointing as the complex is advertised with two separate pools. The pool on the reception side wasn't too crowded however, poolside could have done with a clean - discarded cigs and empty beer glasses left lying from day before and feet getting dirty when walking to/from pool.

We had some snacks from restaurant but didn't eat proper meals there. We were told by some who were there on half board basis that the service wasn't great for evening meals.

The biggest issue for us was the bar. It is ideal for those who stay on site however, it is open far too late for what is meant to be a family complex. We were situated about 50 yards from it with a row of apartments separating us but could still hear the noise. We went out at night down town and on returning passed the bar. Some nights it can only be described as a drunken rabble. I pity anyone who had accommodation right next to it. It would be more appropriate for the bar to close about midnight. I get the feeling that the majority of people never used the bar.

The other major issue in our first week was a large family group who seemed to think that the complex was theirs late at night. They all appear to have drunk too much and would make noise late into the night having loud drunken 'discussions' (one night going on until about 6am when there was a lot of screaming and shouting.). We reported this to reception who appeared disinterested.

The above two points alone are the reason why we would never return there or recommend to others. The management can prevent the above negative aspects with minimal effort however, going by previous reviews, they haven't listened to their customers. Not the best way to run a business in a country which has economic problems.

Other reviewers have said "You get what you pay for" I would like to emphasise that we have stayed in many 3 star self catering properties, for similar cost, in the past and they have been far superior to Clube Alvorferias. It could be so much better, with very little effort - I am sure they could do better. We will return to Alvor, but not to Clube Alvorferias.

Room Tip: Over bridge appears much better overall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwmuss26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alvor hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Yes the rooms are a bit tired and the kitchen could be better equipped. However, as a whole, the apartments tick all the boxes. Great location near beach and town; two great pools (especially one across road which is much quieter with nice garden around it); friendly staff (especially bar staff) and any requests were dealt with quicker. Apartments were cleaned frequently and were clean. Our little girl loved kids club and really made her holiday; so big thanks to Jenny at the kids club. Plenty to get involved in if you want to. Our little ones enjoyed the mini disco and then we headed off to dinner in Alvor where you are spoilt for choice. Found Alvor really good value; especially if you avoided the main streets. A real surprise was La Bella Luna at the bottom of the road. Doesn't look much but food was really lovely and children loved the play area.

Room Tip: Ask to be over the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is an average place and fairly low cost so you get what you pay for. The pool area was great including the bar snacks and ice cream etc you could get there. Good low cost salad for lunch and lots of sunbeds etc. Apartments were a bit dingy - mattresses were so hard we had to complain but to the hotels credit they sorted it out straight away and gave us new ones. We went half board which was a big mistake - the dinner food was pretty horrible and they wouldn't let us swap for lunch which is a shame as we been able to do that in previous hotels and the lunch snacks were good. We only ate in the hotel twice and preferred to go into Alvor where there are great places to eat. It's a good base, rooms below average and balconies were not great, pool area was good though.

Room Tip: You would want to ask for a sunny balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.5 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.5 mi away
Dunas do Alvor Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clube Alvorferias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Alvorferias

Property: Clube Alvorferias
Address: Estrada de Alvor | Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alvor
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clube Alvorferias 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clube Alvorferias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Alvorferias Hotel Alvor
Alvorferias Apartments
Clube Alvorferias Alvor
Alvorferias Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing