We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clube Alvorferias

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clube Alvorferias
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a recent short break to Portugal and I have to say it was really good. The room was spacious, clean and well equipped. The pool was clean and there were plenty of sun loungers in good condition. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the hotel is located in an ideal position for the town and the beach.
We were there out of season so the hotel wasn't fully open but that wasn't a problem at all. There was a Spar shop on the site that sold cold drinks etc. so we just stocked up the fridge in the room and if we needed a drink we just brought one down to the pool.
On an evening we walked into Alvor which took around 15 minutes and then got a taxi back which cost around 4 euros.
All in all I cannot fault the hotel at all - hence the top marks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has the balcony facing the sun in the afternoon if you like sitting out with a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MCH479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    254
    191
    96
    63
See reviews for
421
176
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stourport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Myself and my mother travelled to the Algarve on a late deal, we booked a 2 bedroom apartment for just the two of us, we had a fantastic package deal for a week self catering.

Once we had booked, we read the reviews listed on TripAdvisor and some of the comments worried us.

I have to say the whole holiday was absolutely fantastic, the only downside was the travelling to the apartment on a Thomas Cook coach, which for an hour and a half drive to the apartment was appalling!! On the return we hired a taxi, admittedly at 70 euro's wasn't the cheapest but reduced the travelling to about 40 minutes and the comfort alone was well worth the price!!

On arrival we were informed that as it was low season, many of the hotel amenities such as the pool bar and restaurant weren't open. The reception staff were lovely, spoke good English and gave good advice on restaurants and were happy to order us taxi's - the cost being approx 5 euro each way to the town centre or beach.

Both the beach and town are walking distance if you choose, being approx 600-800 meters away. (I have been told this is perhaps 15-20 minutes walking...I cant verify as I never tried)

The 2 bedroom apartment itself is spacious and the maids did a wonderful job, coming in once every other day to refresh the towels (if you need more towels, a polite word to reception gets it sorted). The shower was temperamental varying from scolding to freezing but that could have been down to user error as my mother didn't seem to have any issues!

The hotel itself has a spar on site for the basics, choice is limited and certainly no supermarket but it will keep you from starving. As the on-site restaurant was closed, we ate out every night, and there are some fantastic eateries.The cost of eating out varies greatly, if you love your fish do be wary as some restaurants charge by weight so just be cautious before ordering!!

With regards to Thomas Cook, if you are travelling with this tour operator, check the prices of trips through the hotel direct or in Alvor town centre you are also able to book the same trips at a better price!

If you are looking for a modern, high tech, well furnished apartment then this will not be the best fit for you however if you are looking for basic, clean comfort and low cost for a good base to explore, I would recommend highly....

Room Tip: If you have any issues, talk nicely to reception, there will always be limitations ... but its amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment with a 1yr old and whilst out of season and closed it was not too far to walk into Alvor. A quaint fishing village. Friendly people. Reception was very helpful.
We went with Jet 2 and transfers worked very well with car seat being provided in the minibus.
Check out Black Stove and Annies Bar.
Melvin & Julie provided a lovely welcome and her cakes are amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Hansom85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in September 2012. The breakfast was an inconsistent standard and they blatantly just left eggs sitting in grease from start to finish.

The staff were incredibly rude when I asked for a better condition of food I was ridiculed by floor staff and had to get the manager involved.

The apartment was ways dirty so I ended up having to clean it myself. How this was marketed as a three star hotel is beyond me.

It's the worst holiday I've ever had. Would never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anastazia_qb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alvor hotels

Galway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Substandard accommodation and facilities, apartments big but very tired looking and in need of upgrading, cleaning neglected throughout the facility, pool too small for number of guests, no wifi and a good walk into town, would give the resort five stars, just stay somewhere else

Room Tip: Stay in the newer apartments and avoid those near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Demandred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgelly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

we have stayed here twice over the years the accommodation is OK you have all you want it was clean and everything worked OK it is a fair walk from the village if you are fit a nice walk during the day would get a taxi back at night though

Alvor is a lovely village we 1st went 30 years ago and everything closed at 10pm all changed now I miss the old Alvor but still enjoy the more touristy modern one

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Tom_The_Tailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I went here last summer with another adult and 5 children. we had 2 separate apartments. For the whole week the air conditioning in mine would not work, numerous calls and visits were made to reception. by the end of the week if had still not been fixed(it was a v v hot week). The other apartment had a strong smell of sewage which gradually got worse as the week went on. In saying that the kids had an amazing time, loved the pool and the town was only a short walk away.Unfortunately on the last night there was a bbq in the complex and myself and the other adult got severe food poisoning which lasted for far too long!.not a good memory from the holiday!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Rosanna1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.5 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Pestana Alvor Praia
#4 of 26 in Alvor
4.0 of 5 stars 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
0.5 mi away
Dunas do Alvor Apartments
0.5 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clube Alvorferias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Alvorferias

Property: Clube Alvorferias
Address: Estrada do Alvor | Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500-322, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clube Alvorferias 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Clube Alvorferias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Alvorferias Hotel Alvor
Alvorferias Apartments
Clube Alvorferias Alvor
Alvorferias Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing