We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clube Alvorferias - Ideal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clube Alvorferias

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clube Alvorferias
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clube Alvorferias - Ideal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

A friend and myself spent 10 nights at this hotel SC based on some reasonable reviews on Tripadvisor and the location in relation to the beach/town of Alvor. We were very impressed!

The hotel was exceptionally clean in all areas and the apartments were of a very generous size - bedrooms had a balcony and also a spacious built-in wardrobe, the kitchen was huge and living/dining area was more than enough. We also had two balconies however they werent particularly large and weren't used. The rooms are basic but definitely served a purpose for what we needed in our holiday - we only really used our apartment to sleep and get ready for the day/night.

There are two pool areas - the one on the reception side of the hotel is much busier and louder - it also has the advantage of a restaurant/snackbar. The opposite side however is much more relaxed but also with a small bar where drinks can be purchased. We preferred the quieter side, where there were more sun loungers available and less crowded.

Finally, the location of the hotel is really good. It took us 5-10 minutes max to get into Alvor which was ideal - however on the way back it is slghtly up hill. To get to the beach, depending which route you take, it is about 10-15 minutes away.

Alvor itself is an amazing place and i would reccommend it to anybody. Perfect place to chill out or for a lively night - you are spoilt for choice when it comes to restaurants and bars.

I would definitely return and i would certainly consider using Clube Alvorferias again.

Room Tip: reception side of hotel is busier/louder - ask for room across the bridge if you consider this an is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJTwist07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    244
    178
    91
    59
See reviews for
395
173
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portrush
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday don't go to the Clube Alvorferias!
My husband and I spent a week there recently and we are only now recovering from the experience. Having read lots of reviews about the complex ,we requested an apartment in the quieter block across the bridge from reception. On arrival we discovered we had been allocated an apt right above reception...beside the road...overlooking the pool and 100yds from the bar!! The complete opposite of what we had asked for! When we asked to be moved ,we were told it was impossible as the complex was fully booked but we shouldn't worry about noise as it was the off season and there would be very little noise. We decided to give it a try..the apartment was indeed very spacious and quite well equipped. The first evening was quiet but unfortunately that was the only time it was. The rest of the week was completely ruined by loud music from the bar which went on until 3.00 a.m. and children running around shouting and screaming.
We complained to reception every day and asked to be moved but they made no effort to accommodate us elsewhere in the complex.
So if you want a holiday with lots of disturbance during the early hours ...then this is the place to go!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alvor hotels

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The appts are basic but clean we stayed with our 5 kids for 2weeks .we were self catering and must say better of because all the restaurants in alvor are beautiful Annie's bar , Phoenix both serve English food amazing Tasty cuisine Indian is also very good lovely place alvor from the SCOTTISH FAMILY GLASGOW .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosco36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Apartments clean and spacious, limited hair dryer available, so bring your own, shower hot. good size swimming pool, plenty of sun beds one euro for soft sunbed cover. Good value for money, about a ten minute walk to Alvor really nice and quante, lots of nice bars and places to eat. I would go back to the resort and say at the same apartments.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neggo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks at the end of August.
As I had read loads of reviews of this place before arriving I e-mailed the hotel before setting off and asked if we could have a room across the bridge from reception as this was the quieter side.
We got what we asked for and had a lovely big apartment with both pool and sea views. The apartments are well equipped and are really spacious, probably the biggest place we have ever had.
There is plenty on site such as 2 pools, a supermarket, a couple of bars and a restaurant.
The location was great too, a 10 min stroll into town, just long enough to work up a thirst for that 1st cold beer.
We really enjoyed our first trip to Alvor and would definately stay at these apartments again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the other side from reception are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tired-out-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. Booked relatively late so had to have a studio apartment which was amazing.... it was bigger than some apartments we have had in the past. Adequately kitted out and the bed was great real firm...... The hotel is situated in an out of town location easy to walk into Alvor takes about 10 mins but all up hill back not much fun in the heat. A taxi only 4 euro so well worth it back..... Alvor is a lovely little fishing village and harbour.... lovely restaurants and bars....... I was disappointed because there is hardly any shopping there only your usual bucket and spade shops ... still i didnt spend much money either. We are used to going on couples only holidays so it was a bit of a shock to be at a family friendly hotel.... Kids running around everywhere screaming and crying.... Even though we have brought up our own its nice to have peace and quiet and a relaxing time you wont get this here...... Will go back to Portugal again but not Alvor. Just thought i would mention the hotel backs on to some allotments so there is a cockrel that crows all time, plus geese and a donkey that brays not very good for the people who we met who were staying around the pool area.... we were not affected as our studio was away from that area

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room away from the reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just returned fom 2 weeks, apprehensive after reading some reviews, couldn't fault it. We were a family with a young son and 2 elderly parents, asked for lower level room which they got. Cleaners were in rooms every day with clean towels etc. Pool area very clean, food very nice, staff friendly. Beds and pillows in our room were fine, slept great, we were reception side.
We walked into town every night which took approx 10/15 mins and got taxi home which cost €3.90, ate and drank in lovely bars/restaurants - Crows Nest, Freddie's, Michaels Bar.
Yes rooms dated but clean, who cares we were only in for about 2 hours each day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.5 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.5 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Pestana Alvor Praia
#4 of 26 in Alvor
4.0 of 5 stars 943 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dunas do Alvor Apartments
0.2 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clube Alvorferias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Alvorferias

Property: Clube Alvorferias
Address: Estrada do Alvor | Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500-322, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clube Alvorferias 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Clube Alvorferias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Alvorferias Hotel Alvor
Alvorferias Apartments
Clube Alvorferias Alvor
Alvorferias Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing